9 Best Books Like Artemis Fowl Update 05/2022

Books Like Artemis Fowl

Since its release in 2001, Eoin Colfer’s saga of young adult science fiction fantasy novels, ArtemisFowl, has been a huge hit. ArtemisFowl, a feature film about the titular 12-year-old genius and criminal mastermind, will be released later in 2019. If you’ve just finished the popular series and don’t want to wait for the movie, you might be looking for more books like ArtemisFowl to keep you occupied until then.

If you’re looking for more books and series in the same genre, you’re in luck! The following are nine ideas to get you started on the path to finding your next great fantasy saga.

Books Like Artemis Fowl

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

If you’re looking for books like ArtemisFowl, consider Suzanne Collins’ TheHungerGames, one of the most popular Young Adult fantasy series of recent years.

Taking place in Panem, a future version of the United States, the first book in a planned trilogy introduces readers to Katniss Everdeen, a young woman trying to survive in what is now known as TheHungerGames. The totalitarian government organizes an annual event known as the “Hunger Games” in order to keep the population in line and compliant.

“tributes” from each district are pitted against each other in a televised showdown. There is a lottery for tributes, which are children between the ages of 11 and 18. As a popular film series, TheHungerGames is a great alternative to ArtemisFowl for those who are looking for something new.

Make sure to check out our list of similar titles to the Hunger Games and Divergent if you haven’t already!

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

TheMazeRunner series by James Dashner might be a good choice if you’re looking for another great book series like ArtemisFowl.

This book is the first of three in a Young Adult Dystopia series that was originally published in 2009. “The Glade” is the name given to a place where Thomas, a young man, wakes up one day with no recollection of his previous existence.

It is later revealed that Thomas and his friends live in a strange world surrounded by a constantly shifting and dangerous maze. This series explores themes such as leadership, the ability to think on one’s feet, and coming of age, all with the ultimate goal of escaping their current situation.

Is this your first time reading it? Other great reads like The Maze Runner can be found on our recommendations page.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

No one would be surprised if the first Harry Potter book appeared on a list of books like ArtemisFowl’s.

Even if you haven’t read the books, you’re probably familiar with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Harry Potter, an 11-year-old orphan living in a cupboard under his aunt and uncle’s stairs, is introduced in the first installment of one of the most popular book series of all time.

In spite of his upbringing, he soon discovers that he is a wizard and enrolls in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he is treated badly and left alone most of his life. Here, he reunites with Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, two of his closest friends, and learns more about his parents, who were assassinated by Lord Voldemort when Harry was a year old.

Though his spell backfired and he lost all his powers when he tried to kill the baby Harry, Voldemort’s demise was caused by his attempt. Harry discovers that he is revered throughout the wizarding community for putting an end to Lord Voldemort’s atrocities.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, the first in a seven-book series, is a great choice for anyone looking for a series similar to Artemis Fowl.

Is this your first time reading it? Take a look at our list of more books like Harry Potter for both adults and children!

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

If you’re looking for a fantasy classic like ArtemisFowl, look no further than JRR Tolkein’s TheLordoftheRings, one of the most well-known and widely read fantasy series of all time.

Tolkien’s The Hobbit is a prequel to this epic novel, which was originally published in 1954 and 1955 as three separate novels. The book follows a number of characters in the fictional Middle Earth, and is one of the biggest influences on modern fantasy literature.

Reluctant heroism in the face of insurmountable evil, power, and mythological elements form the basis of the story. It’s impossible to cover everything in this fantasy epic in a single article about books like ArtemisFowl, but it’s an absolute must-read for anyone interested in fantasy.

Is this a series you’ve already read? Take a look at our list of additional books that are similar to The Lord of the Rings.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis

A fantasy classic by C.S. Lewis, TheLion,theWitchandtheWardrobe is an excellent choice for those who are looking to get started on a new series that is similar to ArtemisFowl and who enjoy fantasy.

TheLion,theWitchandtheWardrobe is the most well-known and widely read book in C.S. Lewis’ ChroniclesofNarnia series, despite being the second installment.

The story centers on the Pevensie family, who were forced to flee London during WWII’s Blitz and are now residing in the bucolic estate of a professor in rural England’s countryside. A wardrobe found by Lucy, the youngest of the Pevensie children and a gateway to Narnia, as she explores the house.

As of right now, the White Witch is in charge of Narnia, ensuring that it remains frozen over all year round. Following the Pevensie children’s journey through this strange land, they seek to reclaim the lion Aslan’s throne.

An American classic, this book is also known for its strong Christian themes and was written as an allegory of Jesus’ crucifixion for the Christian faith.

The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

The first book in Phillip Pullman’s HisDarkMaterials trilogy is an excellent choice if you’re looking for an engaging and highly acclaimed fantasy series like ArtemisFowl.

Outside North America, TheGoldenCompass is known as NorthernLights and takes place in a parallel universe. All forms of heresy are actively suppressed by an international theocracy. Lyra Belacqua, a 12-year-old girl from England, is the protagonist of the novel, which follows her journey to the Arctic to find her missing friend and free her imprisoned uncle.

Critics have accused Pullman’s trilogy of anti-religious themes while TheLion, theWitch and theWardrobe has been praised for its pro-Christian stance. Because of the aforementioned drawbacks, TheGoldenCompass (or NorthernLights as it was originally known) still makes for an excellent book on anyone’s shelf.

Is this your first time reading it? Other books like The Golden Compass can be found on our recommended reading list.

A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin

A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin

AGameofThrones, the first book in George RR Martin’s ASongofIceandFireseries, is an excellent choice if, as an adult, you enjoyed ArtemisFowl and are looking for an epic high fantasy series to take your reading to the next level.

If you haven’t heard of this novel, the inspiration for the hugely popular HBO series, in the last decade, you must have been living under a rock. The story, set in the fictional country of Westeros, follows a political drama in which characters compete for power in similar circumstances to those that sparked the Wars of the Roses in England in the fifteenth century.

AGameofThrones, the first of a planned seven novels, is not recommended for young readers due to its length (more than 1,000 pages) and mature and adult themes.. Adults looking for books like ArtemisFowl should check out AGameofThrones, which combines fantasy and complex political systems.

Is this a series you’ve already read? Interested in reading something similar to Game of Thrones?

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

When looking for a fantasy novel that’s similar to ArtemisFowl, Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere is a great option.

An ordinary man who lives in London is thrust into a strange alternate reality that exists beneath the city’s surface in this novel.

The world of London Below is opened up to Richard after he saves a girl named Door from the London Underground. Richard is looking for a way to get back to London, while Door is fleeing from assassins. Throughout the story, we see the two of them interact with a wide variety of interesting and bizarre characters and situations.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, one of the most prolific modern fantasy writers, is an excellent introduction to the author’s work and one of his more underrated books.

You can find more books like The Name of the Wind on our list of the best fantasy novels for adults.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

When it comes to books like ArtemisFowl, we’re back in the realm of serialized Young Adult fantasy fiction after our last entry, which was an individual novel rather than a series.

This is the first book in the Percy Jackson series, The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. This novel and the series as a whole are based on current-day reenactments of Greek Mythology events that were first published in 2005.

During a field trip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 12-year-old Percy Jackson (who has ADHD and dyslexia) discovers that he is actually a Greek demigod, the son of a god and a mortal woman.

Demigod Percy struggles with growing up as a normal teen who happens to have newfound powers in TheLightningThief and the subsequent books in the series.

Is this a series you’ve already read? Check out our list of other books that are similar to Percy Jackson!

Especially if you’ve fallen in love with the plot and characters of the critically acclaimed series ArtemisFowl, it can be difficult to find another book or series to compare it to. As a starting point, this list of series and novels is a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.