9 Best Poetry Books Like Milk And Honey Update 05/2022

Poetry Books Like Milk And Honey

If you enjoyed Milk and Honey, a New York Times best-selling collection of poetry, and you’re looking for more works in the same vein, look no further!

Poets such as Rupi Kaur, Lang Leav, and Atticus have made poetry more accessible and relatable to a wider audience. Their poetry takes you on a journey through the emotions distilled from the minutiae of everyday life.

Poets from this new generation are known as “Insta Poets,” and they share their work with a wide audience via social media.

Poets are no longer understood solely by those with a literary background. As a general rule, poetry written by historical figures such as Yeats and Shakespeare could not be comprehended by a typical reader.

List of Books Like Milk And Honey

If you enjoyed Milk and Honey, you’ll want to check out these 13 other poetry collections.

Love Her Wild by Atticus

Love Her Wild by Atticus

A single day has passed since I finished this book. I didn’t even notice that I’d read an entire book in a few hours because I was so engrossed in the story. I couldn’t put this book down for any length of time.

Poems that explore the many facets of love are collected in the book Love Her Wild. A love story begins and ends with the first time two eyes meet. The words of love have been beautifully expressed on the canvas by him.

Pillow Thoughts by Courtney Peppernell

When you can put your feelings into words, it makes life a lot easier. The poems give you a sense of security and comfort because of the way they make you feel at home.

That’s what Peppernell’s best-selling book is all about. If you believe the book’s synopsis, then these short poems can be read whenever you want. Poems about heartbreak, love, and raw emotions are organized into sections in Pillow Thoughts.

First poetry book by Courtney Peppernell, Pillow Thoughts was released in 2016 and became the best-selling book in her category.

Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook

This book is unlike any other poetry book out there. The words you’ll read in this book will move you to tears, but the writing style is something entirely different from what you’ll find in other books.

Alicia Cook’s book is structured like a mixtape. The book’s content is listed in a Track List rather than an Index. Side A and Side B are separated like a 90s mixtape in the book’s structure.

It’s all there on Side A, from life and death to love and reuniting with ex-lovers to moving on from a traumatic experience. It’s all there, and it’s all part of the human experience. Poems that appear on Side A are “remixed” on Side B, giving them a new perspective.

You will feel as if the words have been written just for you or are somehow connected to you. Poems and prose written in an original style provide a powerful yet calming experience for the reader.

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

Poetry has the power to inspire you in a variety of ways. It is able to convey the most complex ideas to its audience in the clearest possible terms.

Amanda, like Rupi Kaur, self-published her book before making an impression on her readers’ minds. Andrews McMeel Publishing later released the book in 2017 as well. The poems are written in a clear and concise manner.

The Princess, The Damsel, The Queen, and The You are the four parts of Amanda’s book. All of the sections tell the stories of women and empower their readers through the power of language.

Born to Love, Cursed to Feel by Samantha King

If you’re looking for a collection of short poems that capture the essence of love, then this is the book for you.

All the emotions that you didn’t know you had and weren’t able to express are explored in this book by Samantha King. She focuses on all aspects of love and the human emotions that accompany it in her work.

In her powerful poems, she expresses all of the emotions she has felt throughout her life, including first love, heartbreak, hope, happiness, loneliness, and the strength to deal with all of them.

Whiskey Words & a Shovel I by r.h. Sin

This poetry collection will help you put words to the emotions you’re experiencing. Your heart and soul will be in sync with the poetry’s words and rhythm.

A Shovel and a Bottle of Whiskey The Whiskey Words Trilogy was released in 2015 with I as the first book. Refreshed and rewritten for today’s audience, this book is sure to inspire and uplift anyone who picks up a copy.

Samantha King, r.h. Sin’s wife, has written about their relationship journey. His poetry is an expression of all the feelings that a person might experience while falling in love or recovering from a failed relationship. In his powerful poems, he refers to’she,’ which is a reference to every girl who gives herself up for someone else out of love for that person.

The Sun And Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur

The Sun And Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur

If you enjoyed Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, you’ll want to read this one as well.

Rupi Kaur’s second collection of poems, The Sun and Her Flowers, was published in 2017. Throughout the book, readers will experience a variety of stages, including wilting and falling before rising and blooming.

Her poems are etched in the hearts of readers due to the simplicity of their illustrations and straightforward language. Her poems will make you feel close to her and provide you with comfort.

You can read the rest of my thoughts on The Sun and Her Flowers by clicking this link.

Even This Page is White by Vivek Shraya

There are certain issues in which poetry can be revolutionary. A collection of poems on racism and other social barriers is now available.

Vivek Shraya’s debut poetry collection, Even This Page is White, is available now. It’s fascinating to read such brave, enlightening, and moving poetry from someone who’s been through so much. Those who have lost their voices in the commotion of modern society are represented in her poem.

Poems by Shraya deal with racial injustice, white privilege, allyship, the politics of queer love, and gender identity through powerful narratives, dialogues, and a wide range of poetic forms.

No Matter The Wreckage by Sarah Kay

Her stunning poem When Love Arrives was the first time I heard of her through a youtube video. When I realized she was a writer, I was eager to learn more about her.

Her debut collection of poems, No Matter Wreckage, broke Sarah out into the poetry world. “Toothbrush to the Bicycle Tire” is a story about an unlikely love affair between a toothbrush and a bicycle tire.

Her unconventional approach to familiar topics entices her readers and creates a powerful collection of poetry.

Final Words

Poem books like Milk and Honey are the best for those who can’t wait for the climax of a story to come to light after reading 500 pages. However, the depth of words found in these literary works is as great a novel’s.

Alicia Cook’s Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately has been added to my To-Be-Read list while I was compiling this list of poetry books. I can’t wait to get my hands on this fantastic book, and I’ll be sure to share my thoughts after finishing it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.