9 Best Books Like Wheel Of Time Update 05/2022

Books Like Wheel Of Time

After reading all of the Wheel of Time stories, you’ve finished the series. Now you’re looking forward to seeing it on television. What Wheel of Time-like books can you read while you wait?

Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time books have a lot to offer. Among the many things that entice readers about this book are its epic nature, its sophisticated world-building and its connections to mythology and religion, as well as its enormous cast of characters. Here are some other epic fantasy novels that you might appreciate for the same reasons as Wheel of Time.

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

After Robert Jordan’s untimely death, Brandon Sanderson finished the Wheel of Time trilogy. You may wish to continue reading Brandon Sanderson’s newest series after finishing theWheel of Timeseries as a result. The Stormlight Archive series begins with The Way of Kings, book one in the epic fantasy epic. Roshar’s terrain is harsh and its inhabitants’ feelings manifest physically. The first novel in this epic series is nearly 1,000 pages long and features a wide variety of characters, weapons, and other exciting elements. For fans of the Wheel of Time, this is a must-read.

The Shadow of what Was Lost by James Islington

“The next Wheel of Time” has been compared to the Licanius trilogy, which begins here. Using a form of magic known as “kan,” the Augurs can read minds, manipulate them, and predict the future. They were ousted and slaughtered twenty years ago. These former Augurs (“The Gifted”) can no longer exist unless they accept the rebellion’s Four Tenets, which severely restrict their abilities. During this first novel, Davian, a Gifted born after the conflict, is only beginning to discover his skills. meanwhile, a young man who has no knowledge of who he is wakes up covered in blood in the jungle. The series came to an end on the 10th of December, 2019 with the release of the last volume.

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

Regency England is a fascinating historical setting for an epic tale of magic. Many English gentlemen regard magic as an art form that should be practiced, but the country’s magical supply is rapidly depleting. Zacharias Wythe, a freed slave and well-known magician, will have to travel to Fairyland’s outer frontiers to investigate. A woman Zacharias can’t believe has magical abilities meets him on his quest. If you’ve ever wanted Wheel of Time was more like Jane Austen, this is the series for you. In March 2019, the second book in the series was released.

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

If you’re looking for an epic fantasy novel with a vast cast of people and a well-developed universe, this one is for you. That’s why you should read this. Berethnets have dominated Inys for the past 1,000 years. In order to keep her throne, Queen Sabran, who has never married, must bear an heir soon. As a lady-in-waiting to Queen Sabran, Ead Duryan is also a member of a secretive magical club. She’s also using forbidden magic to keep the queen safe. Tané, who lives across the dark sea, has been training to be a dragonrider her entire life. Dragons, you will find them.

Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James

It’s possible that Marlon James’s Dark Star Trilogy will become your new favorite book if you enjoy the Wheel of Time’s connections to mythology. Inspired by African history and mythology, Black Leopard, Red Wolf is a visually stunning film. While Marlon James’ debut novel only came out in February, he has already disclosed the titles of the series’ upcoming second and third installments. It’s been three years since Tracker, the hunter, went looking for the enigmatic youngster who vanished in the first book in the series. For the first time in his career, Tracker is part of an organized search for the missing youngster. Leopard, a man-animal that can change his appearance at will, is one of the strangest people Tracker has ever encountered.

The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

When The Poppy Warbegan, it was published in May of 2018. The Dragon Republicfollowed in August of 2019, a little more than a year later. For those who are concerned about the length of the wait for the next book in an epic fantasy series (such as A Song of Ice and Fire), R.F. Kuang’s series should alleviate those concerns. When Rin, a poor orphan, aced the Keju, an empire-wide test to discover the next generation of academies, everyone thought she was a fraud. Rin moves to Nikan and enrolls in Sinegard, Nikan’s most prestigious military academy. She’ll be able to hone her shamanic abilities here, which could be precisely what she needs to save her people from impending war.

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

When author Steven Erikson created his epic fantasy world in the Malazan Book of the Fallen trilogy, he drew inspiration from his training in ethnography and archaeology. The first book in the series is Gardens of the Moon. Empress Laseen leads the Malazan Empire with an iron fist in Erikson’s novel. Once she’s finished wiping out Pale, the Empress has her sights set on Darujhistan, the last of the Genebackian Free Cities. However, “sinister, shadowbound forces” are forming as “the gods themselves prepare to play their hand” beyond this mortal conflict.

Age of Myth by Michael J. Sullivan

TheLegends of the First Empireseries debuts with this volume as its first volume. The Fhrey have been regarded as gods by people in this world for millennia. Until one of the Fhrey is killed by Raithe, who is a human, the power structure between these two races has been eternally altered. There are only three persons who can save humanity from the oncoming rebellion: Raithe, Suri, and Persephone, each of whom must overcome personal sorrow in order to lead her people. There have already been four volumes in this series published, and the fifth and final book will be released in 2020. Sullivan

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed

Among the djenn and ghuls, saints and heretics, Saladin Ahmed’s realm of the Crescent Moon Kingdom trilogy is full with all of these characters.

The sequel to Throne of the Crescent Moon, due published on December 31, 2019, is the first novel in the series. Dr. Adoulla Makshlood, a ghul hunter nearing retirement, is the focus of this novel set in the Middle East during the Caliphate’s golden age. The murder of an old flame’s family forces Adoulla to return to her duties as an investigative reporter. Fans of the Wheel of Time will enjoy this series because of the intriguing group of characters and the numerous allusions to mythology and fairy tales.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.