5 Best Books Like The Woman In The Window Update 05/2022

Books Like The Woman In The Window

Many readers are looking for more books like The Woman in the Window because it was such a huge success in 2018. Dan Mallory, or A. J. Finn, as he is known by his pseudonym, wrote it.

While the author is not without controversy, the fact that he had previously been outed for lying about having cancers due to his mental health issues, specifically his bipolar II diagnosis, hasn’t. However, he’s had a good reception for his novel, which is being made into a film starring Amy Adams and Gary Oldman.

In addition to being a brilliant thriller, this novel examines agoraphobia, the fear of leaving one’s house. As a result of the fact that his protagonist, Anna Fox, has such a condition, the book reads as unique and original, with a concept that comes to life vividly.

It’s easy for a book that takes place almost entirely in a single character’s home to become tedious, but in Anna’s case, the sense of isolation she feels toward her own house only serves to intensify the story of her helpless witnessing of a violent crime in the home of a neighbor.

There are a variety of genres in the following books, but they all focus on a disorder of some kind, shedding new light on previously unknown illnesses and the ways in which trauma can affect a person’s life.

Books like The Woman in the Window

Eggshells, by Caitriona Lally

Eggshells, by Caitriona Lally

Although Eggshells is a highly specialized novel, the writing is excellent. The story revolves around the plight of a single woman, in this case Vivian, as in books like The Woman in the Window.

Unlike most people, Vivian has no family or friends and lives alone in a house her Aunt bequeathed to her before she passed away. Vivian, like Anna, lives by rituals; she walks the streets of Dublin in search of the real world from which she hails. Vivian is desperate for a friend, so she posts an ad looking for someone to call Penelope.

Even though the plot moves at a glacial pace and there are few explanations, the reader is left wondering whether or not the novel is based on fact.

Although Vivian is never diagnosed with any mental illness, the story does an excellent job of examining the loneliness of someone who is different and the power of friendship to such a person.

Sharp Objects, by Gillian Flynn

In Sharp Objects, depression and self-harm are examined in a devastating and illuminating way. When Camille Preaker is offered a job writing a story in Wind Gap, she is hesitant to accept it.

It’s been years since her mother and sister were close, and she barely has any contact with her volatile half-sister. Camille has been struggling with her demons since she left Wind Gap, and she fears what it will mean for her to return to report on the disappearances of young girls.

Like other thrillers such as The Woman in the Window, this one has plenty of twists and turns, but the glimpse into Camille’s psyche as she struggles with alcoholism and mental health issues is exceptionally well written.

Despite the fact that her self-harm may be upsetting to some readers, it is an interesting addition to the story because it is a topic that many people grapple with but that is rarely explored in literature or on TV.

Have you already finished reading it? More books like Sharp Objects can be found on our recommended reading list!

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman

When Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman came out, it was impossible not to see someone with a copy of the book in their hand on a bus, in a café, or on their nightstand. It’s a heartwarming tale, but it also has its share of heartache.

Throughout her life, Eleanor Oliphant has struggled with her social skills and has no idea when to tell someone how she feels.

Eleanor’s lack of friends and family as a result of this trait means that she spends her nights alone, drinking vodka, and pretending to be fine. When she meets a new friend, she realizes she has a reason to live.

After a long wait, Eleanor’s story is finally revealed. Just like in The Woman in the Window, Eleanor’s story is a devastating one. Eleanor’s idiosyncrasies and difficulties relating to others only serve to enhance your admiration for her. A must-read for anyone who enjoys reading books.

Have you already finished reading it? More books like Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine can be found on our list.

A Line Made by Walking, by Sara Baume

Sara Baume’s A Line Made by Walking is a hauntingly beautiful novel about a young woman’s struggle to overcome depression. It is one of the best novels I’ve ever read. “The art of falling apart,” as described by The Guardian, permeates the novel both literally and symbolically.

An animal corpse is used as a metaphor for decay and rebirth in each chapter’s opening image, which may sound morbid but actually enhances the story’s message. It is three years since the death of her grandmother, and twenty-five-year-old artist Frankie has decided to move back to her grandmother’s bungalow in rural Ireland.

Even if you’re not a fan of plot-heavy novels like The Woman in the Window, this one is still a powerful tale of a woman’s struggle to overcome adversity.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon

Last year, The Guardian voted The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time 19th on its list of the 100 best books of the 21st century.

If you’re looking for an original story about a teenage boy, Christopher, who has behavioral issues that are thought to be Asperger’s (Autism), savant syndrome (Autism), or something else entirely, this novel is a great place to start.

Christopher tells us that his mother died two years ago and that he now lives with his father. Christopher comes home one night to find his neighbor’s dog, Wellington, dead after being stabbed with a garden fork. When he sets out to find out who could have committed such a crime in his neighborhood, he uncovers a mystery that is both unique and impossible to put down.

The protagonist and his unique way of looking at the world may be the reason for the novel’s popularity; it opens up new avenues of understanding for people on the autism spectrum and tells a thought-provoking tale.

Similarly to The Woman in the Window, this film sheds light on a difficult situation through the eyes of someone who is struggling to make sense of it all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.