10 Best Books Like The War That Saved My Life Update 05/2022

Books Like The War That Saved My Life

The War I Finally Won

The War I Finally Won

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

An instant New York Times bestseller Ada is a heroine to remember, in the tradition of Sarah Plain and Tall, Little Women, and Anne of Green Gables. She continues her triumphant journey in this sequel to the Newbery Honor-winning The War That Saved My Life when Ada’s clubfoot is surgically fixed for the first time and she realizes that she’s not what her mother claimed she was—damaged and deranged mentally as well as physically. She’s also no longer a daughter. What has become of her? World War II rages on and Ada and her brother Jamie move into a cottage with Lady Thorton and her daughter Maggie, their guardian Susan. It’s stressful to live in a crowded house. After that, Ruth takes up residence. Ruth, a German-born Jewish girl, is the subject of this story. Is that a German in here? There is a possibility that Ruth could be a spy. Calamity is on the horizon, and life during wartime becomes more difficult as a result of the fallout from the conflict. Which character will Ada choose? How can she go on like this for so long? It’s not clear who she’ll be fighting to save. A Newbery Honor, the Schneider Family Book Award, and the Josette Frank Award were all given to Ada’s first book, The War That Saved My Life, which was a New York Times bestseller. Ada’s journey of family, faith, and identity continues in this second masterwork of historical fiction, showing us that real freedom is not just the ability to choose, but the courage to make the right decision.

Roller Girl

Victoria Jamieson

“Roller Girl” is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby, which is perfect for Raina Telgemeier fans.” Nicole has been Astrid’s best friend since she was a baby, and she’s been doing everything together ever since. This graphic novel debut by Victoria Jamieson, a real-life derby girl, has received a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews for its inspirational coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power. From the Trade Paperback edition of this book.

A Night Divided (Scholastic Gold)

Jennifer A. Nielsen

The Scholastic Gold series, which includes best-selling and award-winning books, now includes A Night Divided. Included in the package is a special extra! Gerta’s family is torn apart by the construction of the Berlin Wall. Fritz, Fritz’s mother, and Fritz live on the Soviet-controlled eastern side.

Jefferson’s Sons: A Founding Father’s Secret Children

Jefferson's Sons A Founding Father's Secret Children

Sally Hemings, one of Thomas Jefferson’s slaves, tells the story of Jefferson’s children, including two of his own, in a way that many people have never heard before. One of Jefferson’s “invisible children” is depicted in this poignant novel.

Wolf Hollow

Lauren Wolk

Dutton Children’s Books published Lauren Wolk’s young adult novel Wolf Hollow in 2016. At the end of 1943 in rural western Pennsylvania, Annabelle “learned how to lie and that what I said and what I did mattered” in relation to Betty Glengarry, a bully, and Toby, a mysterious drifter. In 2016, it was recognized as a Newbery Honor book.

One Crazy Summer

Rita Williams-Garcia

Rita Williams-historical Garcia’s fiction novel One Crazy Summer was published in 2010 by Amistad. Summer 1968 in Oakland, California is the setting for the story of Delphine (Vonetta), Vonetta (Fern), and Vonetta (Delphine).

Number the Stars

Lois Lowry

Lois Lowry’s historical novel, Number the Stars, tells the story of a Jewish family fleeing Copenhagen, Denmark, in the midst of World War II. ten-year-old Annemarie Johansen is the protagonist of the story, which takes place in Copenhagen, Denmark, in the year 1943. During the rescue of the Danish Jews, she becomes involved in the events surrounding the evacuation of thousands of Jews to Sweden so that they would not be relocated to concentration camps. Ellen Rosen, Annemarie’s late older sister Lise’s best friend, saved her life by pretending to be the deceased Lise. Her former fiancé Peter, who is based in part on Dane Kim Malthe-Bruun, is still helping the resistance even though Lise was murdered by the Nazi military because of her work with the Danish Resistance. According to the author, God has counted and named all of the stars in Psalm 147:4, which serves as the inspiration for the story’s title. As a result, Ellen Rosen’s necklace features a Star of David, a Jewish symbol.

Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s

Holly Goldberg Sloan

In the vein of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and To Kill a Mockingbird, this heart-wrenching middle grade novel explores what it means to be an outsider, how to deal with grief, and what it means to have a family. Willow Chance, a 12-year-old genius who is fascinated by nature and medical diagnosis, enjoys counting backwards in sevens. In spite of the fact that she has never been able to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, she has managed to maintain a peaceful existence. . . that is, until today. When Willow’s parents are killed in a car crash, she finds herself all by herself in an unfamiliar world. That this book is not a tragedy is its greatest achievement. She’s an odd, but endearing, little girl who perseveres in the face of her grief. It’s a joy and a revelation to read about her journey to find a surrogate family that is both diverse and believable. * “Willow’s story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers’ hearts long after the last page.” – School Library Journal starred review

When You Reach Me

Rebecca Stead

Rebecca Stead’s science fiction and mystery novel When You Reach Me won the Newbery Medal in 2009. Miranda Sinclair is the protagonist of the story, which takes place on the Upper West Side of New York City between 1978 and 1979. When she opens the envelope, she finds a strange note asking her to keep a journal and note where she keeps her spare key. More notes with requests arrive for Miranda during this time in the novel’s storyline. In the novel, Miranda’s mother appears on the game show The $20,000 Pyramid, her best friend Sal stops talking to her, and a laughing man shows up. Independence, redemption, and friendship are some of the novel’s central themes. She also wanted to show how time travel could be used for good. The author hoped to convey to her children a sense of the city she grew up in as a child, as well as the idea that children were more self-reliant back then.

The One and Only Ivan

A. Applegate

A. Applegate and Patricia Castelao collaborated on a children’s book titled The One and Only Ivan. Silverback gorilla Ivan lived in a mall cage and is the subject of this book. Ivan, a gorilla, is the protagonist of the story, and the book is told from his point of view throughout. The Newbery Medal was awarded to it in 2013. Additionally, it has been nominated for several reading lists and has won numerous awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.