in

Books Similar To Name Of The Wind

Books Similar To Name Of The Wind

Many people are turned off by fantasy fiction because they find it difficult to relate to the characters or settings. Others don’t like the idea of being immersed in a world they cannot relate to. However, if you really understand and embrace what it is like to be a fantasy or sci-fi character, you will be able to create worlds and stories that are believable and engaging. In this article, I’m going to share some books which I think are similar in style and content to Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

Spinning Silver, by Naomi Novik:

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Would you have been able to keep your wits about you if everything suddenly turned upside-down? In this novel, the main character Miryem’s father is a lowly moneylender until he receives a mysterious gem from a wood-spirit. He uses the gem as collateral for a large loan, but when his debtors default, his daughter is forced to take over the family debt. In a foreign kingdom, Miryem manages to make money from nothing and takes it upon herself to pay back the loan with interest.

The slow but steady stream of money brings new possibilities into her family’s life, but there is a catch: for every three coins she spins in one direction, four coins spin back to her in the other direction. As people begin to say that she is the luckiest person alive, Miryem must decide whether to keep accepting money from well-wishers or hold fast to her principles and return everything.

I enjoyed this novel because of how it made me question what I would do if I were in the main character’s situation. The author uses wonderful descriptions of people and places to take the reader into another world, making them part of the drama that unfolds.

The Slow Regard of Silent Things, by Patrick Rothfuss

Would you rather have your best friend and spend the afternoon with them, or go to a party and meet dozens of new people? This novel is about how Auri spends an afternoon in one of the many abandoned sections of the university where she lives. The reader must piece together who Auri is by reading between the lines, as we learn very little about her past. This novel is much denser than the other books in Patrick Rothfuss’s fantasy series, and it is told from Auri’s perspective.

I recommend this book to people who like to experience something short but meaningful that leaves them with questions. I read it because I wanted to know what happens next in this particular part of The Kingkiller Chronicle.

The Wise Man’s Fear , by Patrick Rothfuss

The Wise Man’s Fear takes place in the same world as The Name of the Wind and it is an epic fantasy. There are two primary stories: one that explores what happens to Kvothe, a young man who has grown up in exile after his family was murdered when he was a child. He learns much about the human condition while studying at a University and later while surviving on his own. The other story is that of the legendary warrior-wizard Kvothe, who learns how to survive after being rescued from some bandits by a group of traveling performers.

Would you be able to trust someone who said they would protect you? In this novel, Kvothe falls in love with a woman who is said to be the most beautiful in all of The Four Corners of Civilization. He becomes caught up in his feelings when he does not have enough money to stay at the University, so he takes a dangerous job from a mysterious group in order to get it.

I recommend this book to people who like stories that explore the human condition. It is an epic tale which includes many stories within it, and I think readers will enjoy following Kvothe’s journey to find his true self.

A Game of Thrones, by George R.R Martin

Game of Thrones

This is a “fantasy of manners” novel, which means that it takes place in an aristocratic society with political intrigue. The protagonist Daenerys Targaryen must decide how she wants to rule her new city upon returning from war. She asks for advice on how to rule her kingdom, but the only answer she receives is “what is right and what is wrong.” While Daenerys struggles to rule her city, her enemies plot against her.

I recommend this book because the characters are complex and I enjoyed following along as they try to navigate their world’s rules of etiquette. This novel has many storylines that all come together by the end, similar to Name Of The Wind.

The Blade Itself, by Joe Abercrombie

The Blade Itself is an epic fantasy which explores the idea of morality. Rather than focusing on one protagonist, there are three main characters. Each has their own side missions which eventually become intertwined with each other. The reader sees how low these people will go in order to get what they want, and Abercrombie leaves it up to the reader to decide if their decisions are moral or not.

I recommend this book to people who like epic tales that focus on many characters instead of just one person’s storyline. It has twists and turns, which makes it hard to put down once you start reading it.

Before They Are Hanged, by Joe Abercrombie

Before They Are Hanged

This is the second novel in Joe Abercrombie’s The First Law trilogy. It continues where the first novel left off, and it is an epic fantasy that explores the ideas of morality and politics. This series of novels takes place in a world where evil has already won. This makes it hard for readers to know who they should root for.

I recommend this book to people who like epic fiction because it is the second in a trilogy that follows multiple characters’ storylines, similar to The Wise Man’s Fear. I believe readers will enjoy watching how each individual character’s story intertwines with the other characters’.

The Crown Tower , by Michael J Sullivan

The protagonist, Hadrian, is a warrior that has spent his life training for one purpose: to protect the king he hates. He leaves the castle to do just that, but then something goes wrong and he ends up meeting an unlikely ally in Chris Haden, who is

The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch:

The Lies of Locke Lamora is an epic fantasy novel that has everything you could possibly want in one: action, intrigue, mystery, and suspense. The story follows the path of a young orphan named Locke Lamora through his life as he tries to figure out who he really is. He wakes up on an island full of people who are neglected by their government, called Shades’ Hill. During the day they act like law-abiding citizens, but at night they become thieves known as “Thieves Guild.” This is where young Locke starts his path to becoming a legend in the city of Camorr.

“This book had it all! It was intriguing from page one and I finished it in two sittings!” was said by Sophia, a sophomore, about The Lies of Locke Lamora . Locke is one of the greatest thieves in the world and he has a plan. He’s going to rob from the rich nobles who steal from everyone else and give their wealth back to the people. With his friend Jean, they go on an adventure full of swashbuckling battles, masterful plans, and wondrous magic that will keep you at the edge of your seat until the end!

The Darkness That Comes Before by R. Scott Bakker

The Darkness That Comes Before is book one of a series called The Prince of Nothing . This fantasy novel revolves around the Holy War that devastates the continent. The story follows Anasurimbor Kellhus, who sets out on a journey to discover his purpose and identity. He seeks knowledge and truth everywhere he goes and meets many obstacles along the way. These challenges make him stronger and wiser; but will this be enough for him to save the world from ruin?

The Darkness That Comes Before is a philosophical text filled with action, wisdom and insight. R. Scott Bakker has a vast array of knowledge on history, mythology, sociology and philosophy. This novel provides an intriguing balance between dialogue and description; the balance helps to maintain the pace of the story while allowing readers to put themselves in Kellhus’s shoes. As such, this fantasy book explains many concepts such as politics and religion without making it too confusing for new readers.

Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman:

Neverwhere is a fantasy novel that takes place in London, yet another world exists beneath the city. This fantasy book follows Richard Mayhew after he stumbles across an injured young woman and decides to help her. The girl, Door, turns out to be from this other world and it’s up to Richard and his companion, Hunter, to protect her while she tries to find information about who killed her family.

Through extensive research on London history and folklore, Neil Gaiman manages to blend many concepts together such as modern culture with ancient mythology. He also draws upon real-world legends such as the Black Friars and adds new ideas which add depth and originality to the story; all resulting in a commendable page turner . The characters in this fantasy book all have their own unique personalities and motivations, making them both realistic and relatable.

This fantasy book is full of adventure and suspense with a dash of horror in it; so if you’re looking for something similar to the Name Of The Wind or Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins, Neverwhere will definitely suit your tastes.

The Colour of Magic, by Terry Pratchett:

This is the first book in a comedic fantasy series called The Discworld . The world that Terry Pratchett creates isn’t just exactly like the real-world, it’s an exaggeration of it. This means that human civilization and culture has developed in a very different manner from our planet. In short, this fantasy novel contains many things every man’s dreamed of having – magic, dragons, good looking heros and beautiful ladies.

The Colour of Magic follows Rincewind as he tries to escape his fate after being chosen by the Octavo. He is joined by Twoflower; a naive tourist from the Agatean Empire on a quest to find the mythical city of Tanharrow. Rincewind’s adventure takes them to many different places where they meet many interesting people and encounter some dangerous obstacles.

This is a comedy-fantasy novel that has plenty of witty humor; it might not be as philosophical or epic as The Darkness That Comes Before, but this book is an amusing read if you’re looking for something less serious.

Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb:

The Farseer Trilogy is a fantasy series that’s filled with action and adventure. This trilogy follows the life of FitzChivalry; a member of the royal family that can communicate with animals and even control them to some extent. Fitz isn’t like other children his age – he has extraordinary abilities such as these which make him an outcast in society . His position becomes more precarious when he discovers his father is planning to kill the king; resulting in him getting caught up in a conspiracy against his own family.

This book contains many concepts such as shape-shifters, different magical talents and ancient familiars. Robin Hobb uses her knowledge of nature and wildlsife to create this vast world while using imagery to describe it; resulting in a very immersive and beautiful experience for readers . The characterization of the protagonist is done well; we get to see FitzChivalry grow into an independent but compassionate young man.

This fantasy book has plenty of twists and turns which make it such a pleasurable read; I recommend this fantasy book if you’re looking for something similar to Name Of the Wind or The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Conclusion:

These books above are similar to name of the wind for anyone who likes a good book with action and adventure .

I hope you all have a good day.  Please leave me feedback on what i should write next! if you liked it, please share my blog to others. thank you for taking the time to read this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Books like Divergent You Will Absolutely Love

Books Similar To Outlander

20 Books Similar To Outlander You Should Reading