19 Best Cs Lewis Books Update 05/2022

Cs Lewis Books

There were many different types of books written by British author C.S. Lewis. He is best known for writing the “Chronicles of Narnia” series for kids. Lewis also wrote about science fiction, moral fiction, and theology. His religious works and musings are often looked at as thought experiments in morality, philosophy, and theology. His “Chronicles of Narnia” series has sold more than 100 million copies, making it a classic children’s book.

To figure out which C.S. Lewis books are the most popular, we asked Goodreads users. On Goodreads, more than 125 million people rate, review, and recommend their favorite books to their friends and the rest of the world. The best C.S. Lewis books, according to Goodreads users, are the ones you should read if you’re looking for your first C.S. Lewis book or a new book from the author of your favorite kids’ book.

The 19 best C.S. Lewis books, according to Goodreads members:

‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’

'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe'

People who use Goodreads have given more than 2.5 million reviews to C.S. Lewis’s “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.” It’s a story about a magical, winter world that Lucy and her siblings find in the back of a wardrobe. In Narnia, the children find a noble lion, a White Witch, and the terrible spell that has kept all of Narnia in a dark place.

‘The Magician’s Nephew’

“The Magician’s Nephew,” which came out last, is the prequel to “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.” It tells how Aslan, the lion, made Narnia. In this story, which is set 1,000 years before the first magical tale, we learn about the fantastical elements of Narnia and the importance of different histories. It’s a good read for anyone who loved the first classic novel.

‘The Voyage of the Dawn Treader’

They return to Narnia with their cousin, Eustace, and find out that King Caspian plans to sail on the Dawn Treader in search of the seven Lords who were banished by the previous bad king. Lucy and Edmund are also back in Narnia. “The Chronicles of Narnia” is the third book in the series. The three children board the ship and set sail for a fantastical adventure in this book.

‘The Screwtape Letters’

“The Screwtape Letters” is a 1942 classic religious satire that uses the point of view of devils to show the temptations and sins of humans. It was written by a man named C. S. Lewis. The story is told through 31 letters from a demon named Screwtape. The story is a satirical guide for Screwtape’s nephew as Screwtape tries to get a British man to spend eternity in hell.

‘Prince Caspian’

'Prince Caspian'

It’s the second book in the “Chronicles of Narnia” series. In this book, the Pevensie siblings are brought back to Narnia, where 1300 years have passed in the English year since they last came. The children learn that magic is running out in Narnia, the animals are hiding, and there’s a prince who needs their help very much.

‘Mere Christianity’

Lewis wrote “Mere Christianity,” which is a collection of BBC radio talks he gave between 1941 and 1944. It’s a book about faith. The transcripts were first published in three separate books. They deal with death, Christian ethics, and the Christian idea of God.

‘The Horse and His Boy’

They rule as kings and queens in Narnia, but they are only minor characters in this story. It is set at the end of “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.” Each of the two children and their two talking horses is running away from home when they find out that a prince is planning to attack Archenland. They set out to tell the king about the prince’s plan.

‘The Silver Chair’

Children Eustace Scrubb and Jill Pole are pulled into Narnia in this “Chronicles of Narnia” story. They are there to help the elderly King Caspian X find his son and heir to the throne, who has been lost. Aslan, the lion, gives Jill four signs to help them find the prince.

‘The Last Battle’

'The Last Battle'

The “Chronicles of Narnia” series comes to an end with “The Last Battle,” which is a heartfelt and eagerly awaited finale. An evil ape named Shift has fooled the residents of Narnia with a naive donkey disguised as Aslan the lion, leading them astray. Eustace and Jill are called to Narnia by King Tirian when he learns that Narnia and Aslan are in trouble. They are soon joined by the Pevensie siblings, who help defend Narnia and Aslan.

‘The Great Divorce’

“The Great Divorce” is a story about a bus ride from hell to heaven that is based on the Bible. The narrator is waiting for the bus in a cold, grey, and rainy town. As he listens to other passengers talk, he boards a bus that rises above the rainy clouds into a clear sky.

‘Out of the Silent Planet’

First in a science fiction trilogy, this book tells the story of Dr. Ransom, who is kidnapped and taken to a spacecraft that is going to Mars. Malacandra is better known as Mars. When Dr. Ransom hears his captors talking about giving him up as a sacrifice, he tries to get away. In the process, he learns about this new planet and his own history in space.

‘A Grief Observed’

“A Grief Observed” is a collection of C.S. Lewis’ journal entries that he wrote after the death of his wife in 1960. They are very raw and painful to read. As Lewis lost his wife, he thought about important questions about the role of faith and religion in life and death, and he talked about the human process of grief in a very open way.

‘Till We Have Faces’

'Till We Have Faces'

Cupid is the love interest for Psyche’s sister, Orual, in this mythical version of the story. Orual makes fun of and is suspicious of Psyche’s new love: Cupid. Orual, who wants to get Psyche away from Cupid, goes on a moral journey in this vivid retelling.

‘Surprised by Joy’

“Surprised by Joy” is an account of how C.S. Lewis became a Christian in 1931. Though the book doesn’t go on after that year, it focuses on Lewis’ search for happiness and how that search led him from atheism to Christianity.

‘The Problem of Pain’

If God is all-powerful and good, why does he let people go through pain? In this short philosophical book, C.S. Lewis tries to answer this question. C.S. Lewis says that the fact that there is pain doesn’t mean that God isn’t good in this look at theology, morality, and paradoxes.

‘The Four Loves’

In 1963, “The Four Loves” came out. It’s a collection of radio talks that C.S. Lewis gave about love in 1958. Lewis talks about the four types of human love he talks about: affection, friendship, erotic love, and love of God. He does this by asking thoughtful questions and having thoughtful talks.



This second book in C.S. Lewis’ science fiction trilogy is set on the planet Perelandra, or Venus, where Dr. Ransom must go to stop a dark force from taking over the peaceful planet and killing everyone on it. In this book, which is based on the Bible’s “Adam and Eve” story, Ransom fights against the forces of evil in a paradise land.

‘That Hideous Strength’

The last book in C.S. Lewis’ space trilogy is called “That Hideous Strength.” This book is set on Earth and tells the story of Mark Studdock, who joins a sinister group called N.I.C.E., which wants to control all of humanity. As his wife Jane has more and more weird and scary dreams, Mark tries to figure out what they mean in this sci-fi finale.

‘The Abolition of Man’

What are the values that are taught in school? What are the values that are objective and natural? What if a group of people decide what is moral for all of us? This 1943 philosophical book is broken up into three parts that were once lectures given by C.S. Lewis. Readers are encouraged to question their own beliefs in this book.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.