8 Best Books Like The Little Prince Update 05/2022

Books Like The Little Prince

When we reach adulthood, we often find ourselves looking for books like The Little Prince, which many of us first fell in love with as children and continue to enjoy and learn from even as adults. The Little Prince, a 1943 spiritual novella by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, is often cited as an example of such a tale.

A plane crash in the Sahara Desert brings the narrator face to face with the intrepid Little Prince, who is on a world tour in search of love and human connection. Many painfully accurate observations about human nature are made by the Little Prince during his travels across the universe. Among the things he learned are the narrow-mindedness and shortsightedness of adults.

Saint-poignant Exupéry’s observations of life speak to adults as well as children because of the book’s multidimensional narrative, which reflects a child’s logic and imagination. As a result, The Little Prince has become one of the most popular and widely translated books of all time. Looking for more books like The Little Prince? Here are some suggestions for timeless classics that are sure to bring out the child in you once again.

Books like The Little Prince

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll

One of the most well-known and widely read works of English literature is Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. A book like The Little Prince that has stood the test of time is an excellent choice for anyone looking for more books like this one that have influenced other works of literature and popular culture.

Wonderland was written by Charles Lutwidge Dodgson under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll in 1865 and tells the story of a young girl who falls down a rabbit hole and enters a strange fantasy world known as Wonderland. In order to return to the real world, Alice must overcome numerous obstacles, including swimming in her own tears, solving riddles at the fabled Mad Hatter’s tea party, and testifying at a trial to determine who stole the Queen of Hearts tarts!

There are themes like the inevitable loss of childhood and the frustration of life’s many meaningless puzzles explored in Alice’s Wonderland, a story that plays with logic. On a cosmic scale, the Little Prince’s journey is paralleled by Alice in her struggle to survive in a world of adults.

The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway’s final major work of fiction, The Old Man and the Sea (published in his lifetime), tells the story of Santiago, an elderly Cuban fisherman, through the eyes of an anonymous narrator. Santiago has had a string of bad luck for the past 84 days, and it’s getting him down.

Santiago sets out into the Gulf Stream in an attempt to break his bad luck and prove that he hasn’t yet given up. As they battle it out for three days, tragedy finally takes hold of them. Strength, wisdom, perseverance, and friendship are all celebrated in the novel.

The Old Man and the Sea is an engrossing account of humanity’s struggle against the elements. In another, Santiago is often compared to Christ on his journey of redemption, and the pages reveal a narrative rich in religious symbolism.

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway is an excellent follow-up to The Little Prince if you enjoy deciphering the many hidden meanings and the fable-like allegory of the narrative.

Around the World in Eighty Days, by Jules Verne

Jules Verne’s best-known novel, Around the World in Eighty Days, was published just over 150 years ago. Famous British gentleman Philleas Fogg and his valet Jean Passepartout attempt to circumnavigate the globe in eighty days by any means necessary in yet another adventure story.

In order to meet the deadline, the pair accepts a wager of £20,000 and tries to take advantage of every mode of transportation they can get their hands on. In the ultimate race against the clock, Verne’s mile-a-minute crusade sees Fogg and Passepartout get arrested, miss their travel connections, and encounter bad weather in exotic lands and dangerous locations.

Around the World in Eighty Days is an eye-opening read for anyone looking for more books like Saint-The Exupéry’s Little Prince because it allows Fogg to break the routine of his incredibly precise and predictable day-to-day life and encourages him to see the real world again.

Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, by Robert Louis Stevenson

Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, by Robert Louis Stevenson

With so many adaptations since its publication in 1886, The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson is a perfect addition to this list of classics that also includes The Little Prince.

When his friend, the revered Dr. Henry Jekyll, and an evil character, Mr. Edward Hyde, go missing, an unnamed London lawyer named John Gabriel Utterson sets out to find out what happened.

While trying to find a way to separate his good-natured self from the more sinister parts of himself, the Doctor transforms into an unfeeling monster in the course of the story. It’s time to take drastic measures if these transformations become unmanageable.

With the phrase “Jekyll and Hyde” now in common usage to describe people with a split personality or an unpredictable nature, the novel’s influence on the world can be seen in its examination of the complexities of human nature. In the same way that The Little Prince has been widely acclaimed, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is sure to hold your attention.

Watership Down, by Richard Adams

Watership Down, Richard Adams’ debut novel, began as a story he made up for his own children to tell. Since then, it has become a worldwide sensation, delighting readers of every age group. It has garnered praise from the literary community as well as numerous accolades for its author, including the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Prize.

Their warren was destroyed, and they’re looking for somewhere new to call home. The story revolves around a small group of rabbits with their own unique language, poetry, and culture. Unknown narrator recounts their exploits and the various dangers and temptations they encounter while looking for a new place to call home, including dog attacks and human interference as well as a war with the novel’s notorious villain, the militant and vengeful General Woundwort.

When it comes to themes such as leadership, nature, family, and home, Watership Down has a lot in common with Saint-novella Exupéry’s The Little Prince, so if you enjoyed this aspect of The Little Prince, Watership Down is a good bet.

Moby-Dick, by Herman Melville

Moby-Dick, by Herman Melville

Moby-Dick, Herman Melville’s classic 1851 novel, takes us back to the sea. When a whale that bit off one of his legs on a previous voyage is killed by the ship’s captain, Ahab, the book is narrated by Ishmael, one of the ship’s sailors.

Moby-Dick and Ishmael’s epic voyage on the giant white sperm whale is well-documented as Ahab’s descent into vengeance puts the lives of the rest of his crew in jeopardy.

The Little Prince’s quest for knowledge is reminiscent of Melville’s exploration of character, faith, and the nature of perception, which highlights the limitations of human knowledge and echoes Melville’s own findings.

In the 20th century, the novel was hailed as one of the greatest works of literature ever written. The first line of the book, “Call me Ishmael,” is one of the most famous in literature, making Moby-Dick a must-read for fans of The Little Prince and other classics of the children’s literature genre.

Treasure Island, by Robert Louis Stevenson

Treasure Island was Robert Lois Stevenson’s attempt to write a boys’ adventure story, and he certainly succeeded. Since publication in 1882, Treasure Island has gone on to be the inspiration behind many many more tales of pirates, buried treasure and quest voyages and is a great read for anyone looking for more enduring classic books similar to The Little Prince.

We follow Jim Hawkins, the son of an innkeeper, as he sets out to find the legendary treasures supposedly buried by the notorious pirate Captain Flint. When the treasure on a faraway tropical island is in jeopardy, the map leads many people, including Jim, on a dramatic journey.

Deception, secrecy, trust, and greed are all examined in this coming-of-age escapade that will keep you reading for a long time to come.

Don Quixote, by Miguel de Cervantes

One of the most influential works of Spanish literature, Don Quixote is widely regarded as the best piece of literary fiction ever written. Don Quixote is a noble hidalgo from La Mancha who goes by the name Don Quixote in Miguel de Cervantes’ adventure novel, published in two parts. After reading so many chivalrous romance novels, an inventive gentleman decides to follow in their footsteps and become a knight in shining armor himself.

He and Sancho Panza travel the world trying to rid the world of evil and injustice while proving that chivalry isn’t extinct, often to comical effect. Don Quixote and Sancho Panza’s adventures

Don Quixote by Cervantes is a must-read for anyone who wants to escape the real world with books like The Little Prince, thanks to Cervantes’ experiments with form and playful literary style that have captivated readers for more than 400 years.

These timeless classics are jam-packed with adventures that will remind you to never lose your sense of wonder and wonderment. List of classic books like The Little Prince, which are suitable for all ages and allow you to fall in love with them again and again, was inspired by Antoine de Saint-character.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.