6 Best Books Like The Outsiders Update 05/2022

In 1967, SE Hinton published her debut novel, The Outsiders, which has captivated readers ever since. The Outsiders, written by Hinton when she was just 16 years old, is still a popular choice for young adult readers. The Outsiders is one of the most popular books of all time, even though it was made into a film by Francis Ford Coppola in 1983.

For those who loved SE Hinton’s classic novel The Outsiders and are looking for more books in the same vein, we’ve compiled a list of eight fantastic reads.

6 Books like The Outsiders

That Was Then, This Is Now, by SE Hinton

If you’re looking for a book that resembles The Outsiders in any way, That Was Then, This Is Now by SE Hinton is an obvious choice.

After the death of Mark’s parents, he moves in with Bryon, a boy he met in Hinton’s first novel, and the two grow up together in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The book examines the dynamics of Mark and Bryon’s relationship as teenagers forced to fend for themselves without adult supervision because they are living on their own.

In this novel, Hinton returns to themes explored in her first book, The Outsiders, with a cameo appearance by Ponyboy Curtis. A great choice for fans of The Outsiders, That Was Then, This Is Now explores the social hierarchies of adolescence in a similar manner to The Outsiders.

Rumble Fish, by SE Hinton

SE Hinton’s 1975 novel Rumble Fish is another obvious choice if you’re looking for a book like The Outsiders.

Rusty-James tells the story of his early adolescent years to an old friend in the novel. He lives with his brother in a poor neighborhood where his parents aren’t present, just like the other Hinton characters in the book. It examines the dynamics of gang life and social standings, as well as some more difficult teen issues, in a way that few novels of the time did.

Francis Ford Coppola made a film adaptation of Rumble Fish in 1983, but unlike Hinton’s previous works, there is no character crossover in Rumble Fish. However, if you’re looking for books like The Outsiders, this is a great option. It follows a similar storyline and has many of the same themes.

The Catcher in the Rye, by JD Salinger

For a list of books like The Outsiders, JD Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye is a must-read.

Holden Caulfield, a 17-year-old expelled from an affluent boarding school, spends a few days on his own in New York City before returning home to confront his parents.

Although Holden is widely regarded as one of the most unlikable protagonists in literary history, many readers remain enthralled by his story to this day. Many people can identify with his relentless search for human connection and his attempt to see people for who they truly are, and it also brings to light the isolating nature of adolescence.

Despite its enormous popularity, the book has been heavily censored and challenged since its publication because of its explicit sexual content and strong language.

If you’re looking for a book that has themes similar to The Outsiders but is less controversial, check out TheCatcherintheRye. It has inspired many young adult writers and is a great choice.

Check out our list of books like The Catcher in the Rye for more ideas.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

One of Stephen Chbosky’s best young-adult novels, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, is another classic that doesn’t sugarcoat the challenges faced by teenagers in high school.

After the death of his best friend, Charlie begins his freshman year of high school in an epistolary novel. Due to the fact that he has lost his closest friend, Charlie has become more reclusive and introverted. However, as he begins to form relationships with other students, Charlie begins to open up.

As in The Outsiders, this novel chronicles the lives of teenagers in a straightforward and honest manner, highlighting some of the hardships they may encounter. With a focus on issues like sexual assault and drug use, as well as mental illness and the gay lifestyle, SE Hinton’s second novel, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, has been met with a great deal of criticism.

When it comes to finding books like The Outsiders that depict adolescence in an insightful and honest way, ThePerksofBeingaWallfloweris an excellent option.

Looking for Alaska, by John Green

In the same vein as The Outsiders, the first book by John Green, Looking for Alaska, is a great read for those who enjoy Hinton’s honest portrayal of adolescent life and her exploration of social hierarchy.

Pudge Halter is a character in a novel written in 2004, which follows him as he moves from a typical public high school to a small Alabama boarding school. When he’s in school, he makes friends with a ragtag group of troublemakers and develops feelings for Alaska Young, a free-spirited but troubled girl.

Along with themes like teen drinking, depression, and dealing with loss, Looking for Alaska examines the dynamics of a wealth divide and the privileges that those with money are given over those without.

It’s no secret that Hulu is currently adapting Looking for Alaska into a miniseries that will air later this year on the streaming service. If you’re looking for more books like SE Hinton’s The Outsiders, this is a great place to start.

You can also check out our books like Looking for Alaska if you’d like more book recommendations!

Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell, published in 2013, is a fantastic choice for fans of The Outsiders.

This acclaimed novel, set in the 1980s, follows two high school seniors named Park Sheridan and Eleanor Douglass. While Eleanor is a wealthy socialite, Park is an average 16-year-old from a middle-class family who meets and falls in love with her. Eleanor, who is obese and comes from a low-income family, is regularly harassed at school and has an abusive stepfather to contend with.

In this book, you’ll be drawn into the characters’ lives as they struggle with bullying, domestic violence, and body image issues. Like The Outsiders, it examines the benefits and security that come with financial success.

As a result of its publication, Eleanor & Park has received widespread praise, making it an excellent choice for fans of The Outsiders.
Check out our Eleanor & Park article for more book recommendations!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.