5 Best Books Like Twilight For Adults Update 05/2022

Books Like Twilight For Adults

Whereas the majority of my peers were focusing on advancing their professional careers, I had other plans. Since the gallows of Transylvania, vampire stories have both terrified and delighted us. Vampires have evolved from cold, solitary assassins to immortal lovers who are drawn to human relationships.

Through the Twilight Saga, Stephanie Meyer has discovered a new level of ecstasy. When it comes to a long-term relationship, Edward and Bella are the ideal choice. Vampires, by nature, must stalk and kill every now and again. These vicious monsters are frightening, but we can’t get enough of them because they’re so fascinating and mysterious.

A huge sensation, Twilight was named a best-selling children’s book by a panel of distinguished judges. Many more novels, however, remain in the minds of readers today. If you’re looking for something to keep you reading for a while, we’ve got some recommendations.

1. Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

Salem’s Lot is one of Stephen King’s most spine-chilling vampire tales. Using a name that evokes the Salem witch trials brings us back to the 16th century.

Stephen King’s follow-up to the critically acclaimed Carrie novel was this one. Although the author has written a number of spine-tingling tales, Salem’s Lot is his personal favorite.

A fictional community called “Jerusalem’s Lot” serves as the setting for the storyline. His hometown is where Ben Mears returns to write. With fond recollections and long-forgotten faces, he decides to stay in “Salem’s Lot” for the sake of a better future. He has no idea that “Salem’s Lot” is actually the abode of an ancient evil.

There is a thick layer of mystery around the village, and everyone in the town has been murdered in cold-blooded slayings. These crimes are linked to the Boston house’s unfathomable secrets.

The author has a natural gift for narrative telling, as evidenced throughout the book. Creating compelling characters and a captivating storyline are both top priorities for him. When describing the story’s excellent usage of theological themes, King is extremely detailed.

It features a lot of gothic aspects, such as an abandoned home, mythical folk tales, mysterious paranormal activity, and Byronic characters. You can’t help but think about the story after you’ve finished it. In the late 1970s, the novel was transformed into a miniseries for television.

Like the Twilight series, the story opens with its protagonist moving to a long-forgotten city, only to find a fatal surprise therein.

2. Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Dark Lover is a contemporary fiction about a vampire romance. Under the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, author has written several novels. Dark Lover, the new novel from New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward, is every bit as thrilling as the original series of The Vampire Diaries.

This engrossing tale only gets better and better with each passing volume. As a result of the series’ heavy emphasis on mature themes, it is unsuitable for youngsters in elementary school. Vampires’ projections of their corporeal form are terrifying. It is a story about a family whose blood is bonded together. Vampires are mighty creatures, each with a distinct role to play.

Throughout the series, the readers get enamored with each and every one. A constant battle for existence exists between vampires and their pursuers.

Like the Cullens in Twilight, the characters in this book have a strong sense of family. Because of this, Dark Lover is an excellent choice if you’re seeking for a book like the Stephanie Meyer series.

3. Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Many people believe Interview with the Vampire to be a top-notch work of gothic vampire fiction. The book, which was written by American author Anne Rice, was released as her debut in 1976.

When it comes to the supernatural, the author uses a more nuanced approach than just characterizing them as savage nightwalkers.

Irrespective of whether or not it is a work of myth, it is amazing that the desire to become everlasting can be so cruel. In that moment, we, as readers, were moved to compassion for the drab creatures.

The narrative revolves around Louis, a 200-year-old vampire. In his telling, he has a sincere heart, but a deceitful personality. Things were not simple for him before he became a vampire, and they are still not easy now.

Almost how Edward Cullen in the Twilight series felt before turning Bella into the vampire she would become. While the storyline takes its time to build, the story moves at a brisk pace.

Vampires that have had a positive experience being undead have philosophical components. An excessive degree of nudity permeates the book’s sensual appeal. On the basis of the novel, an American gothic film was filmed in 1994. If you enjoyed the novel, you might enjoy the film adaptation as well.

4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

YA vampire romance series Vampire Academy has six volumes in it. The first book, Frostbite, was made into a television series with the same name, which was subsequently followed by Frostbite, Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise, Spirit Bound, and Last Sacrifice.

Richelle Mead, an American novelist, has sold 8 million copies of her series in 35 countries. It ended up being a New York Times bestseller and a tremendous hit with young readers. Cool vampires and a school for their kind were introduced in the novel.

Every student at the Vampire Academy is assigned to one of the school’s several divisions or “houses” based on their individual strengths and weaknesses. After reading Vampire Academy, we won’t be thinking about the characters long after we’ve put the book down.

Vampire royalty is in peril as the plot follows the royal bloodline. It is because of them that St. Vladimir’s Academy has been built. Dhampir Rose, the family’s princess, has made a solemn commitment to safeguard Lissa Dragomir. The novel contains a lot of action scenes, as Rose needs to undergo a lot of training in order to safeguard her family’s heritage. A psychic vision ability she possesses keeps her focused on the school and its environs.

There are always fresh characters and plot twists to discover in every novel. Even after finishing the book, there will still be no way to honor it. As a romantic comedy, it’s clichéd and predictable.

2014 saw a film adaptation of the book’s first section, titled simply “The First Part,” which starred Kristen Stewart. A generic portrayal of the main characters hampered the film’s success.

5. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

By Maggie Stiefvater, the book Shiver has become a New York Times bestseller. The plot of the book revolves around a forbidden love affair that takes place in the shadows of duties. The human-vampire romance trope is revisited in Shiver. Human and werewolf are involved here.

The Wolves of Mercy Falls series begins with Shiver, the first book in a planned quartet. There are two protagonists, Sam and Grace, who are both teenagers. There are werewolves in Sam’s pack. The woods beyond Grace’s house are a great place to see him because of his bright yellow eyes. For as long as she can remember, she’s kept an eye on him. It’s reminiscent of Bella’s relationship with her otherworldly boyfriends in Twilight.

Grace and Sam’s perspectives are woven into the narrative. They have been depicted in an introspective way by the author. The supreme creatures, for example, are terrifying to Grace. But even when her life is on the line, Grace never gives in to her phobia.

Fans of love fiction will find Shiver to be a real comforter in this novel. Despite their differences, Sam and Grace’s love for each other is undeniably strong.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.