10 Best Trilogy Books Update 05/2022

Best Trilogy Books

Whether you want to read more books this year or not, I think I’ve found a way to do it. Some of the books I’m planning to read this year are trilogies. I’ve also got a few longer series I’ve been wanting to start, finish, or re-read. I think I can make it through at least one of them before the new year comes around again.

In this post, I’m going to talk about the best book series. I think they’re the best way to deal with a lot of common book nerd problems. Suppose you’ve just finished reading an amazing book and don’t want to read anything else because you can’t get your mind off of it. If we had a good TBR, some of us have even bounced from one book hangover to another.

It’s easier to avoid the pain of a book hangover when you read a series that you enjoy. There’s already another book out there for you. After you finish that one, there’s another. It’s possible that after that, you’ll have a book hangover, or you’ll be so in love with the author that you’ll read everything she’s written. At the very least, you’ve put off the inevitable. Isn’t that what we all do?

The Broken Earth Trilogy by N.K. Jemisin

The Broken Earth Trilogy by N.K. Jemisin

There are long periods of fire, ashes, and death in the Stillness every few hundred years or so. These people, known as orogenes, can control the seismic activity that leads to the Seasons, but their powers are so terrifying and misunderstood that ignorant villages drown them when they are still babies. People who make it through the Fulcrum are trained there and put to work for the government.

Because they are orogenes, Essun and her husband killed their young son and took their daughter. It gets worse as the Season goes on. Essun heads out in search of her husband, ready to avenge her child.

‘Area X’ by Jeff VanderMeer

Because each book in Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach Trilogy is so different from the last, it’s not like any of the other trilogies on this list. The Area X omnibus has all three books together.

A team of four unnamed women, only known by their professions, are sent into Area X to look into it. They aren’t the first group to go to Area X, but many of them have connections to previous efforts to figure out what’s going on there. All of them know that no one comes back from Area X the same.

‘Lilith’s Brood’ by Octavia E. Butler

Dawn, Adulthood Rites, and Imago are all in one book called Liliths Brood by the late author Octavia E. Butler. It used to be called Xenogenesis.

Nuclear war between the United States and Soviet Union leaves a small group of humans on a dying planet. The Oankali, a three-sex race from another planet, rescue them from their dying home world. Oankali awaken Lilith, one of the humans, years later and say they want to trade her for something: the Oankali want Lilith to be their slave. Aliens want to breed with humans in exchange for teaching humans how to live on their newly restored planet without using any technology. They want to grow their race’s DNA and make a hybrid between humans and the aliens.

The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood

The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood

A science fiction book was nominated for the Man Booker Prize. like Margaret Atwood’s other work, the Maddaddam Trilogy tries to change the rules about genre and literature in different ways.

There are no humans in the first book, called Oryx and Crake. Instead, the world is filled with artificial creatures. When a rare human named Snowman comes back to the corporate compound where he used to work, he remembers the chain of events that led to the world being in this state. This story involves him, an online friend called Crake, and a child pornography victim named Oryx.

The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King

The Bill Hodges Trilogy moves away from the simple horror that is Stephen King’s favorite thing to write about. Instead, it focuses on a mass-murderer named Brady Hartsfield and tries to figure out why he did what he did.

During the Great Recession in 2009, a group of unemployed adults wait in line outside a job fair that was taking place. There were many people killed, but Brady was able to get away without being caught. Brady sends a letter to Bill Hodges, a retired police detective. He calls himself “Mr. Mercedes,” and he wants to drive him to suicide. Hodges, with the help of a group of amateurs, starts his own investigation into the Mercedes killings.

‘The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’ by Douglas Adams

So, even though there are five books in the series, I still think it’s a trilogy. If you count Eoin Colfer’s And Another Thing…, there are six books in the whole series.

In the beginning of the movie, Arthur Dent is just an average Englishman living a Hobbit-like life. Then his friend, Ford Prefect, shows up one morning with some shocking news. 1). Ford is an alien travel writer who covers Earth. 2). Earth is about be destroyed to make way for an intergalactic super-highway. If Arthur wants to stay alive, he needs to hitch a ride on Ford’s spaceship.

The Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

The Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

When Tahereh Mafi wrote her Shatter Me Trilogy, she also wrote three main books: Shatter Me, Unravel Me, and Ignite Me. She also wrote two short stories to fill in the gaps between them. You can read them all in Shatter Me: The Complete Collection, which comes with all of the books together.

After Juliette, 17, was found dead, the Reestablishment put her in prison for killing her own mother. Her crime was killing a child with her touch. Juliette takes away the life from people who touch her, and now she hasn’t touched anyone for almost a year. There is a chance that her new cellmate could help her get out of prison.

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Author Leigh Bardugo set her Grisha Trilogy in a world that looks a lot like Imperial Russia, and it’s very different from anything else you’ve read before.

When Alina and Mal are old enough to join the military, they are sent to protect Ravka from the monsters that live in the Shadow Fold, which is where the city is hidden. When Mal is in critical condition, Alina has a hidden power that comes to the surface, revealing that she is the only one who can save her home from the dark.

The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov

It doesn’t matter that Isaac Asimov wrote two more sequels and two prequels after he took a 30-year break from writing science fiction. The whole series is still called the Foundation Trilogy. The three main parts are shown above.

In Foundation, a psychohistorian named Hari Seldon tells the government that his predictions show that the Galactic Empire will be over, and that there will be 30,000 years of chaos before a new Empire comes up. Nobody can stop the Empire from ending. Seldon claims that he can cut the time between Empires down to 1,000 years if given permission to compile an encyclopedia of all human history and knowledge. The Galactic Empire agrees to his request, with one condition: Seldon and his researchers must stay on Terminus, cut off from the rest of the world.

The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss

There are only two books here. It’s true that Patrick Rothfuss hasn’t finished his Kingkiller Chronicle at the time of this writing, but it is a planned three book series. The Wise Man’s Fear came out in 2011. The third installment, called The Doors of Stone, is set to come out in 2020.

During the Kingkiller Chronicle, a legendary adventurer named Kvothe tells his life story to a scribe called the Chronicler over the course of three nights. Each book tells the story of a different night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.