13 Best Books Like Where The Wild Things Are Update 05/2022

Books Like Where The Wild Things Are

Outside Over There

Outside Over There

Maurice Sendak

On the Outside Maurice Sendak is the author and illustrator of a children’s picture book. The story revolves around a young girl named Ida, who is tasked with locating and rescuing her kidnapped younger sister from goblins. In the Night Kitchen, Where the Wild Things Are, and Outside Over There have all been referred to by Sendak as a kind of trilogy based on psychological development.

The Snowy Day

Ezra Jack Keats

Ezra Jack Keats, an American author and illustrator, created The Snowy Day in 1962 as a children’s picture book. Peter, an African American boy, ventures out into his neighborhood after the first snowfall of the season in this story. The Snowy Day was the first picture book with an African American protagonist to win a major children’s award thanks to the 1963 Caldecott Medal awarded to Keats for his collage artwork.

The Wonderful Things You Will Be

Emily Winfield Martin

Beautiful slipcased edition of the essential New York Times bestseller, ideal for anyone embarking on a new endeavor With this beautiful gift edition of Emily Winfield Martin’s modern classic poem, you can elevate any special occasion. To ensure that this volume will be treasured and revisited frequently, it includes additional sections for personal notes from friends and family. Emily Winfield Martin is a fan of all kinds of personalities and their potential. When it comes to children’s books with beautiful gatefolds, moving illustrations and rhyming text, this is a must-have for parents. When I see you, and you see me, and we both look at each other, and we both look at how far you’ve come and how much I love you, then I will look at you and you will look at me and I will love you, No matter how much you’ve grown up to be.

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie

Laura Numeroff

Laura Numeroff’s children’s book, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, was first published in 1985 and features illustrations by Felicia Bond.

Green Eggs and Ham

Dr. Seuss

In 1960, Dr. Seuss published Green Eggs and Ham, a children’s book that he wrote and illustrated. The book has 8 million copies sold worldwide as of 2019. Since Dr. Seuss on the Loose in 1973, in which Paul Winchell starred as Sam-I-Am and Guy-Am-I, the story has been adapted several times, most recently in an animated series of the same name on Netflix, in which Adam DeVine and Michael Douglas starred as Sam and Guy, respectively.

Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!

Mo Willems

Do not let the piglet drive the bus! is a picture book by Mo Willems for children ages 3 to 7. Willems’ first children’s book, published by Disney-Hyperion in 2003, won the Caldecott Medal. By reading this, you agree to not let the pigeon drive the bus, which is the story’s central point. The pigeon makes a slew of excuses to persuade the audience to let it take the wheel. The 2010 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children’s Video was awarded to an animated version of the book.

Zlateh the Goat and Other Stories

Zlateh the Goat and Other Stories

Isaac Bashevis Singer

Zlateh the Goat and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer is a 1966 collection of short stories by the Polish-American author. Singer and Elizabeth Shub worked together to translate the stories from Singer’s native Yiddish. The book’s illustrations were created by Maurice Sendak. The book was a finalist for the Newbery Medal in 1967, among other honors. There are numerous translations of this book.

Alligators All Around

Maurice Sendak

The first board book edition of Maurice Sendak’s original work, Alligators All Around, can be found in the Nutshell Library, which also includes three other classics. With these larger board books, you’ll be able to share Nutshell Library with even more children and their grown-up readers. The ABCs have never been more fun than with Alligators All Around, a series that features gators from A to Z. There is nothing like the irresistible alphabet fun created by Maurice Sendak’s trademark humor and artwork.

Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present

Charlotte Zolotow

HarperCollins published Charlotte Zolotow and Maurice Sendak’s 1962 picture book, Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present. Sendak’s book received a Caldecott Honor Medal in 1963, one of a total of seven during his career. Among Sendak’s best-known works is Where the Wild Things Are, which won him the Caldecott Medal in 1964. HarperCollins reissued Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present in 1999 as part of a project to reissue 22 Sendak works, including several authored by Zolotow, including Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present.

The Cat in the Hat

Dr. Seuss

Developed for PlayStation 2, Xbox, Microsoft Windows, and Game Boy Advance in 2003, The Cat in the Hat is a 2.5D platformer. Magenta Software developed the PlayStation 2 and Xbox versions. Digital Eclipse worked on both the PC and handheld versions. Vivendi Universal Games published all versions of the game. A year after the game’s release, a film with the same name was released. The GameCube version was supposed to be released, but it never was.

Love You Forever

Love You Forever

Robert Munsch

Robert Munsch’s picture book Love You Forever was published in 1986. It traces the development of a son’s bond with his mother over the course of the novel.

After Munsch and his wife lost two babies, he wrote the book. As a result of their efforts, they have now taken in three children.

A Kiss for Little Bear

Else Holmelund Minarik

A thank you kiss from Grandmother comes as a result of her adoration for Little Bear’s picture. She asks, “Will you take it to him, Hen?” Frog, Cat, and Little Skunk all get a turn at Hen’s kiss before the Hen decides enough is enough and gives the kiss to Little Bear.

The Trumpet of the Swan

B. White

In 1970, E.B. White published The Trumpet of the Swan, a children’s novel. Louis, a trumpeter swan born deaf, learns to play the trumpet in order to impress a beautiful swan named Serena. The story follows Louis as he strives to impress Serena.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.