13 Best Books To Read If You Like Percy Jackson Update 05/2022

Books To Read If You Like Percy Jackson

My son is currently engrossed in a massive series of middle-grade fantasy novels. Finally, after watching him devour Harry Potter time and time again, I made him try a new series… I am talking about Percy Jackson. After reading it, he immediately requested more books in the same genre. The popular series by Rick Riordan isn’t just a fad for him. Seeing how many of Percy’s friends are devouring these books, I’ve compiled a list of books to read if you’re a fan. You’ll be able to find something for your Percy Jackson fan with the help of my child, Jackie’s boys, and our favorite bookshops!

The Lightning Thief: Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan

Isn’t it fun to read the same book in an entirely new way? To date, only the first two books in the Percy Jackson series have been adapted into films.**

He’s a good kid, but Percy Jackson can’t seem to focus on schoolwork or control his temper.

To make matters worse, Percy believes his pre-algebra teacher has turned into a monster and is attempting to kill him.

More….”

Septimus Heap, Book One: Magyk by Angie Sage

Another of my son’s books that I stole in order to read. Septimus Heap is a seventh-generation descendant of a seventh-generation descendant. After he is born, he disappears and his parents are told he has died. His father discovers a baby girl in the snow that night. Magic, adventure, and bravery are all featured in this story, which serves as a foundation for the rest of the series.

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

Fans of Harry Potter will enjoy the magic and wonder in this tale set in a land of fairy tales. The book of fairy tales bequeathed by Alex’s grandmother to him and his brother Connor. They are sucked into the story before they even realize what is happening. They embarked on a perilous journey to retrace their steps and return home.

The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

It appears that Jason has a dilemma.

He woke up on a school bus holding hands with a girl and has no recollection of anything before that. All three of them attend the Wilderness School, a boarding school for “bad kids,” where Piper is his girlfriend and Leo is his best friend. Jason doesn’t know how he ended up here, but he does know that everything is out of whack.

This is a secret that only Piper knows about. It has been three days since her father went missing, and she’s had recurring nightmares about him being kidnapped and killed. While on a school field trip with Jason, Leo, and a group of strange creatures, a freak storm occurs and the group is taken to a place called Camp Half-Blood. What’s going on here, exactly?

The Wizards of Once by Cressida Cowell

How to Train Your Dragon author J.K. Rowling introduces a new series in which the warring worlds of Wizards and Warriors collide in an exhilarating and captivating adventure.

There used to be Wizards and Warriors, each with their own unique set of magical abilities. When it comes to magic, even King of Wizards’ own son has no ability to perform any sort of spellcasting. A magical object that Wish, daughter of Warrior Queen, owns is also banned by the Warrior Queen. In the wildwood, on the trail of a witch, they collide and set off on a journey that could change their lives forever.

Featuring the trademark wit and stunning combination of action, adventure, heart and humor of Cressida Cowell, The Wizards of Once will transport and enchant readers like How to Train Your Dragon did.

A Tale of Magic by Chris Colfer

The first book in a new series set in Chris Colfer’s Land of Stories universe, this #1 New York Timesbestseller is perfect for new and longtime fans alike!

Discovering a book in a hidden section of the library, Brystal Evergreen learns the unthinkable: she is a fairy with the ability to perform magic! Women cannot read or use magic in the oppressive Southern Kingdom, for obvious reasons.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan

By Kwambe Mbalia, Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

Rick Riordan presents Kwame Mbalia’s epic fantasy, a middle-grade American Gods set in a world populated by African American folk heroes and West African deities.

The bus accident that Tristan Strong and his best friend were involved in left Tristan feeling anything but strong. Eddie’s only relic is the journal in which he and his friend penned their stories. In an effort to help Tristan cope with the tragedy, his family has decided to send him to his grandparents’ farm in Alabama for a month.

Aru Shah and the End of Time

Seira Wilson, Amazon’s children’s books editor, handpicked these books for Prime Book Box, a subscription service that encourages a love of reading in children.

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

New York Times best-selling author Tahereh Mafi creates an enthralling new world, inspired by her childhood love of fantasy novels like The Secret Garden and The Chronicles of Narnia.

For Alice Alexis Queensmeadow, twelve, there are only three things that matter: her mother, who she can’t live without; magic and color, which she can’t seem to find; and her father, who has always loved her.

He takes nothing but a ruler with him when he leaves Ferenwood. The time has passed, and Alice is on a mission to track him down. There is no greater love in her heart for adventure than that of her late father. She is about to embark on one in order to track down the other.

But the task of bringing my father back to the family home is not an easy one. In order to find him, she will have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land ofFurthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Getting back to Ferenwood and finding Father will require every ounce of determination and strength Alice has to muster. To find her father, Alice must first discover who she is and hold on to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K Rowling

 

My younger brother had the first four books of this series on his bookshelf before I decided to see what all the hype was about. Before the final book was published, I had already been married and had a child, so I read all four books in a single weekend. Just reading this book isn’t enough to appreciate it. In our household, it’s a slang term. That one book has forever changed the way we think about literature. To be honest, I’m grateful to J.K. Rowling and the Harry Potter series for introducing a whole new generation to the joys of reading. On Peacock or Amazon, you can get it for free or rent it.

Suzanne Collins’ Gregor the Overlander

A laundry grate in his apartment building’s laundry room sends Gregor hurtling into the dark Underworld, where rats, spiders, and cockroaches coexist with humans. Gregor’s arrival in this world is not an accident, as this world is on the verge of war. Gregor has a role to play in the uncertain future of the Underland, according to a prophecy. As soon as he realizes it’s the only way to find out what happened to his father, Gregor is on board. Without much thought, Gregor sets out on a perilous journey that will alter the Underland forever.

Storybound by Marissa Burt

After finding a mysterious book in the school library’s basement, Una Fairchild decides to open the cover and dive right in. Una, on the other hand, finds herself in the land of Story, a land filled with heroes and villains and fairy-tale characters, instead of paging through a regular novel.

The world of Story, however, is not entirely magical. Una has only a limited amount of time to figure out why she has been “Written In,” otherwise, her secret will be revealed. Una embarks on a harrowing journey into the past of Story with the help of her new pal Peter and a talking cat named Sam. In the blink of an eye, she realizes that she’s connected to the world in ways she never imagined—and that she may have to save it.

The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

An immortal can’t be punished. The only way to make him human is to make him human. The god Apollo is exiled from Mount Olympus after he enraged his father Zeus. He arrives in New York City as an ordinary adolescent, weak and confused. In the modern world, the god must learn to live without his godly powers until he can find a way to win back Zeus’s trust. Many deities, monsters, and mortals hate Apollo and would give their lives to see him go forever. The only place Apollo can turn for assistance is Camp Half-Blood, a modern-day demigods’ haven.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

A genius and a millionaire all in one, twelve-year-old Artemis is a mastermind in the world of organized crime.

It isn’t until he kidnaps Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit that Artemis realizes what he’s taken on in the process of kidnapping her.

No, these aren’t the harmless fairies you read about as a child.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.