7 Best Books Like The Light We Lost Update 05/2022

Books Like The Light We Lost

From Scratch: A Memoir of Love, Sicily, and Finding Home

From Scratch A Memoir of Love, Sicily, and Finding Home

One of the HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICKS by REESE WITHERSPOON One of the most popular books in the New York Times The lush Sicilian countryside serves as the backdrop for this heartwarming tale of cross-cultural love, in which one woman discovers the healing powers of food and family, as well as an unexpected grace in her darkest moment. When Tembi met Saro, a professional chef, on a street in Florence, it was love at first sight. Just one problem: Saro’s Sicilian family didn’t like the idea of him marrying a black American woman, an actress in particular, because of their traditional values. However, despite their grief, the couple continues on their journey. They have a wonderful life in Los Angeles, where they have successful careers, close friends, and the love of their lives: an adopted baby girl. Saro’s family reconciles with them just as he faces a formidable cancer that will destroy all their hopes and dreams for the future. From Scratch tells the story of three summers spent in Sicily by Tembi and her daughter Zoela as they learn to live without their husbands in the small farming community where her husband grew up. At her mother-in-table, law’s Tembi now finds solace and nourishment—literally and spiritually—from Saro’s family and his roots. To help her heal, she travels to a small village in Sicily where she encounters a welcoming community and ancient customs and wisdom that illuminate a new path for her. While she’s on the road, she keeps thinking about her and Saro’s incredible love story, which practically jumps off the pages. When Tembi Locke’s story begins, it is said that every Sicilian story begins with a marriage or a death. She’s dealing with the pain of bereavement, but…

The Library Book

Susan Orlean

One of the most popular books in the New York Times “DELIGHTFULRIVING” is how one reviewer described it. —Booklist Love letter and investigation into one of the greatest mysteries of the beloved institution, from the best-selling author who has been described by The Washington Post as a “national treasure”. The Los Angeles Public Library’s fire alarm went off early on April 29, 1986. Customers and employees who had been evacuated from the building began to realize that this was not your average fire alarm. It was “Goodbye, Charlie” once the first stack started, according to a firefighter’s recollection. Fire reached 2000 degrees and burned for more than seven hours, making it the worst fire I’ve ever seen. Four hundred thousand books had been consumed and seven hundred thousand had been damaged by the time it was put out. More than 30 years later, investigators are still trying to answer the question: Did someone deliberately set fire to the library, and if so, who did? Susan Orlean, a New Yorker reporter and New York Times best-selling author, weaves her lifelong love of books and reading into an investigation of the fire, producing a mesmerizing and unique book that manages to tell the broader story of libraries and librarians in a way that has never been done previously. Orlean chronicles the LAPL fire in The Library Book…

The Secrets We Kept

Lara Prescott

Instant New York Times Best Seller A HELLO SUNSHINE x REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB. PICKA Inspired by the… true story of secretaries turned spies, love and duty, and sacrifice.

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng

It is a 2017 book by American author Celeste Ng, Little Fires Everywhere. This is Ng’s second novel, and it is set in her hometown of Shaker Heights, Ohio. Writing about her hometown was, in her words, “This isn’t quite the same as writing about someone close to you. All of their good qualities and flaws are visible to you and you love them dearly, but you are also aware of their strengths and weaknesses.”

All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See

Anthony Doerr

On the 6th of May of this year, Anthony Doerr’s war novel All the Light We Cannot See was published by Scribner. Both the Pulitzer Prize and Andrew Carnegie Medal were awarded to it in 2015.

One Day in December

Josie Silver

When Josie Silver writes, you can feel the warmth radiating from her prose. Her characters sneak into your heart and stay there for a long time before her bus drives away. To ensure they’ll meet again, Laurie spends a year searching every bus stop and cafe in London for him. However, she fails to locate him at the crucial moment. For their “reunion,” Laurie’s best friend Sarah introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie at a Christmas party. Jack, the bus passenger, is here. We can expect it to happen. Ten years of friendship, heartbreak, missed opportunities, roads not taken, and destinies reconsidered follow for Laurie, Sarah, and Jack. Love stories have the power to bring people together and remind us that fate takes unexpected twists and turns on its journey to happiness.

Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows

Balli Kaur Jaswal

A spicy and alluring blend of Together Tea and Calendar Girls, this East-meets-West tale of community, friendship, and the lives of women of all ages is both entertaining and thought-provoking. Every woman has a dark side. Nikki is a bartender at a West London pub where she lives and works. She has spent the majority of her twenty-plus years separating herself from the traditional Sikh community she was raised in, preferring a more self-sufficient existence. Nikki, a law school dropout, impulsively accepts a job teaching a “creative writing” class at the Punjabi community center in the heart of London’s Punjabi community after her father’s death. As a result of a misunderstanding, the proper Sikh widows who show up expect to learn only the basics of English literacy, not the art of short-story composition. When one of the widows discovers an English-language book of sexy stories and shares it with the class, Nikki realizes that her students are hiding a wealth of fantasies and memories beneath their white dupattas. As she teaches these modest women how to express their untold stories, she unleashes creativity of the most unexpected and exciting kind. Nikki warns her students to keep their work secret from the Brotherhood, a group of conservative young men who have taken on the role of “moral police” in the community. Nikki and her friends were shocked to learn that a young woman like Nikki had died and that some of the class erotica had been shared among their friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.