7 Best Books Like Caraval Update 05/2022

Books Like Caraval

Are you looking for novels that are similar to Caraval?

A YA fantasy sensation, Caraval, was released in 2016. For many youngsters, it provides a safe haven from their daily lives. It’s important to remember that Caraval is definitely aimed at young heterosexual women in the European/North American/United States demographic, even if the prominence of this type of plot in young adult fiction has been the subject of debate.

Books like Caraval

This Side of Home, by Renée Watson

This Side of Home, by Renée Watson

Caraval, for example, depicts a sisterly rivalry. As identical twins in This Side of Home, Nikki and Maya’s ideas on everything from males to who they should hang out with at school were once unassailable.

Though it used to be a seedy part of town, the area is now becoming a hipster hangout, complete with trendy boutiques. It makes Maya feel like she’s losing her place in the world, but Nikki is ecstatic about it.

Compared to other YA novels I’ve read, This Side of Home is more well-rounded. The novel is entertaining and thought-provoking since it explores the expectations that different cultures have about one another (Maya strives to bridge the gap between her Blackness and an increasingly white community). It’s here!

The Gilded Ones, by Namina Forna

While Caraval and other fantastical tales may appear to be from another planet, the best stories are based on the experiences of actual humans. First sight, The Gilded Ones appears to be your average high school or college-level fantasy novel. However, after starting to read, it becomes clear that this is far from your average high school or college-level fantasy novel.

Deka, a 16-year-old girl, is the protagonist of the novel. Deka is terrified and anxious as she awaits the results of a blood ceremony that will determine whether or not she is allowed to join her tribe as a full member. In the ceremony, Deka’s blood turns gold, a symbol that she is an alaki, a near-immortal with uncommon abilities.

In order to save her community from an unjust fate or join an army of girls like her, Deka sets off on a journey that will prepare her for the most difficult war of her life. The Gilded Ones may not book for the faint of heart, but it’s a terrific narrative that every YA reader should read.

Witches Steeped in Gold, by Ciannon Smart

Witches Steeped in Gold, by Ciannon Smart

When you realize you’re not reading what you thought you were in a book like Caraval, you nearly hear a guffaw of glee. While witches are a common trope in fiction, Smart’s are more intriguing than the average counterpart.

While Iraya has been in prison for a long period of time, she is eager to come free and avenge the people who removed her people from their thrones in Witches Steeped in Gold. Doyenne Cariot, the country’s current ruler, has a daughter named Jazmyne, but she sees Jazmyne as a means to hold onto power once Doyenne dies.

In order to defeat Doyenne, Jazmyne and Iraya band together to fight a shared foe. Despite this, they have very different agendas in mind. It’s a fascinating look at what it means to be human.

There is no one who is either nice or completely bad. It’s a pleasure to read about Jazmyne and Iraya because they both have their own complex morality to wade through.

Wings of Ebony, by J. Elle

Urban fantasy from a BIPOC perspective should be more common in YA. However, thanks to Wings of Ebony, people all over the world can now satisfy their thirst for more information.

Rue and her younger sister Tasha’s lives are forever altered when their mother is fatally shot outside their front door. Her mother Tasha is kidnapped and taken to Ghizon, the kingdom of the gods, where the Do Not Leave Law is in effect.

Rue violates the law to return home because she misses Tasha, only to find that other black children are being drawn into criminal activity and violence. Tasha, on the other hand, is being dragged into the same evil powers that claimed the life of their mother.

For younger readers, the subtle yet magical message on how systematic racism and colonialism damage us all makes Wings of Ebony an excellent choice for our list.

The Girl from Everywhere, by Heidi Heilig

Caraval is one of those books that makes you feel like you’ve just leapt into a story you’d like to be a part of.

A long time ago, Nix and her father sailed on his ship. It’s as if they’re on a journey through legend and myth, and even time. Her father can travel through time and space as long as he has a map.

Nix’s father’s quest to acquire the one map that will take him back to Honolulu and his lost love, Nix’s mother, could wipe her out of the history books..

This fascinating tale of love, grief, and hope features pirates, ships, treasure, dashing thieves, strange pastries, and pocket-sized dragons.

Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die, like Wicked before it, presents a new take on Oz. This is Amy Gumm, the other Kansas girl you may have heard about.

Amy finds a crumbling yellow brick road, rebellious flying monkeys, and distrustful good witches when she first arrives in Oz. For this she was crowned the ruler of Oz because she became power-crazed and took the throne for herself.

Amy has been assigned a new task by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked: the assassination of Dorothy.

Caraval and Dorothy Must Die are only two examples of books that reimagine well-known stories. However, the alternative spin works nicely in this case.

Amy is a far cry from Dorothy. An addict mother, an absent father and no realistic hope for the future are all she has to look forward to. Regardless of your feelings for her, you can’t help but want the best for her.

Yesterday is History, by Kosoko Jackson

Books like Caraval enjoy messing about with time travel. We meet Andre Cobb, a young man who has just had a liver transplant and is eager to begin his new life. At some point in the near future (in 1969), he had an epiphany and finds himself face to face with the seductive Michael.

At this point, Blake and his family tell Andre that Michael’s new liver came from Blake’s younger brother and has the unintended effect of giving Andre the ability to travel back in time as a result of this.

Andre’s desire for both Blake and Michael develops as he switches back and forth between the past and the present.

Yesterday is History tells the story of Andre, a young African American LGBT child, as he tries to find his place in the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.