in

17 Books Like To Percy Jackson

Books similar to Percy Jackson are ones that have a hero who struggles with an internal or external dilemma, faces their fear and eventually overcomes it. These books may include elements of suspense, mystery, romance, magic and adventure. The protagonist grows as the story progresses. There is usually some sort of transformation for the main character in these types of stories.

This article will list some examples of books with this theme so readers can better understand what they are looking for when they want to read one like Percy Jackson.

17 Books to Read if You Love Percy Jackson

The Wingfeather Saga Series by Andrew Peterson

The Wingfeather Saga Series by Andrew Peterson

Percy Jackson is not the only action-adventure for kids these days. The Wingfeather Saga Series tells the tale of three children, Janner, Kalmar and Leeli Igiby who are thrust into a world of dangers while trying to stay true to their family. The series follows their adventures as they try to escape from their pursuers, the Fangs of Dang who are looking for them because of a secret they hold.

It is filled with dungeons, dragons, treachery and goblins. If you enjoy Percy Jackson then this series is definitely for you.

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain

A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court by Mark Twain

Okay, so it might not be quite the type of adventure our young heroes have but what kid hasn’t wanted to travel back in time? In A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, a young man wakes up after being hit by a train and realizes he has travelled back to the time of King Arthur. The reader follows as he tries to help King Arthur and his knights learn how to modernize and survive against their enemies.

Like Percy Jackson this series is filled with monsters and villains that our heroes must defeat to save the day.

The Lord of the Rings Series by JRR Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings Series by JRR Tolkien

Percy Jackson is not the only series about a boy who learns he’s a demi-god and sets off on a quest to save the world from a great evil. This one dates back even further than Percy, though! In The Lord of the Rings, a young hobbit must leave his home to try and save everyone from the deadly One Ring. He visits elfs, dwarfs and wizards as he tries to find a way to destroy the ring forever without succumbing to its power.

The classic tale is still relevant today with orcs, goblins and all sorts of monsters for our heroes to fight. The books are so popular that they have been made into three movies which are all available at the Carousel Video Store.

The Redwall Series by Brian Jacques

The Redwall Series by Brian Jacques

If you like Percy Jackson but want a series with more fantasy creatures then look no further. The Redwall Series tells the tale of mice who live in their own medieval world filled with other talking animals. There are hares, squirrels and badgers as well as many other creatures that you’d expect to find in the forests.

The Redwall Series follows many different characters through their troubles with evil villains who want to destroy them for no reason! If you are a fan of Percy Jackson, then this is definitely the next series you should try.

The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner

The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner

Percy Jackson and his friends might have to save the world from Kronos but in The Maze Runner, the heroes must save themselves! Thomas wakes up in a strange place with no memories of who he is or how he got there. All he knows is that there are other boys in the Glade and they aren’t allowed to go outside. Working together, they figure out that there is a maze surrounding the area and every day someone gets hurt trying to escape.

Like Percy Jackson, the Maze Runner is full of action and adventure that keeps you wondering what will happen next! The second book in this series just came out so now would be a great time to start reading.

Cirque Du Freak Series by Darren Shan

Cirque Du Freak Series by Darren Shan

This series follows a boy who goes to the circus one night and meets a strange man who lets him in on his secret. He tells Darren that he is really a half-vampire and soon, Darren must make the decision to become one himself.

This series is full of vampires, werewolves and many other monsters you’d expect from a classic fantasy story. If Percy Jackson is not quite your cup of tea then this might be just what you need!

The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

This book is a modern fairy tale about a girl who discovers she’s a changeling and must travel to the magical world of fey to save her friends. There she meets all sorts of creatures, from ogres to elves, that she has to defeat in order to free them from their curse.

The Iron Fey is a great choice if you like Percy Jackson but are looking for something more magical! This series brings to life all of the creatures that make up classic fairy tales and makes them dangerous once again. Give this book a try if you’re interested in fantasy books with romance as well.

Artemis Fowl Series by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl Series by Eoin Colfer

This book follows twelve-year-old criminal mastermind, Artemis, who discovers that fairies exist and he sets out to capture one so he can hold her for ransom. After his first encounter with a fairy, however, things quickly take a turn for the worse.

Artemis Fowl is perfect if you like fantasy books that are full of action and adventure! Although it’s not quite as nostalgic as The Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter, Artemis travels all over the world to find fairies and stop an evil plan before it starts.

A to Z Mysteries by Ron Roy

A to Z Mysteries by Ron Roy

This book is the first in a series about four young children who solve mysteries. Larry is the leader of the group and he always insists that they follow his famous A to Z mysteries rule by only looking for clues related to each letter of the alphabet.

Using this system, they go on many thrilling adventures together as they try to figure out how to stop the famous Cat of the Canary Museum from stealing all of her jewels. These books are great for anyone who would like to read mystery or detective stories!

The Ranger’s Apprentice Series by John Flanagan

The Ranger's Apprentice Series by John Flanagan

This series follows a young boy named Will as he becomes an apprentice to the Rangers of Castle Redmont and soon finds himself learning about courage, loyalty and honor.

The book is set in a medieval society where the Rangers use their special abilities and keep watch over the kingdom and help defend against invaders. If you like Percy Jackson but are looking for something more medieval, then this series is the perfect choice for you!

The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black

This book is the first in a series about three siblings who discover a journal that was written by their great-great-uncle and it tells them all about faeries. Throughout the story, they encounter goblins, trolls and other magical creatures as they try to understand what really happened to their missing mother.

If you like fantasy books that are full of humor and adventure, then this is a great choice for you! This book mixes the classic story of fairies with modern-day regular kids going about their lives which makes it a very interesting read.

Fablehaven Series by Brandon Mull

Fablehaven Series by Brandon Mull

Fablehaven begins with Kendra and Seth getting dropped off at their Grandmother’s house. At first, they think camping out for the summer will be a bore, but they soon find out about this magical preserve of mythical creatures like dragons and manticores. They befriend the satyrs, fairies, and trolls who want to protect it from evil forces.

For fans of Percy Jackson who are looking for another great series with Greek mythology involved in everyday happenings, Fablehaven is definitely a good choice. The creatures might not be demigods or even closely related to the Greek gods, but they still have a magical touch.

In addition, the series is five books long with another coming out later this year, so there’s no waiting for answers to intriguing questions. As of now, each book can be read individually and don’t need to be read in any particular order if you prefer to do it that way – although the first book introduces the most important characters.

Eragon Series by Christopher Paolini

Eragon Series by Christopher Paolini

Eragon, a fifteen year old boy, finds an egg in the mountains on his way home from hunting. He is surprised to find that when he takes it into town, he gets arrested. The egg hatches into a dragon named Saphira who becomes Eragon’s best friend and flying companion throughout the rest of the series. He realizes he is a Dragon Rider and gets drawn into a battle that will determine the fate of his country.

Eragon might not be a demigod, but he does have to fight for what’s right while trying to stay alive. He goes on some exciting adventures while making friends with elves and dwarfs along the way.

Caster Chronicles Series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Caster Chronicles Series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Caster Chronicles begins with Ethan Wate who gets told by his soon-to-be best friend, Lena Duchannes, that he can’t go out in the sun due to her being a caster. Casters are people who have special abilities passed down from their ancestors.

Ethan upsets her when he continues to see her in the sun, but then it’s revealed that she’s not even who she says she is – at least not entirely. So he promises to keep her secret while they look into what it means for both of their lives.

If you like the idea of mortals and immortals living together, then this series might be right up your alley. The characters are well-developed and complex which make them interesting to read about.

The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong

The Darkest Powers Trilogy by Kelley Armstrong

This series kicks off with Chloe Saunders who watches as her mother is taken away by the police. She used to see them too, but now she’s seeing ghosts and other supernatural creatures like werewolves and witches even though she doesn’t believe in them.

She ends up at Lyle House which is a group home for troubled teens, but it’s more like a prison. She makes friends with some of the other residents who are all unusual in their own ways. Then they learn that there might be an evil plan to use them for something terrible.

It isn’t another Greek mythology series, but this story has enough action and adventure to keep even Percy Jackson fans entertained. The characters and their relationships with each other make it an interesting read and the writing is very good.

Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Gregor finds a dying bat when he goes on a field trip. The bat gives him her baby and tells him to take care of it before she dies. After the baby bat, named Boots, starts talking, Gregor learns that there’s an entire world of benevolent and evil creatures living beneath New York City.

He goes through numerous tunnels and finds the Underland where people of all different varieties live together, including spiders that his dad hates. Gregor has to fight rats who want to take over the kingdom with help from his new friends like an amphibian named Twitchtip.

Gregor doesn’t gain any special powers like Percy Jackson, but he has a good sense of justice and a strong heart. He tries to do the right thing in a dangerous situation while also trying to keep his sister safe. It’s an interesting story that is well written with complex characters that have their own personalities.

City of Bones Series by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones Series by Cassandra Clare

A troll breaks into Clary Fray’s house and kidnaps her mother before she gets killed by a demon when she tries to intervene. Clary spends the rest of the book trying to figure out what happened and why she needs to care so much about it.

The last thing she expects is for her mother’s friend, Luke, to tell her that demons and warlocks really do exist and that she’s a part of their world now. Clary soon finds herself with two very different boys who are drawn to her because of her unique abilities.

It’s another book series with mortals and immortals living together, but this one is more about the relationships between the characters than it is about the actual plot – which is what makes it so interesting to read. It will satisfy fans of Percy Jackson because no power comes easy in these books – it takes a lot of hard work and determination.

Conclusion

Reading books similar to Percy Jackson is an interesting way to spend your time. This list includes some of the most popular books in this genre and each one has its own unique spin on an otherwise overused plot line. There’s something for everyone in this list and that’s why it’s a great place to start if you want something new to read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Books Similar To Fifty Shades Of Grey

22 Books Similar To Fifty Shades Of Grey You Should Reading