in

15 Books Similar to Harry Potter for Fans of Magic

Books Similar to Harry Potter

If you want to read a book that is similar to the “Harry Potter” series, here is a list of the books that are most similar to the “Harry Potter” series. These are some of the best-selling novels of all time. They cover a wide range of topics and themes. Whatever your interests are, these books are a great place to start your reading journey.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

The Magicians is a series of novels by the celebrated author Lev Grossman. The first book in the series, The Magicians, was released in the U.S. in April of 2007 and became an instant New York Times best seller. It won the 2008 Edgar Award for Best First Novel. Grossman has said he wrote The Magicians as a reaction to his own experience as a college freshman, when he discovered a passion for reading that changed his life. The series follows four young men who are admitted to an elite college in Vermont where they must learn to become “The Magicians” – the school’s name for its most powerful and influential students. The series is set in a mythical place and time called “The Present”, which is loosely based on the real present day United States of America.

The first book in the series is a page-turning tale of seduction, ambition, friendship, and magic.

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

Earthsea is a fantasy world inhabited by talking fish-people called “turtles.” There are also winged dragons, magic, mysticism, and a society where people live to be 900 years old. The main character, Ged, is a young boy who is destined to be a great wizard. His family is poor and he is forced to leave home at a very early age to become an apprentice to a master wizard. He learns much about the world and himself as he grows older. This book is considered to be one of the classics of modern fantasy and is a must read for anyone interested in the genre.

Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Night Circus is a story about a young woman who starts a new job at a magic ‘night circus’. She is assigned to work with a man who is both her mentor and her lover. The novel is told in alternating chapters by the main character, the circus owner and the narrator.

The book is a fascinating exploration of the circus world and the characters within it. The writing is superb, the plot twists keep you riveted and the book is a page-turner from start to finish. It’s a great book to read after dinner or a movie. Highly recommended.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

If you like fantasy, urban legends, time travel, murder, mystery, and magic, you need to read this book. Set in London, it tells the story of Richard Mayhew, an average man who discovers he has the ability to ‘hear’ the voices of the dead. Through his job as an investigator, he uncovers a secret world of ghosts, vampires, and other supernatural beings living in a parallel universe underneath our own.

The first half of the book is a murder mystery as Mayhew investigates the death of a young woman named Claria. The second half of the book is a classic fantasy adventure as Mayhew and his crew travel back and forth through time to stop a vampire from committing a past atrocity.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

This book is a work of fiction but it reads like a history book. It follows the life of the eccentric Mr. Jonathan Strange who is obsessed with alchemy and the works of the 18th century English writer, Mr. Susanna Clarke who is equally obsessed with fairies, magic, and the occult.

Strange sets out to prove that the Earl of Norrell (Clarke’s alter ego) is insane after he attempts to murder his family. In the process, Strange uncovers a secret that could change the course of history. The book is a satire on the Victorian era and how people were obsessed with ‘occult’ topics back then.

Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness has written a number of novels including the Lola and Artemis Fowl series and the Bletchley Circle series. Her latest novel, Discovery of Witches is the first in a planned trilogy about witches.

This book is set in seventeenth century England and tells the story of Diana Bishop who is forced to flee her home after being accused of witchcraft. After arriving in London, she meets Matthew Hopkins, the most famous witch hunter in England. Together they discover that the real reason why Diana was accused of witchcraft is because she is a witch.

The novel is told through alternating viewpoints between Diana and Matthew. It is an exciting tale of intrigue, passion and magic. One of the best books I’ve read this year.

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire

This is the first book in the Wicked Cycle, written by Gregory Maguire. It is the story of the Wicked Witch of the West, also known as Glinda the Good, the beautiful, but cruel ruler of the Emerald City. She is the foil to the heroic, yet flawed Dorothy of the Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

Maguire masterfully weaves the original 1939 film into the narrative. This is a must-read for anyone who has an interest in literature, fantasy or film. It is also a very useful tool for writers. By immersing himself in the world of the novel, Maguire was able to glean useful nuggets of information that he later used to enhance his own writing.

A History of Witches by Louisa Morgan

Many people think witches and witchcraft are just a part of history that has been forgotten. This book explodes that myth. In clear and concise language, Morgan explores the origins of witchcraft, the many different types, and how they are portrayed in popular culture.

Morgan begins with the witch hunts in Europe, the spread of Christianity, and the burning of heretics. She then traces the evolution of witchcraft through the Middle Ages and into the modern era. The book ends with a discussion of modern-day Wiccans, Neo-Pagans and other modern-day practitioners of the craft.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

In Caraval, the last female Cabalista (high priestess) has been overthrown and the 5 remaining priests are about to choose a new leader. But they can’t do it by voting because the rules of the game have changed. Now, the players must randomly draw playing cards with a set of special rules written on them. The object is to be the first player to get a certain combination of cards.

This unique game is based on the premise that every human being has a hidden ‘talent card’ inside them. These are the things they are best at doing, whether it’s building models, telling jokes, playing music, or solving math problems.

Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #1) by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone is a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must make a terrible choice. Set in a land where magic is real, Alina Starkov is the crown princess of a land known as Ravka. Her country is Ravka, a land torn apart by civil war. Alina’s father is the president of Ravka and her mother is the sister of the leader of the rebel forces.

Alina is a talented young woman with a passion for literature and learning. She is also a natural born leader with a fierce intelligence. When she discovers a hidden library of forbidden books, she reads them all. These books are said to have been written by the original 13 Colonists who founded the United States.

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

If you like ‘magical realism’, you’ll love this book. The Paper Magician is a delightful story about a boy who discovers a secret way to become the best magician in the world. The narrative is told through the eyes of young Marcus, who lives in the city of Vidar with his paper-eating father. When Marcus discovers a secret passageway under the house, he enters a magical world of his own making.

He befriends the spirit of a Viking warlord, and together they battle a fire-breathing dragon. The dragon is eventually slain but not before it has consumed the magical creatures that keep Vidar safe. In the aftermath, Marcus and the Viking spirit discover that they are both out of a job.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

When it comes to fantasy, The Golden Compass is the quintessential example of what is possible. Published in 1995, Pullman’s Northern Lights are coming alive once again. In this case though, Pullman has written a trilogy (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass) that can be read in any order. It is the most widely-read trilogy in history.

Pullman is best known for his His Dark Materials trilogy which consists of The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass. These books are set in a parallel universe that is similar to our own but with some key differences. For example, Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy do not exist.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

The first book in the Percy Jackson series is a page-turner from the very beginning. The story begins when 12-year-old Percy discovers he is the son of the Greek god Poseidon. Percy is sent to Camp Half-Blood, where he befriends Annabeth and they embark on a quest to retrieve a stolen lightning bolt.

The rest of the series is even better! In the second book, Percy and his friends venture to the Underworld to rescue Zeus’s kidnapped children. In the third book, Percy and his friends go to the mortal world to stop the giants from destroying it. And so on… The Lightning Thief is a wonderful series for readers of all ages. It’s easy to read and the characters are easy to love.

The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

The Alchemyst by Michael Scott

The Alchemist is about an alchemist who is cursed with the inability to die. When the curse is finally removed, he sets out to discover how all living things on earth are connected to an invisible web of life force that courses through all of them. Along the way, he teams up with a beautiful woman, a street urchin, a genie, a dragon, a vampire, a warlord, a Mafia boss, and an ancient Egyptian pharaoh. It’s an entertaining, rollicking good read.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Published in 2007, City of Bones is the first book in the Mortal Instruments series. Set in modern day New York City, this urban fantasy follows Clary Fray who discovers she has the power to see the future. When her mother disappears, Clary goes to live with her father who is the world-famous art dealer, Jonathan Fray. Her father has a new girlfriend, the beautiful and self-absorbed Marisa Silver.

Marisa is a member of an ancient and powerful Shadowhunters clan and has the power to control demons. She is also a vampire and an expert at seducing people into becoming addicted to her blood.

Conclusion

We have identified some of the books that are similar to Harry Potter. These are the books that we think that you should read if you are a fan of the Harry Potter books. We hope that after reading these books, you will understand the value of the Harry Potter series and you will definitely want to read all of the other books in the series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Books Similar To Ready Player One

20 Books Similar To Ready Player One

Books Similar To Game Of Thrones

18 Books Similar To Game Of Thrones