8 Best Books Like Between Shades Of Gray Update 05/2022

Books Like Between Shades Of Gray

In terms of reading, most people are happy to stick with the tried-and-true.

Nonetheless, if you’re looking for something else, here are seven more books that might interest you.

Different plots and settings, but they all share dark themes that will keep you reading until the end of the book.’

Between Shades of Gray Summary

With a child’s perspective, the true story of one young woman’s fight against totalitarianism during World War II is told in the book Between Shades of Gray.

In 1941, Lina’s world has been shattered by the conflict in Europe. When Soviet troops invade Lithuania, she and her family are there. To make matters worse, they take over their farm and she loses everything.

Ruta Sepetys’ Between Shades of Gray tells the story of a family’s journey from Lithuania to Siberia during World War II.

According to reviews, this book’s prose is beautiful and the novel’s plot line is gripping. Those who read it will be left with goosebumps on their arms for days to come.

Books Similar To Between Shades of Gray

We’ve compiled a list of 7 historical fiction books similar to Between Shades of Gray, written by authors such as Ruta Sepetys or of a similar genre.

Memories Of My Future, by Ammar Habib

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00075]

My expectations for Memories of My Future were not met. It could have been a memoir or an autobiography about the author’s life, but it wasn’t either of those. As long as you enjoy this book, you won’t be disappointed.

If you ever find yourself in a tough situation, this book will help you get through it with the support of your favorite book.

Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry

In 1943, Germany has won the war. To save their Jewish friends from being sent to concentration camps, a group of Danish patriots band together.

Ellen Rosen, a close friend of Annemarie Johansen’s, is welcomed into the family and treated as one of the family.

When soldiers show up to take Ellen away on a fateful night, everything changes.

and a ten-year-old girl comes up with an impossibly audacious plan to save her.

War is a major theme in both of these novels, so it’s safe to say that this is a sequel to Between Shades of Gray.

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

In ‘THE BOOK THIEF,’ Liesel Meminger’s heart-wrenching story is both inspiring and uplifting. During World War II, a foster mother hides the fact that her foster daughter can read from the Nazis.

Throughout The Book Thief, we follow Liesel as she uses the power of literacy as a weapon of resistance against the atrocities of war.

One of the books like Between Shades of Gray on this list is The Book Thief. Also, if you enjoy The Book Thief, there are a number of other books that you might enjoy.

Salt to the Sea, by Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea, by Ruta Sepetys

World War II historical fiction novel Salt to the Sea is by Ruta Sepetys.

Florian, Emilia, Joana, and Alfred are the four protagonists. From different countries and backgrounds, they are trying to flee the war and find a better life.

While reading this book, you’ll get a sense of what it was like to live through World War II in Germany, Poland, and Lithuania.

Suspenseful plot twists help the author maintain your interest throughout the entire story.

Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe

Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart explores the tensions that arise between black and white men in Nigeria. Okonkwo, an Igbo man, is the subject of the author’s story, which focuses on his inability to adapt to change.

In response to the white men’s religion and culture, he led his tribe in a campaign of guerrilla warfare. The book also illustrates how things can go horribly wrong when people are unable to keep up with the rapid pace of social change.

The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas

Starr Carter lives in two worlds: the impoverished, mainly black neighborhood where she lives and the affluent, mainly white prep school where she goes to school.

Uncomfortable harmony between Starr’s two worlds is upended when she sees her childhood best friend Khalil being fatally shot by a police officer.

Starr must now find her voice and speak out for what is right in the face of community pressures.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne

It is no surprise that John Boyne’s novel The Boy in the Striped Pajamas has become a New York Times best seller. A nine-year-old German boy who moves to Berlin with his family during World War II is the subject of this story.

When Bruno meets Shmuel, a young Jewish boy who lives behind a wire fence separating them from the work camps where both of their fathers are interned, the story follows their encounter.

It is difficult to maintain innocence in times of war, and they learn this as they become friends and learn more about life on both sides of the fence.

Books like Between Shades of Gray are ones that we enjoy and think you might, too.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys published her debut novel, Out of the Easy, in 2013. This is the author’s second book to be published. A young woman in the 1950s French Quarter of New Orleans, Josie Moraine, struggles to break free of her dysfunctional family and write her own destiny in this film. New York Times bestseller, and Editor’s Choice in the New York Times, on February 15, 2013, were both given to the book for its literary merits.

Final Word:

There aren’t many books out there that can be compared to Between the Shades of Gray in terms of content. If you’re looking for a historical novel, you’re out of luck because the genre is often underrepresented in the market. Some of them, on the other hand, are truly outstanding!

Below, you’ll find a list of seven historical fiction books that share some of the same themes as Between Shades of Gray.

Let us know if we’ve missed any good ones, and we’ll add them right away! I wish you all the best with your reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.