7 Best Books Like The Grace Year Update 05/2022

Books Like The Grace Year

Patron Saints of Nothing

Patron Saints of Nothing

Randy Ribay

It was a finalist for the National Book Award. This book is brilliant, honest, and both heartbreaking and healing at the same time. Shout’s author, Laurie Halse Anderson, says: Individuality in the literary world,” he says. Long Way Down’s author, Jason Reynolds As a Filipino-American teenager in the United States, the story of his cousin’s murder and the risks he takes to find out what happened to him is a powerful coming of age tale. Prior to attending the University of Michigan, Jay Reguero plans to spend the final semester of his senior year playing video games. Because his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of President Duterte’s war on drugs, and no one in the family wants to talk about it, Jay travels there in order to learn the truth. While investigating Jun’s death and the circumstances surrounding it, Jay must confront the many facets of his cousin before he can accept his own role in the tragedy. Patron Saints of Nothing is a page-turning portrayal of the struggle to reconcile faith, family, and immigrant identity that is as gripping as it is lyrical.

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All

Laura Ruby

The unforgettable story of two young women—one alive, the other dead—coping with loss, desire, and the fragility of the American dream during WWII comes from the Printz Medal-winning author of Bone Gap. Originally, Frankie’s father was only planning on placing the rest of his family in an orphanage in Chicago for a short time while he got his life back on track. When Frankie arrives for his weekend visit with a new woman on his arm and out-of-state train tickets in his pocket, he’s not prepared for the unexpected situation. Now, Frankie and Toni, two orphans like so many others, are left to fend for themselves, doing whatever they can to survive. The shadows of injustice, poverty, and death walk the streets in broad daylight in this shattered America, and it will be up to Frankie to find something worth holding on to in the ruins of this shattered America—every minute and every day spent wondering if the life she’s able to carve out will be enough. I’ll be the first to admit that I have no idea. But I’ll be keeping an eye out to see what happens. That’s how ghosts work.

Wilder Girls

Rory Power

BILLBOARD CHARTER WINNER “Honors girls’ tenacity and the earth-shattering force of their bonds. It was a haunting, unforgettable victory.” —Claire Legrand, bestselling author of Furyborn in the New York Times “The writing in Wilder Girls is razor-sharp, and the emotional content is delivered in such wise ways. I’m convinced a major new literary star is about to emerge.” author Jeff VanderMeer, best-selling author of Annihilation Three best friends at an island boarding school are held in quarantine, and they go to great lengths to uncover the truth of their confinement when one of them mysteriously vanishes. An original debut novel that’s unlike anything you’ve ever read. After 18 months, the Raxter School for Girls has finally been declared safe. As a result of the Tox, Hetty’s entire world has been turned upside down. It was a slow process at first. The first victims were the teachers. After that, it began to spread among the students, causing strange and foreign changes to their bodies. Due to the Tox, which has turned their island home’s woods into a dangerous wasteland, the girls are afraid to venture outside the school’s fence. Meanwhile, the Tox continues to seep into everything, and they are left waiting for the promised cure. Hetty, on the other hand, will go to any lengths to find Byatt, even if that means breaking quarantine and putting herself in danger. It’s only then that Hetty discovers that there is more to their story than she ever imagined. In addition, don’t miss Rory Power’s second novel, Burn Our Bodies Down Praise

Serpent & Dove

Shelby Mahurin

An Amazon Best Book of 2019 * New York Times Bestseller * B&N’s YA Book Club Pick * Indiebound Bestseller * #6 on the 2019 Kids’ Indie Next List”A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully …

Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance

Dangerous Alliance An Austentacious Romance

Jennieke Cohen

In this witty, winking historical romance with a dash of mystery, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Jane Austen. Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could possibly desire: an older sister happily married, the future of her family estate secure, and ample opportunity to spend her time away in the fields around her home.

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens

Delia Owens published her debut novel, Where the Crawdads Sing, in 2018. For a total of 30 non-consecutive weeks, it has been at the top of the New York Times Fiction Best Sellers lists for both 2019 and 2020. The plot is divided into two parts, each of which moves at a different pace. From 1952 to 1969, Kya grows up in the marsh of North Carolina, a place where she is isolated from the rest of the world. Chase Andrews, a local celebrity in Barkley Cove, North Carolina, is the subject of a murder investigation in the second timeline. Barnes & Noble’s Best Books of 2018 included Hello Sunshine by Reese Witherspoon in September 2018. As of December 2019, over 4.5 million copies of the book had been sold, making it the best-selling adult title in print in 2019. On Amazon.com’s list of bestsellers in fiction, it ranked first in 2019.

Frankly in Love

David Yoon

“I loved, loved, loved this book,” the author exclaimed. Small Great Things and A Spark of Light are both #1 New York Times bestsellers by Jodi Picoult. It’s a story that’s “big-hearted, honest, hilarious, and deeply romantic.” In his New York Times best-selling book They Both Die at the End, Adam Silvera writes: In the words of one critic, “This is going to be a classic.” author of the New York Times bestselling novel Warcross, Marie Lu When I read this book, I thought, “This is pure joy.” A Heart in a Body in the World and Honey, Baby, Sweetheart by Deb Caletti were both Printz Honor recipients and National Book Award finalists. Two close friends. A phony dating scheme. What’s the worst that could happen? He goes by two names: Frank Li. He goes by the name Frank Li in the US. Then there’s his Korean given name, Sung-Min Li. His Korean name is never uttered, even by his parents. Frank doesn’t speak any Korean at all. He is a native of the state of California, having grown up in the region all his life. The problem is that Frank’s parents still expect him to end up with a nice Korean girl, which is a problem because he has finally met the girl of his dreams: What a Brit Really Means. Who shares his sense of humor and love for books. Brit, the one person who makes him laugh like no one else. a white person who is British. Frank’s parents sacrificed everything to raise him in the land of opportunity, but their traditional expectations don’t leave a lot of room for him to be a normal American teenage boy. Joy Song, a family friend of Frank’s, is in a similar predicament, so Frank asks her for help. They devise a plan to help each other and keep their parents at bay. While Frank believes that he’s found the answer to all of his problems, he isn’t prepared for what life has in store.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.