9 Best Books Like Wild Update 05/2022

Books Like Wild

If you’ve just finished reading Cheryl Strayed’s “Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail,” you’ll be looking for more books like it.

It tells the story of the author’s decision to hike the Pacific Crest Trail after a period of grief following the death of her mother, which led to drug abuse (also known as the PCT). When she starts the trail, Strayed has no prior experience hiking long distances, and the story follows her as she hikes across the United States, interspersed with flashbacks to events in her life before the trail.

In 2014, Reese Witherspoon won an Oscar for her role as Cheryl Strayed in the film adaptation of her memoir, Wild.

Wild by Cheryl Strayed is one of the best books ever written. It’s never too late to start reading one of these ten books!

Books Like Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Becoming Odyssa: Adventures on the Appalachian Trail by Jennifer Pharr Davis

Becoming Odyssa Adventures on the Appalachian Trail by Jennifer Pharr Davis

Becoming Odyssa: Adventures on the Appalachian Trail by Jennifer Pharr Davis chronicles the author’s journey along the Appalachian Trail, another one of the country’s most famous long-distance hiking trails.

Following Davis’ graduation from college, she decides to embark on the trek alone, and in her memoir, she recounts the physical and emotional hardships she faced along the way, as well as the joys she found along the way.

This book is about her experiences while hiking, but she also touches on her religious beliefs from time to time. If you enjoy reading about people’s experiences on long-distance treks, but are looking for more books like Wild, I wouldn’t let this deter you from reading Becoming Odyssa.

Walking the Amazon: 860 Days. One Step at a Time by Ed Stafford

Except for Ed Stafford, no one had previously traversed the Amazon River from north to south. Walking the Amazon: 860 Days is his autobiography. Stafford’s memoir, One Step at a Time, chronicles his historic 860-day journey to become the first person to walk the Amazon River from coast to coast.

A lot is written about the journey, including his relationships with people he met along the way and his interactions with the local indigenous tribes, as well as his physical and mental challenges in undertaking his expedition.

Walking the Amazon is a must-read for anyone who enjoys reading about groundbreaking expeditions and is looking for a book similar to Wild.

Love with a Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche

Anyone looking for another book like Wild who enjoyed reading about the author being thrown into the deep end and learning to adapt to new situations on the road will enjoy Torre DeRoche’s Love With A Chance of Drowning.

After meeting an Argentinian man at a bar, DeRoche decides to join him on his Pacific crossing. This is the story told in her memoir. Her story sheds light on what it’s like to embark on a sailing adventure for the first time, as well as the difficulties of being alone.

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer

He is best known for his account of his attempt to climb Mount Everest in the disastrous 1996 season, Into Thin Air, in addition to the well-known Into the Wild.

During May 1996, eight people died while attempting to climb the world’s tallest mountain, and Krakauer recounts his own experience as well as the factors he believes contributed to the high number of deaths.

In spite of the fact that Krakauer’s account of what happened on Everest differed from that of other survivors, Krakauer’s book provides a fascinating look at what it’s like to scale the world’s tallest peak.

A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson

Bryson, one of the world’s best-known travel writers, chronicles his experience hiking the Appalachian Trail in the book A Walk in The Woods. While Bryson’s tales of his time on the trail are amusing, he also provides a wealth of historical information about the trail and its surroundings.

It’s a great choice for those who are looking for more books like Cheryl Strayed’s Wild, which provides a fascinating look at one of the most famous long-distance hiking trails in the United States.

Walking the Nile by Levison Wood

Walking the Nile by Levison Wood is a must-read for fans of long-distance hiking who enjoyed Wild. Aiming to become the first person to walk the length of the Nile by foot, Wood wrote in his memoir.

His book provides a fascinating look at the physical and psychological strains of embarking on a long-distance hike along a previously unexplored route. Readers will learn about African history, the people he interacts with and the history of the countries he visits through his detailed descriptions of the places he visits and those who have travelled there before him.

UK television series Walking the Nile was also made.

Through Sand and Snow by Charlie Walker

Through Sand and Snow by Charlie Walker

Through Sand and Snow by Charlie Walker, another travel memoir by a British explorer, tells the story of Walker’s journey across Europe, Asia, and Africa by bicycle.

Walker, like Wild, set out on his journey without much of a plan in mind, and the goal was to leave England and lead an unconventional life.

His travels reveal a lot about how he copes with the difficulties of living on the road. In particular, he reveals to his readers how he feels when he spends long periods of time alone.

If you’re a fan of Wild, you’ll definitely want to check out Through Sand and Snow!

Let’s Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship by Gail Caldwell

Gail Caldwell’s Let’s Take the Long Way Home tells the story of her friendship with Caroline Knapp, a fellow author.

Her memoir details the personal hardships that both women had to overcome and how they were able to form a close friendship through long walks in the woods and rowing. They both struggled with personal demons and found solace in the natural world, much like Wild’s protagonist.

Fans of Wild will enjoy this memoir despite its lack of emphasis on the outdoors.

Claiming Ground by Laura Bell

Claiming Ground tells the story of Bell, a native of Kentucky, who moved to rural Wyoming in the 1970s to begin a career as a sheepherder. As a woman in a traditionally male-dominated profession, she goes into great detail about the challenges she faces and how she eventually integrates into the community.

For the second time, Claiming Ground and Wild have a lot in common when it comes to their treatment of adjusting to a new environment and the challenges of being alone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.