15 Best Books Like Treasure Island Update 05/2022

Books Like Treasure Island

Robinson Crusoe

Robinson Crusoe

Daniel Defoe

On April 25, 1719, Daniel Defoe released Robinson Crusoe, a tale about a British explorer stranded on a remote island. For a long time, readers were led to believe that Robinson Crusoe, the book’s protagonist, was a real person and that the book was an account of his travels across the world.

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Jules Verne

Jules Verne’s classic novel, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas: A World Tour Underwater, was first published in 1870 and is considered a classic work of science fiction and adventure literature.

From March 1869 until June 1870, Pierre-Jules Hetzel’s Magasin d’éducation et de récréation was serializing the work.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass

Under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll, Charles Lutwidge Dodgson penned Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland in 1865. In this story, a little girl named Alice is transported to a fantastic underground fantasy world, where she encounters strange, anthropomorphic animals. The narrative has a long-lasting appeal to both adults and children because of the way it plays with logic. Many people think it’s a great example of what’s known as “literary nonsense.”

The War of the Worlds

G. Wells

Pearson’s Magazine in the United Kingdom and Cosmopolitan in the United States originally serialized H. G. Wells’ science fiction novel The War of the Worlds in 1897. The novel was published in hardcover for the first time in 1898 by the London publisher William Heinemann. An extraterrestrial race is depicted in this story, which was written between 1895 and 1897. In the midst of a Martian invasion, the story is told in the first person perspectives of an unidentified protagonist in Surrey and his younger brother in London. The novel is one of science fiction’s most talked-about works.

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley

Mary Shelley’s novel Frankenstein, or, The Modern Prometheus, relates the narrative of Victor Frankenstein, a young scientist who performs an unconventional scientific experiment and results in the creation of a horrible sapient creature. On 1 January 1818, Shelley’s first edition was published anonymously in London, when she was just 20 years old. In the second edition, published in Paris in 1821, her name was first mentioned.

Jude the Obscure

Jude the Obscure

Thomas Hardy

Jude the Obscure is a novel by Thomas Hardy that was initially serialized in a periodical in December 1894 and published in book form in 1895. This is Hardy’s final novel, and he died before he could finish it. A working-class young man, Jude Fawley, dreams of becoming a college professor. Sue Bridehead, his cousin and love interest, is also a major figure. Class, education, religion, morality, and marriage are only some of the topics addressed in the story.

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde’s Gothic and philosophical novel The Picture of Dorian Gray was initially published in its entirety in Lippincott’s Monthly Magazine in July 1890. The editor of the journal feared that the narrative was too risqué, so he cut about 500 words from it without Wilde’s knowledge.

Jabberwocky

Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll’s “Jabberwocky” is a poem about a creature called “the Jabberwock” being killed. It appeared in his 1871 sequel to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There. Alice’s travels in Looking-Glass Land are 

depicted in the novel.

Paradise Lost

John Milton

John Milton’s epic poem, Paradise Lost, is a blank verse epic poem. There are ten books and nearly 10,000 lines of poem in the original form, which was first published in 1667. In 1674, a second edition was published in twelve volumes with minor alterations. According to commentators, it is one of Milton’s most important works and helped to cement his reputation as a prominent figure in English literature.

Black Beauty

Black Beauty

Anna Sewell

An 1877 novel by English novelist Anna Sewell, Black Beauty is referred to as “Black Beauty” in the book. Composed during her latter years, when she remained housebound as an ill. Although Sewell died just five months after the book’s release, the success of her only novel was enough for her to live long enough to see it published. According to Nielsen BookScan, Black Beauty has sold more than 50 million copies worldwide.

Far from the Madding Crowd

Thomas Hardy

Thomas Hardy’s fourth novel, Far from the Madding Crowd, was his first great literary achievement. First featured in Cornhill Magazine, where it was read by a wide audience, anonymously.

Wessex, a rural area in southwest England, is featured in the novel for the first time.

The Call of the Wild

Jack London

Short story by Jack London set in the Yukon during the 1890s Klondike Gold Rush when strong sled dogs were in high demand, the novel The Call of the Wild was published in 1903. Buck is the main character in the novel. Buck is kidnapped from his Santa Clara Valley, California, ranch and sent to Alaska to work as a sled dog. Being compelled to battle and dominate other canines in such an unforgiving environment makes him increasingly wild. To emerge as a leader in the wild, he ditches the veil of civilisation, relying on primitive instincts and gained experience.

Journey to the Center of the Earth

Journey to the Center of the Earth

Jules Verne

Jules Verne wrote Journey to the Center of the Earth in 1864. The plot revolves around Otto Lidenbrock, a German scientist who claims to have discovered volcanic tubes that lead to the Earth’s core. As the trio descends down the Icelandic volcano Snfellsjökull, they encounter a variety of prehistoric species and natural hazards until eventually resurfacing in southern Italy at the Stromboli volcano, where they had started.

A Study in Scarlet

Arthur Conan Doyle

Arthur Conan Doyle’s novel A Study in Scarlet was published in 1887. First appearance of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, the most famous detective pair in popular fiction. ‘Study in Scarlet,’ a lecture Holmes gave to his friend and chronicler Watson about the nature of his work, is cited as the inspiration for the book’s title. “Our mission is to unravel, isolate, and reveal every inch of the scarlet thread of murder that runs through the colorless skein of life.”

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Jules Verne

Jules Verne’s famous science fiction adventure novel Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas: A World Tour Underwater was first published in 1870.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.