15 Best Books For 6th Grade Boys Update 05/2022

Books For 6th Grade Boys

Check out this list of some of the best books for 6th grade boys. I’ll take care of you! My top 25 picks for this middle-grade age group are here today! Check them out below!

In the middle grades, your tween’s maturity level changes a lot, and that’s why you should pay attention. Think about how different your child’s tastes are when they’re 10 years old in 5th grade and 13 years old in 8th grade.

During 5th grade, my son was a huge fan of the Captain Underpants series. At 13, he likes fantasy and anime more than Captain Underpants. He still likes Dav Pikey’s books, but he spends more time on other things.

Some good books for 6th graders to read are shown below, with a focus on books that boys like.

Best Books for a 6th Grade Boy

This post has affiliate links in it. If you buy something through one of these links, I get paid a small amount of money at no extra cost to you.

When it’s possible, I’ve put a preview on this page that you can look at right now. With most of these books, you can look through this list with your tween and check out a sample before you leave. A few books didn’t have this.

Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Most of the time, Harry Potter will be the first thing I put on most of my lists, and for a good reason. Most of the time, the series is to blame for inspiring two generations of middle-grade readers to read. I think that J.K. Rowling was a big help in starting the middle grade genre. A lot of people seemed to be more interested in books for young adults or books for elementary school kids before her amazing series came out.

If you haven’t heard of Harry Potter, the story is about a young boy who learns that he’s a wizard and goes on a quest to find out more. He also learns that his parents didn’t die in a car accident, as he had been told for most of his life. They were killed by the darkest wizard to ever live, and he killed them. For the next seven years, he learns magic at Hogwarts and fights against dark forces sent by Voldemort. … Okay, so that’s the long version of the story, but you can still get the idea.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

If you were the next Receiver of Memory, you would keep all of your memories from before Sameness. Jonas is a 12-year-old boy who was chosen to be that person. People in the society he thought were there to protect him aren’t what they seem. He also comes across a very dangerous thing: being unique.

It was one of the first middle grade books I read on my own when I was a tween. It was written by Lois Lowry. It’s a good book for both boys and girls, especially those who like dystopian stories, even though at first glance, it looks like it’s set in a utopia. It’s a good book for both boys and girls.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

One of the series that always makes my lists is Rick Riordan’s The Lightning Thief and the other books in the Percy Jackson series. They’re great for fantasy and mythology fans.

The story is about Percy Jackson, a young boy who learns that the strange creatures he’s seen most of his life are real.

And that he’s a demigod, too! This is the son of Poseidon, for sure! They know that Poseidon is one of the “original” gods that came from Titans, and he played a big role in taking them down. As for the Titans, they’re tired of being locked in Tartaros and are planning how to get out. It’s only Percy and his other friends at Camp Half-Blood who can stop them!

Wonder by RJ Palaci

Wonder is now a big movie starring Julia Roberts and Owen Wilson. It’s one of the best books for 6th graders. The book even led to a whole movement called Choose Kind.

The story is about Auggie, a boy who has a big “facial difference.” He just wants to be treated like any other child. They can’t get past his looks, which makes it hard for them to like him Wonder could have been just another book about what it’s like to be bullied. Instead, the author goes even further and makes it into a beautiful lesson in kindness and compassion. Anyone who has ever felt different should read this book (which is pretty much all of them).

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney

The best books for sixth-graders to read are those in this series. My son would say this is the best one! He’s read all of the books many times. Diary of a Wimpy Kid is about Greg Heffley, a “undersized weakling” who is just trying to make it through middle school, where the bullies are bigger, badder, and already shaving! During Greg’s diary writing, he tells the stories through the eyes of the person who is writing them down.

If your tween likes this series, I think you should get The Wimpy Kid Do-It-Yourself Book, too. A lot of fun things are done to get tweens to write and use their imaginations.

Paperboy by Vince Vawter

Fans of To Kill a Mockingbird will love this coming of age story about a boy who talks too much. It takes place in the South during the time when people were divided into different groups of people. He takes over his best friend’s paper route after he gets hurt while playing baseball. This is what Little Man does. Because he can’t even remember his own name, he doesn’t plan on talking to a lot of people at the store. Even though he’s afraid, Little Man has to speak up because the bully and the thief are in his neighborhood.

The story itself is based on some of the author’s own memories as a child, but not very much of them. It has won a lot of awards, including the Newberry Honor Award, which is given to the best children’s books.

Holes by Lewis Sinclair

Holes is a mix of dark humor and mystery for 6th graders. It’s a lot of fun! Newberry Medal winner Holes is a smart book that your tween will read quickly and keep reading until the last page.

This is the story of Stanley Yelnats, a “cursed” boy who has been sent to Camp Green Lake, a boys’ detention center. Holes tells his story. The boys have to dig holes every day to “build character.” Stanley quickly realizes that digging these 5×5 holes isn’t just for “character building.” There’s more to it than that. Warden: The warden wants to find something in the dried lake bed.

Smile by  Raina Telgemeier

Smile looks like a book for girls, but my son really liked this one. A sixth-grade girl named Raina is the subject of the story. She just wants to be a normal girl. However, one night, she falls and hurts her two front teeth. After that, she has to deal with braces, surgery, and even fake teeth. She also has to deal with an earthquake, friends who don’t want to help her, and boys. If you’re in 6th grade, you’ll love this great story about growing up. Most 6th graders can connect to it.

Sounder by William Armstrong

Sounder by William Armstrong

This is a great book for kids who are in middle school. It’s one of the best classics to read. They live in the 1800s, during one of the worst times in Southern history. They have a coon dog and an African-American boy who owns him. Sounder is the only character in the book who has a name. In the movie, the family was called “The Morgans.” Dad takes Sounder out to look for food every night. One morning, there is food on the table. Despite the fact that that sounds like a good thing, it’s not so good when the sheriff shows up and charges the father with theft.

Sounder has been likened to Where the Red Fern Grows and Old Yeller. If you have a tween who is very sensitive to stories where the dog dies, you might not want to read this one. Both of those books, as well as Sounder, made me very sad as a child.

Stick Dog by Tom Watson

Another series that caught my son’s attention when he was in 6th grade is Stick Dog. It’s great for fans of Wimpy Kid and Captain Underpants. The dog, on the other hand, doesn’t die. The dog is, in fact, a stick figure. Laugh along with him through text and drawings as he goes on an epic quest to find the best burger! As long as you have Amazon Prime, you can read this book for free.

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

This is a book that my brother thinks every middle school boy should read. He bought my son a copy for his birthday in 6th grade. This is a story about a Native American who was stranded on an island off the coast of California for 18 years. It is based on the true story. The movie is called Island of the Blue Dolphins (although she is 12 in the novel). It tells how she ended up alone on the island, how she lived, and how she was found.

All middle schoolers will enjoy Island of the Blue Dolphins, even though the main character is a girl. People who like survival stories or stories where the main character has a strong connection to animals will enjoy it the most, though. If you have Kindle FreeTime Unlimited, this one is also there.

Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja by Marcus Emerson

This book is great for 6th grade boys because it has the word “boys” right in it. Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja is the story of Chase Cooper, a small boy who gets a job with a group of ninjas. Chase writes about all of his fun and exciting adventures in a diary.

Epic Zero by R.L. Ullman

Epic Zero by R.L. Ullman

In a family of superheroes, life is hard when you’re not one of them! This is what Elliott Harkness wants to be, just like his parents did. As well as his younger sister And his dog, too! Elliott, on the other hand, is a “zero,” which means “powerless.” So while his family is having fun, he’s stuck in middle school. Elliott, on the other hand, may be the only person who can save the world when things go wrong. Can he find the hero inside of him?

The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt

The Wednesday Wars is a book about a teen boy’s adventures during the 1967-89 school year. It won a Newberry Honor for best picture book. The story takes place on Long Island, which is in New York. It’s very funny and interesting. It seems like Holling Hoodhood has a bad teacher on Wednesday afternoons. He gets religious advice from her. It’s hard for the country as a whole to deal with Vietnam, and Holling’s father wants him to be on the best behavior possible because his business is at stake. Isn’t that hard? Not for Holling, who has bullies, angry rats, and more to deal with!

The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade

During the book The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade, Maverick learns that bad things can happen to good kids, and he wants to help change this.

The badge was a gift from his father before he died. Maverick carries it with him to remind him that it’s important to stand up for other people. When you read the title, you think it’s going to be a comedy. Instead, it’s a heartwarming story that encourages kids to stand up against bullying.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.