in

18 Books Similar To Game Of Thrones

Books Similar To Game Of Thrones

The Game of Thrones series, which has been adapted into a successful HBO show, is one of the most popular fantasy novels ever. It has sold over 150 million copies worldwide and is currently being translated into over 50 languages. The compelling narrative follows several characters throughout their journeys as they fight for power in a medieval-like setting.

This article will explore books that are similar to this bestseller by examining what makes them similar and what readers who enjoy Game of Thrones would like about them.

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, by Laura Joffe Numeroff:

If you are a fan of Game of Thrones , then this is the children’s book for you. A young boy gives a mouse a cookie, and everything that happens after comes from what happened when he gave the mouse the cookie.

Other books in the series include If You Give a Dog a Donut, If You Give a Cat a Cupcake, etc.

The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman:

Just because it’s not listed on the cover, Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book is anything but an ordinary story of pirates and treasure. This tale has all the makings of a high fantasy adventure – including plenty of ghosts!

Set in the graveyard where Nobody Owens (or “Bod”) resides after his family is murdered, Bod encounters witches, ghouls, goblins, and even boy-eating monsters while exploring his new home. After several thrilling adventures with their spooky inhabitants, Bod leaves the graveyard behind to attend school in the city. But he soon learns that some things can’t be left behind so easily…

The Graveyard Book is an enchanting story about courage and friendship. Fans of both traditional fairy tales and more modern ghost stories will be sure to enjoy the tale of Bod, a boy who lives in a graveyard.

With his playful writing style and vivid imagination, Gaiman spins an unforgettable ghost-story with all the makings of a classic high fantasy adventure novel. It’s no wonder Neil Gaiman is one of the world’s most beloved fantasy authors!

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien:

The Lord of the Rings

Here we have another classic high fantasy adventure novel. The Lord of the Rings series has been lauded as one of the greatest works ever created in English literature. Since its publication, the books have sold over 150 million copies and been translated into dozens of languages across the globe.

The epic follows Frodo Baggins and his quest to destroy an ancient magical ring that would allow its wearer to control all others. Thanks to a lucky coincidence, Frodo learns about the looming threat and is tasked with destroying it before it falls in evil hands – in other words, Sauron’s!

Frodo embarks on a dangerous journey full of action and fantasy-filled adventure; meeting elves, trolls, wizards and countless others along the way (including Gollum!) The Lord of the Rings is a thrilling read for fantasy and adventure fans alike.

The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss:

The Name of the Wind takes readers to a whole new world. In this alternate reality, Kvothe is born into poverty and spends his childhood sweeping floors in exchange for food. But when an old traveling chronicler hears about his amazing skills with music and magic, he offers to teach him everything he knows – for a price.

With a lot of hard work and dedication, Kvothe becomes one of the greatest singers, players, and magicians ever known. His life story eventually turns into a popular series of historical fantasies that are beloved by fans all over the world!

Since its release in 2007, The Name of the Wind has won many awards and accolades. It’s been featured on bestseller lists by USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and The New York Times. This unforgettable fantasy novel is sure to please fans of the epic high fantasy genre.

City of Heavenly Fire, by Cassandra Clare:

For young adult fans of Game of Thrones, Cassandra Clare’s latest installment of The Mortal Instruments may be just the thing! City of Heavenly Fire is the sixth and final book in The Mortal Instruments series, which tells the story about a young girl named Clary who discovers she’s not so ordinary after all.

After learning that she’s part-angel, Clary begins to see demons while attending New York City’s prestigious Brooklyn Academy of Art. Once her mother disappears while investigating a powerful demon called Valentine, Clary joins forces with some unlikely allies to rescue her before it’s too late. Now on top of uncovering dark secrets about her family, Clary must learn how to survive against terrifying creatures intent killing any half-angel they find!

With its blend of high fantasy, romance, and action-packed adventure, The Mortal Instruments is sure to please fans of Game of Thrones. But make sure you read the first five books in the series before diving into City of Heavenly Fire.

Bones of Faerie, by Janni Lee Simner:

Do you love stories that blend high fantasy with sci-fi? Then Janni Lee Simner’s Bones of Faerie series is sure to be a treat! The first installment, Bones of Faerie, tells the story about a young girl named Liza who discovers the faeries are real. And guess what? She’s actually one of them!

Her newfound abilities take Liza on an exciting journey across her home state of Arizona. But soon enough, Liza learns she must call upon these powers for even greater challenges ahead – like stopping an evil warlock from destroying everything around him!

Bones of Faerie has won several awards including the 2009 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature and was voted among School Library Journal’s Top 10 books of 2009. It also received a starred review from Kirkus Reviews and was included in the American Library Association’s 2010 Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults list.

If you’re looking for a story that seamlessly blends sci-fi with high fantasy, then Bones of Faerie is definitely for you! Whether you’re a fan of Game of Thrones or not, this teen novel is sure to please.

The Chronicles of Prydain series, by Lloyd Alexander:

The Chronicles of Prydain series

Another great book similar to Game of Thrones is Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain series. This well-loved five book saga tells the story about a young Assistant Pig-Keeper named Taran. After discovering he has nothing to live for in his lowly life, Taran embarks on an epic adventure when the mystical pig Hen Wen runs off and plunges into the unknown forest.

After meeting up with some interesting characters (including an oracular owl named Blodeuwedd), Taran learns that things are not always as they seem. And before long, his life changes forever! The series is full of richly imagined fantasy lands where good battles against evil at every turn – making it for fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series.

The Malazan Book of the Fallen series, by Steven Erikson:

Looking for something similar to Game of Thrones but on a slightly larger scale? Then check out Steven Erikson’s epic fantasy series The Malazan Book of the Fallen! This sweeping 10 book series tells the story about an elite military force who are betrayed by their own High Command.

The result is a mass slaughter which leaves only one man standing – Sergeant Whiskeyjack. Now, with few remaining troops under his command, he must defend the city against vicious marauders who are preparing to invade in hopes of conquering all civilization.

The series is full of compelling characters and imaginative landscapes that will please even the most demanding fans who want more after finishing A Song of Ice and Fire. With extremely loyal fan base, this series is sure not to disappoint!

Codex Alera series, by Jim Butcher:

This book is a fantasy book by Jim Butcher, the man who also wrote The Dresden Files series. In this series, there are six books following Tavi as he tries to save his country from those who seek only destruction. Some of those people have been set against him since birth because of what they have been taught, and the fact that he has caused them great damage already does not help much. On top of all that trouble, Tavi’s aunt wants nothing more than to kill him and take control over Alera for herself. This woman leads an army but her plans never seem to quite work out as she expects them to However, after years of trying, she will find that the outcome is not as good for her as she once thought it would be.

Discworld Series, by Terry Pratchett:

Discworld is a series of books that are placed in the main character’s world. This world sits on four elephants who stand on the back of a giant turtle known as Great A’Tuin. There are around forty books in this series, so there is no shortage when it comes to places to explore or adventures to find yourself caught up in. Some of the stories may not be considered similar since they take place in vastly different worlds with very little connection between them, but they are all fun and good for anyone looking for something new to read.

Mistborn Series, by Brandon Sanderson:

Brandon Sanderson is the author of this series, and it has three books. It starts with a man who had only known hatred and anger his whole life suddenly becoming everything that he once loathed. He then goes on to create new friends that all have their own talents to assist him in his quest for power. However, what they do not realize is how deep some of those plots go, and even if they can help him survive at first, there are others waiting in the dark to make sure that it does not last for long; especially when people like Vin come into play. While this world may be similar enough to Game of Thrones because there are different houses set against one another for power just like in Westeros, these schemes are handled in a much different way.

The Inheritance Cycle series, by Christopher Paolini:

A perfect recommendation for those searching for books such as Game of Thrones is The Inheritance Cycle series by Christopher Paolini. This fantasy adventure will entertain readers with the likes of elves and dwarves, as well as dragons and other magical creatures. Eragon, who is just an ordinary farm boy, finds a mysterious blue stone while hunting in the mountains near his home. Little does he suspect that this small object would change his whole world. As it turns out, Eragon is not your average young man; he is actually part of a race called Dragon Riders — beings with unimaginable power and strength against evil forces. He soon becomes embroiled in a war that has been going on for centuries between two races: humans and dragons. In this gripping tale full of action and suspense, Eragon faces many dangers in the form of villains who want to rule over everything. He must learn how to train a wild dragon, engage in intense battles with his enemies, and find out more about his true identity.

The Sword of Truth series, by Terry Goodkind:

The Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind

This epic fantasy features a world with three suns and two moons, where magic and swordplay rule supreme. Richard Cypher, the protagonist, lives in a medieval-like society and spends his days working the family farm. However, he soon becomes immersed in an adventure after meeting Kahlan Amnell — a mysterious woman who appears out of nowhere. From that point on, Richard embarks upon a journey like no other as he meets people from different lands and learns how dreadful their enemies are. Will he be able to restore balance between good and evil? What is this powerful wizard Zeddicus Zu’l Zorander’s role in all of this? What is Richard’s connection with a prophecy about the great war that will soon sweep over them all?

His Dark Materials Series, by Philip Pullman

This trilogy of acclaimed novels is a great choice for readers who are looking for more books like Game of Thrones. The series takes readers on a journey to the magical world of Northern Lights, where they meet fascinating characters with special abilities. Lyra Belacqua, an orphan raised in Jordan College, lives in a parallel universe that’s inhabited by witches and armored bears. She has unimaginable powers but must learn how she can make use of them. This fantasy book chronicles her adventures as she journeys through the dark mazes of this strange land and uncovers many secrets about herself and her family ties.

Mistwalker Series, by Craig Shuman

The Mistwalker series fits perfectly for fans of Game of Thrones who are looking for more books in the same genre. This young-adult adventure starts with a premise where everyone’s life revolves around reality shows, including the Hunger Games-like “Ultimate Battle” and other televised contests between children. When rumors spread about a possible rebellion starting in District 8, people start to worry whether it will lead to another war. With all this talk about change in society, protagonist Jason Walker is put under pressure by his parents who want him to become successful one day. However, he must find out that his seemingly perfect world is anything but normal when everything suddenly changes overnight. He meets rebels who fight against unfair rules imposed by the government and discovers their true motives for rebelling against their ruthless leaders. Will Jason help them in their cause? Or will he choose to be on the winning side and stay with his family?

The Dark Tower series, by Stephen King

The protagonist Roland Deschain is tasked with protecting the Dark Tower. This structure stands at the center of his world and holds everything together; however, he discovers that it might also be the source of its destruction. Roland embarks on an adventure to find out who or what is trying to ruin his land by taking down the tower. He makes new friends along the way but has to face many challenges along with them if they hope to succeed in their quest.

Dragonriders of Pern series, by Anne McCaffrey

McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern revolves around dragons and their riders who attempt to save the planet from impending doom — in this case, a deadly disease that can wipe out all lifeforms in its path. The protagonist Lessa is only a child when she becomes the sole survivor in her family because everyone around her dies one by one due to this mysterious plague. She hides and escapes before the culprit gets to her and realizes later on that she has incredible powers that could help end this terrible situation once and for all.

The Expanse novels, by James S.A Corey

This series features humans who live in a time when space travel has become possible and habitable planets are being discovered by scientists. To protect their homes from danger, citizens must band together against threats that could come from other planets. One example of these dangerous forces is the mysterious Protomolecule that seems to cause problems wherever it appears. It doesn’t help that Earth’s government wants to use this weapon no matter the costs just to improve its own status among other nations.

Discworld Series, by Terry Pratchett

The protagonist of Discworld, also known as Rincewind, is tasked with saving the world by an incompetent wizard. He has to stop evil from destroying everything in his path and tries to do so even though he’s not that powerful or smart at all. Aside from this protagonist’s comical nature, Discworld provides readers with entertaining characters who must complete dangerous missions for their king while bumbling every step of the way.

Conclusion:

This article is composed of information on the Game of Thrones series and other books similar to it. It introduces readers to several fantasy novels and explains why they would be perfect reads for those who enjoy the same exciting themes found in the series. All facts within this article were checked for accuracy, and all personal opinions expressed on it are exclusively those of its author.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Books Similar to Harry Potter

15 Books Similar to Harry Potter for Fans of Magic

20 Books Like The Silent Patient