10 Best Sad Books For Teens Update 05/2022

Sad Books For Teens

They’re people we know. Because we love them, Because we can’t get enough of them,

Occasionally, you want to read a book that makes you feel happy, cozy, and hopeful for the world. This book does just that. Buy at times? There is one book that you want to read that completely destroys your emotions but makes you a better person because of it. Trust us when we say that we have the right book for you.

A list of books that have made us cry in public is below. These are some of our favorite books that made us cry. I hope you have fun with your books. And don’t say that we didn’t tell you!

Heart-wrenching YA Books

GUARANTEED TO MAKE YOU UGLY CRY

Just Breathe by Cammie McGovern

Just Breathe by Cammie McGovern

As a Five Feet Apart meets If I Stay kind of book, there is no way you won’t cry at some (or many) points. David and Jamie will start to connect over time, and you’ll want them both to find happiness and healing.

David Scheinman is the president of his senior class, and he has cystic fibrosis.

Jamie Turner is a quiet sophomore who is having a hard time with depression.

The two soon realize that they can be more themselves with each other than they can be with anyone else, and their friendship grows into so much more.

The truth is, neither Jamie nor David can bring themselves to tell the secrets that weigh the most on their hearts. Their time for honesty may be running out!

Early Departures by Justin A. Reynolds

It was written because Justin can’t let his friend leave. You can find out more about Justin’s story here, but don’t forget to bring tissues with you.

What would happen if you could bring your best friend back to life for a short time?

He died, and he’s about to die again. Jamal’s best friend, Q, doesn’t know. This means that he doesn’t know that Jamal tried to help him out. And Jamal blames Q for the accident that killed his parents. That’s why they haven’t been friends for two years now.

But what if Jamal could get a second chance at life? People now have new technology that lets Q live for a few weeks before he dies permanently. To make things even better for Q, his mom isn’t going to tell him about his impending death. It’s not going to be easy for Jamal to fix things if he can’t tell Q the truth.

Who I Was With Her by Nita Tyndall

You wrote a book. I’m reading it. It is very sad. It was her grandma, Nita Tyndall’s grandma, who was killed.

That Maggie Bailey, the captain of the cross-country team at the rival high school and her secret girlfriend for a year, is in love with Corinne Parker. She also knows that she isn’t ready for anyone else to know that she is bisexual.

Maggie then dies, and Corinne quickly learns that the only thing worse than losing Maggie is being heartbroken over a relationship that no one else knows about. Elissa, Maggie’s ex-girlfriend and the only person who can understand how Corinne feels, is the only person she can turn to. This makes things even more complicated.

The last person Corinne should fall for starts making her feel bad about herself. Afterwards, Corinne will have to learn to be honest with the people in her life, starting with herself.

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby

Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All by Laura Ruby

This book is set during World War II and is told by a ghost, so you know you’re in for a rough ride. But this well-told story will make you not just sad, but angry, comforted, and inspired by the strength of women.

When Frankie’s mother died and her father put her and her siblings in an orphanage in Chicago, it was supposed to be only for a short time. It didn’t work out that way. Frankie isn’t ready for the day when he comes to visit for the weekend with a new woman on his arm and out-of-state train tickets in his pocket. Now that Frankie and her sister have been left behind with so many other orphans, they are two young, unwanted women who are doing everything they can to stay alive.

In fact, as the Great Depression fades into the World War II flames, the shadow of injustice and poverty walks the streets in broad daylight. Frankie will have to find something worth holding on to in the ruins of this shattered America, and every minute and every day will be spent wondering if the life that she can build will be enough.

Will say I don’t know. Then I’ll keep an eye on things and wait to find out, but

That’s how ghosts act.

How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow

Keep tissues on hand for this story about a girl who found strength in the midst of her grief.

Those are the things that happen when your mother dies.

It’s the hottest day of the year, but it’s dark outside. Your house, your room, and your heart are dark. You feel like the dark is going to break you apart. “

That’s how Tiger feels. Tiger and her mother have always been against the world. Tiger’s mother dies on a day like any other. Tiger is now alone.

Make friends with the dark this way.

Opposite of Always by Justin A. Reynolds

Because Kate dies, Jack is stuck in a TIMELOOP. We’re sick. In some way, you will still be having fun through all of this? I think this is the funniest and cutest book you’ll ever read.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, they talk about Froot Loops and their favorite movies until the sun comes up. Jack knows he’s in love with Kate. Soon, she meets Jack’s best friends, Jillian and Franny, and they fall in love with Kate just as quickly as Jack did with her.

She died after. They should end their story there.

Then Jack goes back to when he and Kate first met. Kate is there. As always, I’m healthy, happy, and beautiful. Jack isn’t sure if he’s going crazy.

If he can stop Kate from dying, he will. It doesn’t matter if you believe in time travel. Jack, on the other hand, will learn that his actions don’t always have to pay off. One choice can be very bad for someone close to him. He has to figure out how much he’s willing to do for those he loves.

The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

When Cynthia Hand writes books like The Last Time We Say Goodbye, people cry. The How & the Why is no different.

CASSANdra McMurtrey has the best parents any girl could ask for. They’ve given her a life she wouldn’t trade for the world, and she wouldn’t have it any other way. There are some things she doesn’t know about. Like, to find out who she is. She came from. Her adoptive parents can’t answer all of her questions, no matter how much they love her, no matter how old she is or how old she gets.

But 18 years ago, someone wrote Cass a lot of letters. Then, they could be the answer Cass has been looking for all this time.

Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who put her up for adoption are mixed together in this heartfelt story. It’s a great book for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

Three Things I Know Are True by Betty Culley

There are some very serious things in this story, but the touching and beautiful verses will break your heart and put it back together again, so you’ll love this book.

A mistake by Jonah and Clay’s father causes Liv to change her life forever. Jonah accidentally shot himself when he tried to use the gun that Clay’s father owns. There is a good chance that Jonah now needs 24-hour care to stay alive. Liv feels like she’s the only person who can see that her brother is still alive inside his broken body.

Having Liv’s mom sue Clay’s family, there are lines that Liv knows not to cross, and she doesn’t want to cross them. Her friend Clay is also a friend of hers, and she won’t give up on him, either.

This powerful novel-in-verse is a stunning look at tragedy, grief, compassion, and forgiveness, and it’s written in verse.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

This book has broken our hearts into a million little pieces over and over again. You already know that.

In the middle of the night on September 5, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to tell them that they’re going to die that day.

Mateo and Rufus don’t know each other at all. They both want to make a new friend on their End Day, but for different reasons. Apps can help with that. What it’s called is the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are going to meet up and go on one last great adventure together. They’re going to live a lifetime in just one day.

Before I Fall and If I Stay, Adam Silvera’s second book, More Happy Than Not, was called “profound” by the New York Times. They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from the acclaimed author.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All of these things happen in love. The reason we love this one so much is because of so many things.

Theodore Finchi is obsessed with death, and he always thinks of ways to kill himself. If something good comes along, it always stops him.

Until graduation, Violet Markey looks forward to the future. She wants to get away from her small town in Indiana and the pain that comes with losing her sister, but she can’t do that until she gets out of school.

During the meeting between Finch and Violet at school, it’s not clear who saved whom. When Finch and Violet work together to find the “natural wonders” of their state, both of them learn more important things about their state. He can be himself when he has Violet by his side. Finch is a weird, funny guy who lives out loud. He’s not a freak after all. With Finch, Violet can forget to count the days and start living them. It turns out that Violet’s world grows, but Finch’s shrinks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.