7 Best Books Like The Magicians Update 05/2022

Books Like The Magicians

What kind of books are you looking for?

The brilliant but depressed Quentin Coldwater serves as a poignant reminder of the difficulties and heartbreaks that come with being a teen. Just like Quentin, I used to seek solace in a fantastical world by immersing myself in a book. Like Quentin, I never discovered that a fantasy world I had read about was in fact based on reality.

One more contemporary fantasy coming-of-age story, The Magicians seems to be. Once you’ve delved in, you may find yourself sucked in for the long haul. Are there any books that compare to The Magicians if you’ve already devoured that one?

Books like The Magicians

Deep Secret, by Diana Wynne Jones

Deep Secret, by Diana Wynne Jones

The Magicians, for example, makes a lot of claims about being the first book of its kind. As if to prove that she was there long before today’s wordsmiths, along comes Diana Wynne Jones from beyond the grave to remind readers.

The Merlin Conspiracy’s sequel, Deep Secret, is also a thriller. Both books can be read in any order, and you’ll be blown away by Wynne-Jones’ skill at fusing the real world with the fantastical. He is a Magid. Rupert’s job is to keep an eye on the multiverse, and Earth is one of the places he’s responsible for.

That is until his mentor passes away and Rupert has to find someone else quickly. Bringing everyone together at a science fiction and fantasy convention in a city on a power node is the most straightforward solution. What’s the worst that could happen?

Readers will laugh and wonder if they can find their own magic at a #SFF convention after reading this tale of humour and magic.

The Left Handed Booksellers of London, by Garth Nix

The Magicians is just one of many books that take place in alternate universes. Susan Arkshaw is on a quest to find her father in a reimagined version of modern-day London in The Left Handed Booksellers of London.

There are a lot more going on than Susan realizes when she discovers that the local crime lord Frank was turned to dust by the ridiculously attractive Merlin. Whenever the Old World tries to intrude on modern life, Merlin and the right-handed booksellers patrol it.

Those who enjoyed The Magicians will enjoy The Left Handed Booksellers of London, which is full of nasty fairies, elves, and an evil bad guy.

The Invisible Library, by Genevieve Cogman

As in The Magicians, there are so many ideas being thrown around that it’s hard to tell what the final product will be. In The Invisible Library, this is not the case.

For the Library, Irene works as a librarian. There are no books that can be lost forever because the Library collects fiction from all possible worlds and stores it in one place.

While working as a librarian in an alternate version of London (the steampunk Victorian kind), Irene and her new assistant Kai discover that Kai isn’t telling her the whole truth about himself.

They must work together to recover a dangerous book for which dozens of factions are willing to die to obtain possession. They must work together. Innovative and fun, the Invisible Library will keep you entertained for hours. Playing with your expectations before cheerfully ripping the rug out from under you is what Cogman enjoys most about his work.

The Quorum, by Kim Newman

The Quorum, by Kim Newman

In addition to his Anno Dracula series, which you should read, Kim Newman has published a number of other works of contemporary fantasy over the course of his prolific career. Three of the four young men in The Quorum make a Faustian deal with Derek Leech in 1978, which is the focus of the film.

For a price, Leech promises them a life of luxury, glamour, and success. Like The Magicians, these kinds of books entice the reader with a sliver of magic before delivering the full weight of what’s happening. Throughout its run, The Quorum serves as a parody of the decade it is set in: the 1970s.

This comes at the expense of their old friend, Neil, whose life becomes a dreary nightmare from which there is no escape or understanding possible. Sally Rhodes, a private investigator, may be able to put an end to Neil’s bad luck. A must-read for anyone who grew up in the 1980s and 1990s.

The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern

In books like The Magicians, characters often get into fights over magic. When it comes to magic in The Night Circus, Celia and Marco are at loggerheads. Both have been coerced into competing against each other by their instructors (imagine two elderly white privileged men) in the shadows of the Night Circus.

Celia and Marco falling in love is the only issue that neither instructor anticipated.

The Night Circus has been likened to an epic poem by some critics. I don’t think so. There is a lot of rhythm in the writing, but it is never sacrificed for the story. Both Celia and Marco are interesting people to watch, and their instructors are equally fascinating, despite their evil intentions.

The Night Circus has the same tragic atmosphere as The Magicians.

Is this book on your TBR list? We’ve compiled a list of books that are similar to The Night Circus!

London’s Falling, by Paul Cornell

London’s Falling, by Paul Cornell

The Magicians and London’s Falling are two examples of books that deal with dark themes. When London’s Falling by Paul Cornell first hit bookstore shelves around the holidays of 2012, it frightened millions of people.

Detective James Quill is about to complete the most important drug bust of his career when his main suspect, Rob Toshack, is brutally murdered in custody while he is in custody. Quill enlists the help of analyst Lisa Ross and undercover cops Costain and Sefton to solve the impossible murder.

The strange quartet quickly discovers an occult link to powerful and dangerous magic. Because Rob Toshack had made a deal, he was always one step ahead of authorities. A deal with a dangerous supernatural force that can alter space and time. Quill and his comrades are now the target.

Make no mistake about it: My summation is not deceitful, despite the oblique references. In London’s Falling, you’ll be taken to the depths of the human soul, and you’ll wonder if magic is as exciting as some books would have us believe.

Oddjobs, by Heide Goody and Iain Grant

In books like The Magicians, magic, levity, and mayhem all come together. In Oddjobs, this is more so than anywhere else.

Morag Murray is a new employee at a government agency tasked with ensuring that the end of the world occurs as quietly as possible. The story takes place in contemporary Birmingham, England. Morag and her coworkers deal with paranormal killings and amphibian gangsters on a daily basis.

Then there’s Morag’s inevitable demise to worry about as well.

Morag has to find a way to stop the God while keeping the apocalypse conveyor belt running smoothly, because she killed one of the God’s clan (in self-defense, to be fair). It’s not as simple as it sounds.

Using a combination of Lovecraftian absurdity and every day horrors, Oddjobs offers a lighthearted take on the doomsday scenario.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.