“I Like Big Books And I Cannot Lie” Update 05/2022

How wonderful to get sucked into a huge book and live in another person’s world for a little while!

While Harry Potter may be a defining moment, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn has a special place in the hearts of many of us. Finding the perfect large book on the library shelf is an exciting experience. Titles that have provided me with hours of entertainment and relaxation are included here.

The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel

All-consuming journey into the possible history of mankind. Storyteller Jean M. Auel has crafted an epic tale of human survival that transcends both time and space. Characters in the show go through the entire gamut of human emotions. In the light of today, all of this contributes to a sense of complete involvement and credibility. A classic work of literature. More than 400 people

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

King Arthur’s legend is brought to life through the stories of the women who sat in the throne’s shadow, bringing the story to life in a new way. One of the greatest literary achievements of our time, The Mists of Avalon will haunt you for a long time.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Once upon a time, English magicians were awe-inspiring to the rest of the world because of their ability to control the winds, mountains, and woods. However, by the early 1800s, they had lost their magical abilities.

Susanna Clarke’s magisterial novel is sophisticated, witty, and ingeniously convincing, weaving magic into an impeccably detailed vision of historical England. She has created a world that is so enchanting that eight hundred pages leave readers wanting more. 782p

The Midwife by Gay Courter

Date of Publication: April 2, 1985

Set in the early 1900s, this story follows the brave Hannah Blau as she journeys from Russia to the United States. 559p

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy

Pat Conroy tells the story of Tom Wingo and Savannah, his identical twin sister, and the dark and violent past of the family into which they were born in his most brilliant and powerful novel. Two cities are intertwined: NYC and South Carolina.

Pat Conroy captures the vanishing beauty of the South Carolina lowcountry and a bygone way of life in his novels by revealing the lives of his characters in depth and power. Fans of The Great Santini and Lords of Discipline are familiar with his lyric talents, abundance of good humor and compelling storytelling ability. As Pat Conroy matures as a writer in The Prince of Tides, he establishes himself as one of the greats. 567p

The Charm School by Nelson DeMille

Nelson DeMille, a New York Times bestselling author, presents an explosive thriller of international intrigue and high-voltage political tension set in contemporary Russia. A young American tourist picks up an unusual passenger on a dark road deep inside Russia: a former POW from the United States who is on the run and has an incredible secret to reveal to an unknowing world. “The Charm School” is a massive KGB conspiracy that stands ready to strike at the heart of the United States. An Air Force officer, an Embassy liaison, and the head of CIA’s Moscow station are all on the same side in this battle for power. 792p

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

After meeting on the Brittany coast, a blind French girl fleeing the German occupation and a former orphan turned Resistance tracker from Germany wrestle with their respective beliefs. 531p

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

When it comes to 12th century England, The Pillars of the Earth is an enthralling epic that tells a story of the lives of those involved in building one of the world’s greatest Gothic cathedrals—and a battle between good and evil. 973p

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Exceptional story-telling. ‘ Characters you’ll never forget. A wealth of information about the past. These are Diana Gabaldon’s trademarks. An unspecified year in 1945 is used to set this film in the Scottish Highlands. Walking through an ancient circle of standing stones in the British Isles, Claire Randall, a former British combat nurse, meets her husband on their second honeymoon after returning from war. In the year of our Lord, she finds herself a “outlander” in a Scotland torn by war and raiding clans. In 1743, there were 627p.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

The story of a vampire, a witch, and the mysterious manuscript that binds them together is a richly inventive novel.

As a debut author Deborah Harkness has created one of the year’s most engrossing and addictive novels. With the help of vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, Diana finds an equal, and their friendship grows into an intimacy that defies centuries of taboos. Unlike the Twilight series, this story is as contemporary and sensual as Anne Rice’s novels, but with an extra dose of historical realism. 579p

The World According to Garp by John Irving

The World According to Garp is a coming-of-age novel that established John Irving as one of the most imaginative writers of his generation through its combination of humor and compassion. In the blundering level of life where mishap and folly—something close to joyful malice—perpetually intrudes and disrupts, often fatally, his primary themes are friendship, marriage and family. Throughout Irving’s works, “life is always under attack,” “Irving’s popularity is not hard to understand,” said Time magazine. According to the vast majority of people, “his world is the real world.” 688p

I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb

It’s a deeply moving and thoroughly satisfying novel that brings to light humanity’s deepest needs and fears, our loneliness, our desire for love and acceptance, our struggle to live at all costs. No one will be able to put I Know This Much Is True down once they’ve finished reading it because of its joy, mysticism, and exquisite writing. 928p

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

The moment has arrived. When the vampire speaks, we are face to face in a small room with him as he spills out the details of his first two hundred years as a living dead vampire. When he speaks softly and plainly, it takes us back to the night when he passed from this life as the heir—young, romantic, cultured—to a great Louisiana plantation and was inducted by the radiant and sinister Lestat into the other, the “endless” life…

Interview with the Vampire is a testament to a literary imagination of the highest order, with its never-ending stream of spellbinding storytelling about danger and flight, loyalty and treachery. 371p

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.