3 Best Books Like The Selection Series Update 05/2022

Trying to find books that are similar to “The Selection”? This is a great series to read for a lighthearted, feel-good experience. There’s so much about The Selection that makes you happy even if you don’t understand why: the gorgeous dresses, dystopian setting, game show element, and love triangles, among others.

A similar tone or feel to The Selection can be found in the following six books and series for YA readers. Have fun exploring them! It’s hard to find a book like The Selection that isn’t boring, angsty, dark, or just plain irritating. As a result, it can be quite a challenge to find books that are similar to each other! The books on this list include some favorites of mine, as well as others that you’ll see I included more because they’re so beloved by fans of The Selection. If you’re looking for a new book to read, go ahead and start reading these!

1. The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

The Crown’s Game might be a good choice if you’re looking for books that are similar to The Selection. In terms of themes, the novel’s competition, and the writing style, this one is more fantasy-focused than the other.

Vika Andreyeva and Nikolai Karimov are two of Russia’s most popular young stars. The only issue is… One enchanter is all that is needed! In the event that there are multiples, the magic of the land is split up… In order to protect Russia’s tsar and people, the Imperial Enchanter will need to draw on the magic of this land, and this cannot happen.
Is there a solution to the problem of too many enchanters? Fortunately, the Crown’s Game is already in place. Although this game ends in defeat, the winner is appointed as an advisor to the Russian tsar… and the enchanter is put to death!

They have spent their entire lives honing their magical abilities and honing their skills for this moment. Nikolai, on the other hand, finds himself drawn to Vika’s charismatic opponent when the tsar begins the Crown’s Game and they meet for the first time. It gets even more complicated when Pasha, the heir to the throne and Nikolai’s best friend, falls for Vika without knowing who she is. Do you think Nikolai can beat the girl you both love? Will Vika be able to kill another enchanter in order to win the competition?

It’s true that this book is dramatic, but it’s also a lot of fun to read. You won’t be able to put this down because of its wonderful magic, the beautiful Russia setting and the whimsy that permeates the story. As the characters get to know one another better, the romance elements in The Selection are just as endearing as the rest of the story. A love triangle is inevitable in this story! There are, in fact, several love triangles. Is it possible to make squares? When it comes to young adult fiction like The Selection, I highly recommend picking up a copy of The Crown’s Game right away.

2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

If you’re looking for something to read after The Selection series, consider Red Queen as a viable option. Since the main character is an ordinary person thrust into an elite society, The Selection fans will find this book to be a particularly enjoyable read.
A person’s blood type determines their social standing in the fantasy world of the Red Queen. People with red blood are commoners, while those with silver blood are the ruling elite (like being able to control the weather, manipulate metal, or heal others with a touch).

In the Stilts, Mare comes from a poor family, but one day she is summoned to the Silver Palace, where she works as a maid. A freak accident at the palace reveals to Mare that she has the same kind of power as the Silvers, despite her red blood! Instead of admitting that a Red has the power of a Silver, the King and Queen declare her to be a long-lost Silver princess. Mare must now live as a princess in the palace and not betray her hatred of those with Silver blood…

Mare agrees to help bring down the Silver regime when the Red Guard, a resistance group, reaches out to her and asks her to join them in their fight against the Silver regime. What will happen to the Red Guard if Mare can help them? When it comes to redressing the power imbalance, can she count on the support of either the Silver or the Golden princes? Or will Mare and those she cares about end up in a tragic situation?

I initially decided to read this book because of its intriguing premise (Special powers?). (I’d be happy to!). To be honest though, I debated whether or not to include it on this list because even though I enjoyed the first book, the series’ subsequent books did not hold my interest in the same way. For those who plan on reading these, know that they’re darker and more mature than The Selection series in many places. Anguish, disappointment, and betrayal abound in this story; it has surpassed my personal tolerance for such things! There are a lot of Selection fans out there, and I’ve met some of them… To sum up, if you like it, you’ll have access to a whole series of enjoyable books!

3. Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

Spin the Dawn is an excellent choice if you’re looking for books that are similar to The Selection. YA fantasy fans will love this book because it features a strong female protagonist, a sweet love story, and lots of gorgeous outfits.

For as long as she can remember, Maia Tamarin has longed to be the best tailor in the land. The only issue is… Her gender prevents her from becoming a master tailor. After receiving a summons to the Emperor’s Court, Maia disguises herself as a boy and goes in his place to compete for the position of Imperial Tailor.
In a competition full of scheming and deceitful tailors, Maia fights for her family’s honor and discovers more about herself than she could have imagined while competing. But what happens if Edan, the court magician, suspects her of being a boy and exposes her ruse?

After that, as a final challenge, Maia must sew three magically impossible garments as a way to prove her mettle. Will she be able to sew the dresses that have been stitched together with the sun’s laughter, the moon’s tears, and the stars’ blood? Will she succeed in her mission, or will she perish in the attempt?
One of the most fascinating aspects of Spin the Dawn is its fusion of different cultures and folklore. Despite the fact that it is a fantasy world, you get a strong sense of Maia’s world. It’s true that some of the plot points (like Maia disguised as a boy and assuming her father’s role) have been borrowed from other works, but in the end, this is a vibrant book that creates something new and enchanting to read!

Spin the Dawn has elements of The Selection’s competition, but this isn’t the book’s primary focus. This book, however, has a female protagonist you’ll fall in love with, descriptions of beautiful clothing that will make you sigh and a sweet romance that makes this an overall excellent read. The Selection fans should enjoy this one as much as The Selection fans did.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.