6 Best Fantasy Books For Tweens Update 05/2022

Fantasy Books For Tweens

There aren’t any good book ideas for your tweens. Is your child a fan of fantasy books, but you don’t know what to get them next. I’d like to help out here.

In the present, I have three tweens, and they helped me make a list of the fantasy book series that they like the most. Each of these series has kept my own kids busy for a long time. In fact, some of these books have even been reread by my kids for fun. I hope your family can use these great books to get through the times when we’re all home more. When we go on another trip, keep these series in mind to bring with you for long plane flights and downtime while we’re on the road.

The Best Fantasy Book Series for Tweens

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell (Book 1)

The Land of Stories The Wishing Spell (Book 1)

by Chris Colfer       

-Reading Age Level:  8 – 12 years

-Common Sense Media Age Rating: Books 1 & 2 (age 8), Books 3, 4, 5 & 6 (Age 10)

Get swept away in this fast-paced adventure that brings together our modern world with the magical world of fairy tales. Follow Alex and Conner as they come face to face with the fairy tale characters they read about as kids, both good and bad. Asked how they made it: Will they be able to return home?

We were shocked by how much we all liked this series. My boys were so excited about the Land of Stories series that they made sure both my husband and I read them right away, because they were “That Good!” They were right. I really liked them! And even my husband, who doesn’t usually read books like this for fun, thought they were great!

I didn’t even think about the Land of Stories series at first because my kids didn’t like fairy tales at all. But their uncle gave it to them as a gift, and I’m glad he did because it was a hit right away. Thanks! That’s why this series might be fun for your kids, even if they haven’t been into fairy tales before.

Chronicles of Narnia – The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe

by C.S. Lewis       

–Reading Age Level:  8 – 12 years

-Common Sense Media Age Rating: Age 8+

This is the story of four siblings who go through a wardrobe door to enter Narnia, a land that is frozen in winter and controlled by the power of the White Witch. Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie are all adventurous. In the end, when almost all hope is gone, a great change comes and a great sacrifice must be made. Aslan, the Great Lion, comes back.

Narnia is one of the best fantasy book series of all time, and it’s great for kids who are tweens. A book series that I used to love as a child is even better now that I have kids of my own. When I read it with them, I love it even more! But if your child hasn’t read this well-known fantasy series yet, now is the perfect time to start. It’s time for them to start their magical journey to Narnia. They know it will be a trip they’ll never forget.

The Last Kids on Earth

by Max Brallier       

-Reading Age Level:  8 – 12 years

-Common Sense Media Age Rating: Age 8+

Meet Jack Sullivan, a 13-year-old who says he’s a late-bloomer and slow-developer who has so far escaped a zombie apocalypse by hiding out in his tree house. Overnight, his life has turned into a video game. This zombie apocalypse isn’t going to stop Jack. He knows how to get through it. He has an idea. His ultimate feats of Apocalyptic success were made up by him, too.

They loved the Last Kids on Earth books right away in our house. A group of young people are taking on a group of zombies in a game. They were in love! Now all three of my boys can’t wait for each and every book to come out. They all want to read them right away. And don’t be afraid of the title, like I was at first. It was scary. This book is written in a way that is easy for kids to understand. It talks about kids learning to get along, coming up with smart solutions, and being brave as they fight all of the zombies.

In case you’re interested, there’s a box set of six books called “The Last Kids on Earth.” Besides, don’t forget about Book #7, which isn’t in a box set yet, and can only be bought in hardback right now. Our family, of course, bought this book the day it came out, and our kids loved it, too!

Spirit Animals: Wild Born (Book 1)

Spirit Animals Wild Born (Book 1)

by Brandon Mull       

-Reading Age Level:  8 – 12 years

-Common Sense Media Age Rating: Age 8

Every time a child turns 18, they must find out if they have a “spirit animal,” a rare connection between humans and animals that gives them great power. Erdas is a world where this happens. A dark force has risen from places that have been forgotten for a long time. It has begun an onslaught that will destroy the world. The fate of Erdas now rests on the shoulders of four young strangers, as well as on you, the person reading this.

Spirit Animals is a book series that my oldest child was very into. Because there are 15 books, he couldn’t wait to read them all. For his own reasons, I haven’t read this series yet. He says they’re fantastic, so I should read them.

Guardians of Ga’hoole: The Capture (Book 1)

by Kathyrn Lasky      

-Reading Age Level: 8 – 12 years 

-Common Sense Media Age Rating: Age 9 for the series

A barn owl named Soren is the star of the GUARDIANS… series. In the first book, the reader learns about him. As a child, Soren was pushed out of his family’s nest by his older brother. He was saved from certain death on the forest floor by agents from a school for orphaned owls called St. Aggie’s, which is not well known. On his way to St. Aggie’s, Soren thinks there is more to the school than what he can see at first glance. It turns out that St. Aggie’s is actually a training camp for young owls, and he and his new friend, Gylfie, learn this from their research. The school’s leader can use this to help her reach her goal of becoming a better owl (cont.)

It’s a great series that my son, who loves nature, especially liked, and this one is even better! Each character in this series is an Owl, and all of them are in the same show The information about them is well-researched and fits in well with the story of this fantastic fantasy world. This is a great fantasy series for tweens that has 16 books. It’s worth a look.

Harry Potter

by J. K. Rowling       

-Reading Age Level:  8 – 12 years  

-Common Sense Media Age Rating: Books 1 &2 (Age 8), Book 3 (age 9), Books 4 & 5 (age 10), Book 6 (age 11), Book 7 (age 12)

His aunt and uncle were mean, and their son Dudley was terrible. Harry Potter was a young boy and lived with them for a long time. When he was born, no one celebrated his birthday for 11 years. His room was a tiny closet under the stairs. As a birthday present, Harry received a letter that said that he could go into the world of magic with him. Great friends, fun flying games, and magic are all around him. If Harry can just make it through the book, though, he will be on his way to a great future.

If you’re a child, you should read the Harry Potter books. It’s a great show about friendship, the value of education, and good vs. bad. Our whole family is in love with this series! So when my kids were just starting to read big chapter books, this was the series that really made them read a lot more quickly than they used to. People haven’t been able to stop reading these books. It’s for this reason that I’m always on the lookout for new great books.

Because there are also beautiful Illustrated Editions of the first four Harry Potter books now, you can read them in a new way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.