14 Best Top Fiction Books For Adults Update 05/2022

Top Fiction Books For Adults

This is what Albert Camus once said: ‘Fiction is a lie through which we tell the truth.’ With these eight words, he said everything you need to know about the power of the book: (which is hardly surprising, given that he won the Nobel Prize in Literature).

Some of the best stories show us how to break in a new pair of shoes in a new city. They also show us how to break our heart and mend it, sometimes in the same chapter. It lets us breathe in a different time, step into fantasy worlds, and even glimpse into dystopian futures that make 2022 seem like a small step back in time.

New books are coming out in 2022, and we’ve also put together a list of the best fiction of 2021, from bestsellers to books that won awards.

But there are some books that never go out of style, and these page-turners should be on your TBR list. So, for even more reading ideas, we also share our list of the best fiction books ever written.

The best new fiction books of 2022

A Time Outside This Time

by Amitava Kumar

A Time Outside This Time

It turns out that the pressures of the outside world follow Satya to a well-known artist retreat. The American president is ranting, the world is being swept by a virus, and the relentless news cycle only makes things worse. Satya starts to get ideas for an Orwellian novel set in the post-truth era, when it is hard to remember how things used to work.

Luster

by Raven Leilani

Raven Leilani is a new author who is both funny and original. Luster is one of the best books of 2021. Her first book, which is both sharp and tender, is a must-read for anyone who wants to understand what it means to be young today. There is nothing anyone can do for Edie. They meet Eric. He is white and middle-aged. He has a wife who has agreed to an open marriage and a black daughter who doesn’t know how to do her hair. Even though life is hard, Edie finds herself falling head-first into Eric’s family.

The Christie Affair

by Nina de Gramont

In 1926, Agatha Christie went away for eleven days. It’s only her husband’s mistress who knows the truth about how she went away.

The world of Agatha Christie is full of glitzy parties and country house weekends. Nan O’Dea’s world is very different. When Nan was a child, she lived in a rough London neighborhood. Then, she moved to Ireland, where her life was full of tragedy. Now, Nan is back in England, and she wants to meet Agatha.

It doesn’t matter how different the two women are. They’ll become the most unlikely of allies in the end. In the eleven days that Agatha goes missing, they will learn a dark secret that only Nan knows about.

The Office of Historical Corrections

by Danielle Evans

Roxane Gay called Danielle Evans the “finest short story writer in the world right now.” Each of the stories in this amazing collection packs a powerful punch. She tells six short stories and the title novella, which is an eye-opening look at race, culture, and history. She emphasizes important moments in her characters’ lives or relationships, which allows for a deeper, more shocking look at race, culture, and history.

Five Tuesdays in Winter

by Lily King

Five Tuesdays in Winter

The author of Euphoria, Lily King, writes about the people and lives in this book of short stories with simplicity and elegance. It’s hard for a bookseller to keep his feelings for his employee inside. A girl loses her innocence when she meets her employer’s son but gains strength in the aftermath, and a nonagenarian is heartbroken when he sees his granddaughter in the hospital. These thoughts on love are not to be missed. They are filled with romance, honesty, and a touch of the fantastic.

Invisible

by Danielle Steel

Antonia Adams was born in the middle of two people who didn’t like each other: a rich businessman and a beautiful model. She was born there. The more she grows up, she tries to hide from the world – to become completely unknown. Antonia’s only way out is to watch movies. She wants to become a screenwriter. During a summer job at a Hollywood studio, Antonia meets a filmmaker. The filmmaker wants to put Antonia in the center of the stage and make her a star. Public love for her even though she doesn’t want it. That’s not what she wants to do, though. She wants to make movies, which is a goal she has to fight for through tragedy and doubt.

Hare House

by Sally Hinchcliffe

During a crisp autumn day, a woman leaves her job at a London girls’ school and heads to London. She starts to look at the land around her cottage on the Hare House estate, walking through the moors and woods. And then she hears stories about witches, strange clay figures, and young men who are scared out of their minds, so she starts to pay attention. Doubts start to rise after Grant and his sister Cass become friends with her. This happens when a snowstorm keeps everyone in their house together.

To Paradise

by Hanya Yanagihara

This new book by the author of A Little Life is amazing. It starts in the 1800s and tells stories of love, family, loss, and utopia over the next three centuries. In 1893, New York is part of the Free States. A gentle young member of a wealthy family falls in love with a charismatic and poor music teacher. People in New York City are getting sick from the AIDS virus in 1993, and a rich older partner has to hide his difficult family history from the young Hawaiian man he is with. Finally, things get even worse in 2093, when a young woman tries to solve the mystery of her husband’s disappearance in a world plagued by totalitarian rule and plague.

This powerful and symphonic vision of America’s past and present is a great example of Hanya Yanagihara’s writing skills. She weaves three stories together with recurring notes and deeper themes.

The best  fiction books of 2021

Confessions of a Forty-Something F##k Up

by Alexandra Potter

Confessions of a Forty-Something F##k Up

Nell hasn’t had a very good life. Nell is feeling a little worn out and lonely, even though all of her friends seem to be living the Instagram dream. But then she starts a secret podcast and forms an unusual friendship with an eighty-something widow named Cricket, and things don’t seem as bad as they used to be any more, so People laughed, shed some tears, and learned that we’re all in this together.

A Marvellous Light

by Freya Marske

Bridgerton fans who want to bring magic into their lives… This book is for them.

This book is set in an alternate Edwardian England, and it’s a comedy of manners, manor houses, and hedge mazes, with a magic-infused murder mystery and a lovely gay romance by Freya Marske, a new author.

Robin Blyth, a young baronet, thought he was taking on a small government job. However, he’s actually been chosen as a parliamentary liaison to a secret magical group. If it weren’t for this administrative mistake, he wouldn’t have found out about the amazing magic that runs through his world.

But he’ll need the help of Edwin Courcey, his rival in the magical world. Together, Robin and Edwin will learn about a plot that could put every magician in the British Isles in danger, so they need to work together.

Flying Angels

by Danielle Steel

Lizzie and Audrey are heartbroken after the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941. It’s hard for both of them to deal with their loss and their roles in the war effort. There, they join a group of people who fly to the front and help wounded soldiers. It’s hard for them to love again when the war is over.

What Strange Paradise

by Omar El Akkad

What Strange Paradise

Some more bodies have been found on the shores. There are too many people on this overcrowded but poorly-equipped and old ship, and it has sunk because of the weight of its too many passengers. These people are all desperate to leave their home countries because they don’t have a good life there. Only nine-year-old Amir, a Syrian refugee, made it through. Vänna, a teenage girl who lives on the island, is a teenager who has grown to hate the place and the people she has come to see as unwelcome. And even though Vänna and Amir don’t know each other and don’t speak the same language, Vänna is going to do everything she can to save him.

The Rose Garden

by Tracy Rees

With her family, Ottilie Finch has just moved from Durham to Hampstead, where they are now living now. As long as the child doesn’t know about the scandal that made them move, he or she will be happy. She doesn’t know, though, that her mother is sick. Mabs, a local girl, is brought in to take care of Mrs. Finch, who was saved from a rough life on the canals. It turns out that Mabs gets caught up in the scandal that engulfed the Finches. She soon faces the most difficult decision she has ever had to make.

For fans of Rachel Hore and Dinah Jefferies, Tracy Rees has written a book that is full of well-thought-out intrigue and secrets.

Circus of Wonders

by Elizabeth Macneal

  1. People in a small town on the coast of southern England call Nell and ask her to pick violets for a living. Nell isn’t like the other people in her town because of the birthmarks on her skin. Her world is her brother and her love for the sea.

But when Jasper Jupiter’s Circus of Wonders comes to town, Nell is taken. Jasper Jupiter will get a leopard girl, but her father has sold her for money. After her fame grows and she makes friends with other performers and Jasper’s brother, she wonders if becoming a part of the show is the best thing that ever happened to her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.