8 Best Books Like Tuesdays With Morrie Update 05/2022

Books Like Tuesdays With Morrie

If you enjoyed Tuesdays with Morrie and want to read more like it, here are some suggestions.

Mitch Albom’s autobiography, Tuesdays with Morrie, chronicles his final fourteen visits to his deceased sociology professor. The lessons that Morrie teaches Albom, and by extension, the book’s readers, have made it a cult classic.

While the story of Morrie’s battle with ACL is heartbreaking, it is also inspiring and offers insights into love, life, and death to those who read it. Tuesdays with Morrie, a memoir, is one of the most popular books of all time, but it’s not the only one with a similar message.

Books like Tuesdays With Morrie

The Five People You Meet in Heaven, by Mitch Albom

The Five People You Meet in Heaven, by Mitch Albom

This is a work of fiction, but because its author is the same as the one who wrote Tuesdays with Morrie, it has a certain resemblance.

Eddie, 83, works at a theme park until one day he dies trying to save a young girl and is ushered into Heaven. Eddie must meet five people he knew while he was still alive, each of whom had a significant impact on his life in some way.

The book’s episodic structure, in which each chapter introduces a new lesson to be learned, reminds me of Tuesdays with Morrie.

Even though the novel is often depressing, the overall tone is upbeat as Eddie learns who really mattered to him and who really mattered to him in The Five People You Meet in Heaven.

Twelve Thousand Days: A Memoir of Loss and Love, by Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

Throughout her memoir, Professor N Dhuibhne recounts the events leading up to and including the marriage she had with her husband Bo.

However, despite their age difference, N Dhuibhne and her husband were able to overcome numerous obstacles and difficulties to remain together, which only makes the memoir more heartbreaking as it becomes clear that Bo is no longer with them.

This book, like Tuesdays with Morrie, deals with one major event in the writer’s life, but it tells their entire story around it. Both books are written beautifully and clearly describe how grief takes hold of one’s self.

Regardless of whether the author intended it this way, it serves as a reminder that nothing in life can be guaranteed from moment to moment.

The Choice, by Edith Eger

What makes The Choice one of my favorite memoirs is its emphasis on the human capacity to choose how they live their lives – in fear, regret or jealousy.

On her first day in Auschwitz at the age of seventeen, Edith Eger learned that both of her parents had been murdered and nearly died. Even after the war is over and Edith is finally free, Auschwitz remains a part of her for the rest of her life, refusing to let her forget.

After becoming educated and starting a family, Edith is able to realize that she must process her trauma and grief from her time in Auschwitz in order to continue living, and the novel is all about her decision to overcome her demons through the pursuit of knowledge and love.

Anecdotes and Edith’s memory of the concentration camp can teach valuable lessons here, as in books like Tuesdays with Morrie. The overall message of The Choice has the power to transform your life, despite the difficulty of some of the passages.

The First Phone Call from Heaven, by Mitch Albom

The First Phone Call from Heaven, by Mitch Albom

Phone calls from the dead begin to arrive in a small town on Lake Michigan in the novel’s title. Many believe the calls are hoaxes, but how does the caller know so much about their targets? Is it possible that these are the same people?

Unable to decide what to believe about the phone calls, a bereaved father sets out to discover the truth. But upsetting people’s beliefs is never simple, and the truth is often more painful than a lie. Albom’s storytelling is just as captivating in The First Phone Call from Heaven as it is in his memoir, Tuesdays with Morrie.

Even though it can leave us open to being taken advantage of if we place our faith in something, it is more important to believe in something than nothing.

Before I Die, by Jenny Downham

Tessa, a sixteen-year-old girl, has known since she was a child that she is dying. Sick of being sick, she jots down a bucket list of things she wants to accomplish before she dies, and sex is at the top of the to-do list.

Tessa puts herself in perilous situations in order to have a normal adolescent experience, despite the fact that she knows she will never become an adult.

As a story about what it means to be alive, Downham does an excellent job of evoking all the anxieties, desires, and randomness that come with being an adolescent girl, as well as the overwhelming and unavoidable sense of death that permeates the story.

Simple and straight-forward, the novel’s narration can be enjoyed by anyone, and like Tuesdays with Morrie, this story portrays that sometimes someone needs to be dying in order for them to realize the importance of living.

When All Is Said, by Anne Griffin

Since Maurice, the protagonist of When All Is Said, is preparing a toast for five significant people in his life in a dark pub one evening, the novel is similar to Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet in Heaven. Bereavement and the lessons we learn from the traumas we experience are the focus of this novel, like Tuesdays with Morrie.

Each of Maurice’s toasts shows the pain he’s endured over the course of his long life. In each monologue, which he gives to his family members, he is both insightful and devastating in equal measure.

It explores the difficulty that men have in expressing their feelings, and the loneliness and regret of Maurice can be felt as the story progresses.

Despite the fact that Maurice is one of the least likeable protagonists I’ve ever encountered, his flaws and mistakes give the book its authenticity, without which there would be no lessons to be learned.

Restless Souls, by Dan Sheehan

Restless Souls, by Dan Sheehan

Comradery and grief are central themes in Restless Souls, just like in Tuesdays with Morrie. While Tom, Karl, and Baz have matured as individuals, they still carry the scars of their childhood trauma. They had to deal with Gabriel’s death as teenagers, and now they have to deal with Tom’s trauma.

Tom’s return from Sarajevo, where he worked as a war correspondent for years, has left him traumatized and grief-stricken. They are unable to help him, so they seek the assistance of a miracle facility in California that claims to be able to rescue their friend from his gloom.

Will they, on the other hand, make it back safely? Tom has been exposed to something that he must come to terms with before he can return to the land of the living in Restless Souls, a hint that something greater is at work, something outside of our common understanding of the world.

This is similar to Morrie’s advice to Albom, which he hopes will help him live a full life free of regrets.

Idaho, by Emily Ruskovich

When Wade and his wife Jenny take their two daughters on a vacation, they don’t anticipate the tragedy that will strike and obliterate their family. Ann, Wade’s second wife, is still trying to get to the bottom of the disaster years later, as Wade’s memory begins to deteriorate.

Lostness permeates Idado’s pages, and the truth is held by someone who isn’t going to make it out of this world, as in novels like Tuesdays with Morrie. Finding closure on a painful memory can be difficult, especially when the truth isn’t always what you expect or where you expect to find it.

Following up on Albom’s Tuesdays with Morrie, Ann seeks healing in a manner similar to Albom’s conversations with Morrie.

They all use anecdotes to teach lessons, like Tuesdays with Morrie, whether they are non-fiction or fiction. If you’re brave enough to accept the hard truths they offer about life and death, and about yourself, they will change you forever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.