7 Best Books Like This Is Where It Ends Update 05/2022

Books Like This Is Where It Ends

Since its release in early 2016, Marieke Nijkamp’s novel This Is Where It Ends has been a consistent New York Times bestseller. However, if you enjoyed This Is Where It Ends, what other books would you recommend?

It’s a feature called “Beyond the Bestsellers” that digs into the appeal of a YA book that has been on the New York Times bestseller list for a long time. To help readers discover new books with similar themes and styles, additional book recommendations are provided.

It’s all about books to read if you’re a fan of fantasy.

Marieke Nijkamp’s This Is Where It All Ends

Why You Like This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

The story of This Is Where It Ends is told from many different perspectives, resulting in a multi-layered and multi-perspective narrative. Because there are so many diverse voices represented in this book, readers are likely to find themselves relating to at least one of the various points of view.

The book’s central “feeling” is one of intensity. Multiple points of view aid in the intensity of this fast-paced read. With every twist and turn, danger lurks just around the corner, making the experience even more exciting for readers. And there’s more…

This book tackles the current problem of violence in schools. As a result, Nijkamp uses her storytelling to give voice to those who often feel powerless, whether as a result of a school shooting or their own marginalization in American culture. She does not use her intensity to exploit the topic.

As a result of the book’s length, the intensity of the story is enhanced. Forty-five minutes are all that is needed for this story to unfold. Readers will be challenged and delighted by this story’s unique method of telling, which incorporates a long timeline and multiple points of view.

Try One Of These Books Next

Readers who enjoyed Marieke Nijkamp’sThis Is Where It Endsshould try one of these books next. There’s a good mix of classics and lesser-known works here, as well as some that readers may recognize but haven’t yet read.

Readers who love Nijkamp’s book aren’t just interested in books about school shootings, as there are many excellent YA titles on the subject. The topics covered here are diverse.

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

It was Brown’s book, which came out in 2009, that was the first YA book to directly address school violence. Valerie, the protagonist of the story, is dealing with the guilt and responsibility she feels after her boyfriend orchestrated a school shooting. Nick used Valerie’s “hate list” of people from school as a guide when deciding which people to target.

Readers who enjoyed Nijkamp’s story about a school shooting will enjoy Hate List. This is an immersive experience because of the intensity and the methods used to deal with the various emotions involved.

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds

Many readers who enjoyed Nijkamp’s book will likely find an excellent entry point into Reynolds’s work throughLong Way Down, despite the fact that Reynolds is far from an unknown author.

Long Way Down also deals with gun violence, but readers will appreciate this book even more because of how long it spans. Will, who lives on the seventh floor, takes the elevator down to the street level, where he intends to avenge the death of his brother on the perpetrators.

Similar to Nijkamp’s use of an elevator ride to ratchet up the emotional intensity of the story, Reynolds employs this structure to build tension.

The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed

The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed

Reed’s book examines rape culture through the lens of a group of teen girls who have formed an anti-rape movement. The girls hope to change their school’s misogynistic culture by avenging the rape of a former classmate. Nijkamp fans will enjoy this book because it takes on a contemporary teen issue and is told from multiple points of view. Interested in everything from nerd culture to music, Reed’s three female protagonists represent a diverse cross-section of society in terms of both their cultural upbringing and their sexual orientation. It’s their shared desire to make a difference that brings them together, as well as a larger group.

Teens interested in social change, rape culture, and creating a movement in their own community should read The Nowhere Girls.

Shooter by Walter Dean Myers

Regarding first-person shooter YA novels from back in the day, Myers’s was published in 2005. Because of its age, however, it still has the power and punch to shock and enthrall even today. It has the same intensity as Nijkamp’s because it is told from multiple points of view, but Myers also incorporates police reports, newspaper articles, and entries from a personal journal into the story. The nuanced look at a variety of emotional responses to a shooting makes this even more appealing because emotions are running high.

One of the most important influences on the genre of young adult literature is Myers. Shooter is a great place for newcomers to begin reading his work.

Yaqui Delgado Wants To Kick Your Ass by Meg Medina

Since Piddy is a new student at her school, she has no idea who Yaqui Delgado is. However, she quickly learns that Yaqui despises her and intends to beat her up. Piddy becomes the target of harassment at her new school, despite the fact that she has never initiated anything with anyone there. Instead, she wants to simply enjoy herself.

Medina’s book, like This Is Where It Ends, builds suspense and tension throughout. It will also strike a chord with today’s teens because of the focus on bullying. Fans of Nijkamp should enjoy Medina’s insightful writing on race and culture..

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Lockhart’s We Were Liars, published in 2014, is a young adult novel. The Goodreads Choice Award for Best Young Adult Fiction went to this novel, which has been widely praised. Additionally, it was included in the 2015 ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults list.

Before I Let Go by Marieke Nijkamp

A Best-Seller in The New York Times This Is Where It Ends, the author’s previous New York Times bestseller, returns with a gripping new tale of love, betrayal, and the search for the truth. Friendliest of mates At Lost Creek, Alaska’s snow-covered town square, Corey and Kyra were inseparable

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.