13 Best Books Like The Historian Update 05/2022

Books Like The Historian

Dracul

Dracul

Stoker, Dacre

At age 21, Bram Stoker finds himself in a desolate tower, facing an unimaginable evil. The year is 1868. He prays to survive a single night, the longest of his life, armed only with crucifixes, holy water, and a rifle. Bram scribbles down the events that brought him to this point in a desperate attempt to remember them. A sickly child, Bram was cared for by a young woman named Ellen Crone in the Dublin home of his parents, where he spent his early years bedridden. There are a number of strange deaths nearby, and Bram and his sister Matilda notice that Ellen has been acting strangely. The mystery surrounding Ellen only grows more terrifying until she suddenly vanishes from their lives. The nightmare they thought had ended is only just beginning for Matilda, who returns from her year of study in Paris to tell Bram she has seen Ellen. Bram Stoker’s and Dracula’s origins are revealed in Dracul, a gothic novel of suspense that reveals a mysterious woman who connects them.

The Fifth House of the Heart

a Novel

“Only Sax has the key to his success: he’s killed vampires for their priceless loot at various points in his life. It’s now that Sax’s past actions have come back to haunt him, threatening the lives of those closest to him. When an unnatural threat arises, a cowardly but clever Sax, aided by a motley crew of mercenaries and vampire killers, must travel across Europe in search of incalculable evil and immeasurable wealth to hunt a terrifying, ageless monster…one who is hunting Sax in turn. The Fifth House of the Heart, by Ben Tripp, follows in the footsteps of his debut horror novel Rise Again, which Cory Doctorow, author of Little Brother, said “raises the stakes so high that the book becomes nearly impossible to put down.””

A Love Like Blood

Sedgwick, Marcus

Charles Jackson sees a man in a dark tunnel, apparently drinking the blood of a murdered woman, just days after Paris was liberated from the Nazis in 1944. He does nothing because he is afraid, and he tells himself that worse things happen during war. When he returns to the city seven years later, he runs into the same man dining with an intriguing young woman. Charles decides to follow them out of the restaurant… It’s a dark, compelling thriller about how a man’s life can change in a split second and where the desire for truth and vengeance can lead.

Powers of Darkness

the Lost Version of Dracula

After reading Bram Stoker’s 1897 novel Dracula, Icelandic publisher and writer, Valdimar smundson, decided to translate it into Icelandic. An original preface written by Stoker was included in this Icelandic edition, which was titled Makt Myrkranna (literally “Powers of Darkness”). In 1901, Makt Myrkranna was published in Iceland, but it was only discovered in 1986 that Stoker’s preface to the book had been discovered. Even though the preface was read, no one went any further than that. Upon delving into the full text of Makt Myrkranna, literary scholar Hans de Roos learned in 2014 that smundsson had not only translated Dracula but had also written an entirely new story, complete with all-new characters and a completely revised plot. Shorter, punchier, erotic, and perhaps even more suspenseful than Bram Stoker’s Dracula, the resulting story is all of these things and more. Only now has Makt Myrkranna been translated and read outside of Iceland.

Vlad

Fuentes, Carlos

Once in Mexico, an undead Vlad the Impaler offers eternal life in exchange for the legal and real estate services of the Navarro family’s sole child after centuries of war and blood scarcity in Eastern Europe.

Dracula the Un-Dead

Dracula the Un-Dead

Dacre Stoker

In the wake of Bram Stoker’s Dracula, comes Dracula the Un-dead (also by Bram Stoker). Dacre Stoker, Bram Stoker’s great-grandnephew, and Ian Holt wrote the book. Both Holt and Stoker had previously worked in the entertainment industry as screenwriters for direct-to-DVD horror films.

The Gargoyle

Andrew Davidson

Andrew Davidson’s first novel, The Gargoyle, was published in 2008.

The Name of the Rose

Umberto Eco

Italy’s Umberto Eco published his first book, The Name of the Rose, a year later. Set in the year 1327, it is a murder mystery that incorporates semiotics in fiction, biblical analysis, medieval studies, and literary theory into a complex literary mystery. In 1983, William Weaver translated it into English.

The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane

Katherine Howe

Release from Pain: A Physick Book Katherine Howe’s first novel, Dane, was published in 2010. Hyperion’s VOICE imprint published it.

New York Times Hardcover Fiction Bestseller No. 2 debuted at No. 2 on June 20, 2009.

The Firebird

Susanna Kearsley

Bestseller on the New York Times Book Reviewer: “Brilliant”- New York Journal of Books “This intelligent, tension-filled story will take your breath away and bring history to life, which is saying a lot.” “I’m left wanting more after every scene.” “Full of fascinating history and a deep sense of romance.” One of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

I Am Legend

I Am Legend

Richard Matheson

Richard Matheson’s 1954 novel I Am Legend, a post-apocalyptic horror tale, was published in the United States. Zombies and vampires were popularized by this film, as well as the idea of a worldwide apocalypse caused by disease. Because of its popularity, the book was adapted into three feature films: The Omega Man and I Am Legend. This film was also a major influence on the popular Night of the Living Dead film series.

City of the Beasts

Isabel Allende

Isabel Allende’s debut novel for young adults, City of the Beasts, is set in a dystopian future Chile. The story takes place in the Amazon rainforest and was first published in 2002. Margaret Sayers Peden was responsible for the English translation of this Spanish-language novel. Walden Media purchased the film rights to the novel in 2006, but no film has been made since then.

Rebecca

Daphne du Maurier

In 1938, Dame Daphne du Maurier published a Gothic novel titled Rebecca. An unnamed young woman marries a wealthy widower in haste only to discover that he and his household are haunted by the memory of the title character’s deceased first wife. With 2.8 million copies sold between 1938 and 1965, Rebecca is a best-seller that has never been out of print. For the stage and screen, it has been adapted numerous times, including one written by Du Maurier herself and the Alfred Hitchcock film, Rebecca, which won the Best Picture Oscar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.