9 Best Books Like The Couple Next Door Update 05/2022

I’m a sucker for psychological thrillers that are full of twists and turns. I’m a big fan of stories that begin with ordinary people and gradually reveal their secrets. It’s hard to imagine anything more exhilarating than learning that nothing is quite as it seems? Domestic thrillers like The Couple Next Door are the best examples of this genre.

Domestic thrillers, as the name suggests, often revolve around family, home, and interpersonal relationships. These people play on our anxieties about what happens in the shadows. They’re made all the more terrifying because they’re perhaps even a little relatable(though hopefully not too relatable).

Anne Marie and Marco Conti and their newborn daughter Cora are the subject of the book The Couple Next Door, which we recommend you check out. An incident occurs while the Contis are at their neighbor’s party, which is the focus of the story. Trying to find yet another book about the private lives of families? Books like The Couple Next Door are listed below.

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

If you haven’t heard of The Wife Between Us, where have you been? If you’ve ever wondered why some books are so eager to promote their big plot twist, this one is for you. In spite of this, it’s a heartfelt domestic thriller. The more you don’t know, the better off you’ll be. Initially, it appears to be about a woman who is enamored with her ex-new husband’s fiancée. But that’s not all there is to it.

Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

This was one of the year’s most talked-about thrillers, alongside The Couple Next Door. The story revolves around Jack and Grace, a seemingly perfect couple who are wealthy, fashionable, and madly in love, but their union is actually riddled with infidelity.A startling debut that is both unsettling and entrancing. “Be prepared to brace yourself,” the warning reads. —Bustle “Behind Closed Doors’ sense of believability and terror does not waver.” The AP, which was picked up by the Washington Post, provided this quote. “This was one of the best and scariest psychological thrillers I’ve ever encountered.” -San Francisco Book Critics’ Choice Award Everybody has heard of Jack and Grace, a married couple that everyone knows. He’s handsome and wealthy, while she exudes grace and refinement. They both work hard and have never lost a case; he is a dedicated lawyer who has never lost a case; she is a perfect housewife, an expert gardener and cook, and she adores her sister who is disabled. In spite of being newlyweds, they appear to have everything. Even if you don’t want to, you can’t help but like them. You’re smitten by their home’s coziness and the graciousness with which they host dinner parties. Your desire is to learn more about Grace. Jack and Grace are inseparable, which makes it difficult. True love, according to some, might be defined as this. As to why Grace doesn’t answer the phone, others may wonder Her lack of a job may be the reason why she can’t meet up for a cup of coffee with you. How does she do it?

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere is a work of literary fiction that also functions as a domestic thriller. When two families in Shaker Heights, Cleveland—the Richardsons and Mia Warren, a single mother and her daughter Pearl—are brought together in this New York Times best-seller, you’ll discover what happens when their paths cross.

The Widow by Fiona Barton

Several years ago, I was part of a book club at my previous employer and read The Widow. To be honest, I wasn’t a big fan of it. You should still read it, though, because it sparked a lot of discussion among my coworkers. No? Isn’t it fun to argue about books, right? Basically, The Widow is about a woman named Jean who hasn’t told anyone everything she knows about the horrible crime her husband has been accused of having committed.

The Other Widow by Susan H. Crawford

My grandma recently let me pick through a stack of mysteries and I came across this one: Joe is killed in a car accident minutes after telling Dorrie they must end their illicit relationship. What follows is a riveting mystery about who wanted them dead, and a fascinating depiction of what it means to grieve a secret relationship.

My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Fans of domestic thrillers who enjoy a dash of satire will enjoy My Sister, The Serial Killer, even if it is not in the same vein as The Couple Next Door. It’s a fast-paced thriller with a heavy dose of dark humor, narrated by Korede, whose sister Ayoola has an unfortunate habit of murdering her boyfriends once she’s over dating them. It doesn’t get any better than this. In an afternoon, you’ll be able to devour this book. And you’ll want to, I can assure you.

The Perfect Nanny by Leila Slimani

A seemingly “perfect” nanny ends up committing an unthinkable crime in this chilling novel.

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Author of THE WOMAN IN CABIN by this name An instant best-seller in the New York Times, USA Today, and the Los Angeles Times, 10 INSTANT is soon to be a major motion picture. PICTURE A ShelfAwareness Best Book of the Year, 2015, and an Entertainment Weekly Best Book of the Year Reading Lists for the Summer Pick a Buzzfeed. “31 Summer Reading Picks” is a list of books to look forward to this season. The “Top Ten Mysteries and Thrillers” from Publishers Weekly This Year’s Summer Reading: Choose Your Own Adventure Pick one of A New York Post’s “Best Summer Novels” “Book Expo America 2015 Buzz Book” by Shelf Awareness. Ruth Ware’s psychological thriller takes a sinister turn during what should be a relaxing and fun-filled weekend in the English countryside. Some call her Lee, while others refer to her as Nora, but either way, Leonora is a reclusive crime writer who will only leave her “nest” of an apartment if she has to. She reluctantly accepts an invitation from a long-lost friend to spend the weekend in the English countryside, where they’ll be staying in a creepy glass house. For forty-eight hours, she lies injured but conscious, aware that someone has been killed. Nora tries to piece together the events of the previous weekend, wondering not “what happened?” but “what have I done?” To learn the truth, Nora must go back to places in her past she’d rather forget in order to uncover hidden motives and secrets. The Girl On the Train by Paula Hawkins, a New York Times bestseller, and S.J.

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

NOVEMBER 2018 BOOK CLUB PICK SELECTED BY REESE WITHERSPOON! For fans of Michelle Frances, debut author Sandie Jones’ psychological thriller The Other Woman is a must-read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.