8 Best Books Like The Tattooist Of Auschwitz Update 05/2022

Books Like The Tattooist Of Auschwitz

The Tattooist of Auschwitz and the other books on this list are popular because they give us a sense of hope that things will improve in times of uncertainty. As a result, they inspire and motivate the rest of us to persevere through our own darkest moments, which in turn gives us the inspiration and motivation we need.

In Heather Morris’ The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Lale Sokolov’s love for another prisoner keeps him going through the years of captivity. A terrified young girl, Gita, catches Lale’s eye while he is tattooing prisoner numbers.

In addition to promising to protect her, he also promises to marry her if they make it out of the camp alive. However heartbreaking, Lale’s story is also inspiring and a poignant illustration of human endurance in the face of absolute despair, when it would be all too easy to just give up.

Please check out the following list of books that are uplifting in comparison to The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Books like The Tattooist of Auschwitz

The Joy Luck Club, by Amy Tan

The Joy Luck Club, by Amy Tan

When it comes to parents’ hopes and dreams for their children, Amy Tan’s 1989 novel The Joy Luck Club serves as a powerful example. The novel tells the stories of four Chinese immigrant mothers and their four American-born daughters over the course of several generations..

When the mothers got together to play mahjong in 1949, they formed the aptly named Joy Luck Club. For those who have left China, playing games is a way to reminisce about their past while also looking forward to a better future for themselves and their families in the US A clever mahjong-like structure divides the novel into four sections, with each section containing four chapters that focus on the mother’s and daughter’s stories, respectively.

There are many complexities in the relationships between mother and daughter, but one thing is certain: no matter how many opinions, choices, and experiences they have in common, they will always have a special bond that cannot be broken. It’s the novel’s recurring themes of hopes, plans, and dreams that make The Joy Luck Club a great choice for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, by John Boyne

Reading The Tattooist of Auschwitz or John Boyne’s The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas allows us to see the human condition through the eyes of children who have experienced traumatic events similar to those depicted in these works.

During the Second World War, Bruno’s father, a high-ranking Nazi official, is transferred with the rest of his family to Auschwitz, which Bruno affectionately refers to as the “Out-With” camp. A Jewish boy, Shmuel, lives on the other side of the fence and wears striped pyjamas, which Bruno refers to as striped pyjamas.

Shmuel’s side of the fence remains a mystery to Bruno, but he visits him every day to feed him and tell him stories, even if he knows nothing about it. To help Shmuel get back together with his loved ones, Bruno and his friends devise a scheme that goes horribly wrong.

One of the most poignant and important lessons we can take away from The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is how pointless hatred and division are in the eyes of children.

Women Talking, by Miriam Toews

In an author’s note, Women Talking explains the novel’s inspiration. It’s based on a true story about a group of Mennonite colony men who repeatedly raped and drugged girls and women in their community for four years straight.

As soon as the rapes are made public, the story jumps to a group of eight Mennonite women who were directly impacted by the crime. They discussed whether or not to forgive their attackers and stay in the colony with them, which is the only life they’ve ever known, or leave and embrace the uncertainty of the world outside of the community.

As the eighth novel by author Miriam Toews depicts a religious and gender-based conflict, these silenced women are given the opportunity to speak out, analyzing the philosophical and religious implications of their decisions. There is no doubt that Women Talking will appeal to readers who enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Salt to the Sea, by Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea, by Ruta Sepetys

Writing about war’s lesser-known tragedies and the people who were affected by them has made Ruta Sepetys a household name. Second novel Salt to the Sea was based on a shipwreck that occurred during World War II, the Wilhelm Gustloff, which sank while transporting thousands of refugees to a new life in the United States.

Salt to the Sea tells the story of four strangers whose paths cross on their way to this ship, and how they become a mere drop in the ocean among thousands of other people trying to survive, through the perspectives of four different characters.

Because it’s a heartbreaking tale that demonstrates the power of love in the face of adversity, Salt to the Sea is an excellent choice for anyone looking for books like The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas

As a result of its honest portrayal of racial tensions and the harsh realities of urban life, Angie Thomas’s debut novel, The Hate U Give, was widely praised upon its release in 2017. It’s because of the protagonist’s commitment to fighting injustice that The Hate U Give is a must-read for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

At 16, 16-year-old Starr Carter attends an elite private school in a poor neighborhood, a life that contrasts sharply with the experiences of her mostly white peers. Life for Starr, torn between the two worlds, becomes more difficult when she is the only person present when her childhood friend Khalil is fatally shot by a white police officer..

In the wake of Khalil’s death becoming a national news story, Starr is forced to stand up for the truth and what is right.

Amazingly up-to-date subject matter The Hate U Give aims to increase awareness of the Black Lives Matter movement and the problems that black Americans face on a daily basis, as well as the changes that can and must be made.

The question is, have you already read it? Visit this page to see a list of similar books to The Hate U Give.

Kolyma Tales, by Varlam Shalamov, translated by John Glad

Varlam Shalamov was held as a prisoner in the Soviet labor camps of Kolyma in Siberia for 17 years, during which he was subjected to appalling conditions.

In Kolyma Tales, he offers a candid look at the lives of some of the ordinary people who are caught up in these horrifying circumstances and the devastation they suffer as a result of it. The Kolyma Tales are a combination of the author’s own stories and those he overheard, resulting in a work that is equal parts memoir and fiction.

One of the few survivors to emerge from the concentration camp tells his story in an honest and shocking way, but also serves as a historical record of the atrocities that took place there.

If you’re looking for a classic like The Tattooist of Auschwitz, you’ll find it in Shalamov’s Kolyma Tales, which are considered masterpieces of 20th-century literature.

Where The Crawdads Sing, by Delia Owens

Where The Crawdads Sing, by Delia Owens

Kya, the main character in Delia Owen’s best-selling novel Where the Crawdads Sing, is sure to captivate readers who enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz because of Lale’s grit and determination to live.

In the marshlands surrounding her childhood home in Barkley Cove, Kya, or “the marsh girl,” as she is known to the locals, was forced to learn about life from the animals and nature that lived there.

Eventually, two timelines collide, with Kya at the center of a mystery death that has yet to be solved. One of the most moving books I’ve ever read, Where the Crawdads Sing explores themes of survival, hope, and love in the wake of tragedy. Throughout the North Carolina marshes, Owens takes the reader on a thrilling journey to uncover the rather unexpected truth.

The question is, have you already read it? If you like books like Where the Crawdads Sing, be sure to check out our list!

Cilka’s Journey, by Heather Morris

A second Auschwitz survivor, Cilka Klein, is featured in Heather Morris’ follow-up book Cilka’s Journey, which is sure to please fans of Heather Morris’ The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

When Cilka was taken to Auschwitz as a child, she was only eighteen years old. Among the many women who were accused of Nazi collaboration, she is sent to a labor camp in Siberia as a form of punishment.

Fortunately, Cilka makes an impression on a female doctor and is enlisted to help her tend to the sick in the camp under yet more heartbreaking and brutal conditions. When Cilka nurses a man named Ivan, love becomes the only resource she needs to keep going in the face of death every day.

There are few authors who can write about horrific events like the Holocaust in such a sensitive and humane manner as Morris, making Cilka’s Journey an excellent choice for fans of books like The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Books like The Tattooist of Auschwitz, which appear on this list of difficult-to-read novels, chronicle the horrors of some of history’s most shocking moments.

Human nature’s atrocities are highlighted, but they also demonstrate the power and hopefulness of hope, love and truth. This in turn gives us hope and encouragement to keep going.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.