9 Best Books Like Verity Update 05/2022

An incredibly popular book on BookTube and Bookstagram, Verity by Colleen Hoover is a romantic psychological thriller. This beloved novel tells the story of a writer who is struggling to make ends meet when an opportunity to work for an esteemed publishing house presents itself. For the sake of Verity Crawford’s remaining books, she has been forced to hire a personal assistant. Jeremy and Verity will be forever changed by Lowen’s discovery of disturbing truths about the author as she sifts through Verity’s handwritten notes.

Those who are familiar with Colleen Hoover’s previous work may have been surprised by how dark and twisted Verity is in comparison to her previous works. And yet Verity’s darkness, its unpredictability, and all the moments that left readers wondering, “What did I just read?” are what make the book so popular with readers.

There is nothing wrong with feeling a little dizzy after reading Verity, because it’s an incredible journey. A good way to get well? Of course, there will be another book! The following are nine books by Colleen Hoover that are similar to Verity, in case you’re suffering from a post-Verity book hangover.

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

If you were a fan of Daphne Du Maurier’s Verity and haven’t yet read Rebecca, what are you doing? Grab a copy of this book and forget about everything else for the time being. Verity bears a strong resemblance to this romantic thriller classic. An unnamed narrator tells the story of a whirlwind romance between a young woman and widower Maxim de Winter in Rebecca. Rebecca is quickly whisked away to Manderley, a stunning estate in Cornwall, after her marriage is consummated. This, however, is not a storybook romance. Maxim’s first wife Rebecca’s ghost can be found lurking around every corner in Manderley.

Confessions by Kanae Minato

Interested in reading more spine-tingling suspense novels? Kanae Minato’s Confessions is one of the many choices available to you, but it is a pleasant surprise. Manami Moriguchi, Yuko Moriguchi’s four-year-old daughter, was found dead on the school grounds where she teaches. In the end, she’s resigning her post. It won’t be until after she finishes her final lecture, however. Before she leaves, she’ll tell a story to her students that will upend everything they thought they knew about her and set in motion her plan of vengeance for herself.

The Ghostwriter by Alessandra Torre

The Ghostwriter by Alessandra Torre is a suspenseful thriller that will keep you guessing until the very end. Helena Ross is the author of over a dozen bestselling romance novels. One more book remains to be written for her, however. In addition, it is not romantic. Finally, a confession in her final book. Helena will reveal a secret she’s kept from everyone in this book. There is no one who can tell you the truth. No one, not even her loved ones or the police, knew she was missing. That’s about to change, however.

Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan

This is yet another page-turner filled with twists and turns and revelations of previously unrevealed information. In 1980, a group of friends investigates an abandoned prison in Long Black Veil. It appears that one of them has vanished from the scene. This all comes back to haunt them 35 years later, when a body is discovered. One of the friends, Judith Carrigan, will have to face her own personal demons in order to uncover the truth about what happened on that fateful night in the past.

Who is Maud Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews

An enigmatic author is hired to work for a woman, and the secrets that she reveals come to light as a result. Florence Darrow has a part-time job in publishing, but her ambitions are loftier than her current position would suggest. Her dream job as Maud Dixon’s assistant comes to fruition, and she can’t wait to get started. Florence sees an opportunity when she meets Maud Dixon and learns her true identity.

A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh

When the past and present collide in the gripping novel A Madness of Sunshine, it can have disastrous results. Golden Cove, a small town on New Zealand’s west coast, serves as the setting for this novel. Each member of this tight-knit community has each other’s backs. When it comes to summer, that is… Trust in the town is shattered when people start disappearing. It’s been eight years since the first woman went missing, and the residents of Golden Cove are once again confronted with secrets from the past.

Untamed Shore by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Silvia Moreno-Untamed Garcia’s Shore, like Verity, tells the tale of a woman who becomes embroiled in the secrets and scandals of another family. Viridiana, a young girl living in Baja California in 1979, is fed up with her mundane existence and longs for a big, romantic Hollywood ending far from home. Viridiana is intrigued by the arrival of three wealthy American tourists, a writer, his wife, and her brother, for the summer, so she accepts a job as the writer’s assistant. So, she’s soon entangled in their drama, and in the danger that lurks just behind them.

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

Dexter meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in My Lovely Wife, a story of an unconventional marriage. It is the unnamed husband who tells the story in the book. Millicent and their two teenage children appear to be living a normal existence. In addition to their high-paying jobs, they live in a nice house. Isn’t it ideal, isn’t it? There’s only one problem. Her and her husband’s favorite pastime is killing young women. No matter how hard you try, you won’t be able to put this page-turner down.

The Eighth Girl by Maxine Mei-Fung Chung

Maxine Mei-Fung Chung’s novel, The Eighth Girl, is a great choice for fans of Verity’s complex female characters. Multi-faceted personality disorder rules Alexa Wu’s rambunctious existence. Ella, Alexa’s friend who works at a posh gentlemen’s club, is drawn into the corrupt owner’s inner circle when she starts her job there. There are many twists and turns in Alexa’s life, and she ends up following Ella into London’s dark underbelly. To find out if her multiple personalities are an asset or a hindrance, Alexa must navigate this strange new world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.