10 Best Books Like Circe Update 05/2022

Madeline Miller’sCirce was one of my favorites. You’re not the only one going through this. Circe, the crooked witch from The Odyssey, is given a voice in Miller’s addictive novel. Now is a great time to check out books like Circe while you wait for the TV show to come out. For YA and adult readers alike, consider checking out some of these fantastic titles, such as Circe. This list of Circe read-alikes will help you find more books that are similar in terms of innovative, thoughtful, and feminist interpretations of well-known folk tales and legends.

YA Books Like Circe

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake

After all, what happens to “immortal” gods when they die? Both Athena and Hermes have been cursed with a fatal illness, and they must now travel the world in search of a cure. It turns out that rival goddesses are going after each other’s enemies, igniting a Goddess War that could be decided by Cassandra, a gifted prophet. As the first installment of Kendare Blake’s feminist Classical mythology retelling trilogy, this page-turner is jam-packed with action (Three Dark Crowns,Anna Dressed in Blood, etc.). Blake, like Circe, focuses on ancient mythology’s female characters.

Psyche In A Dress by Francesca Lia Block

How about some added passion in your historical romance? I devoured Francesca Lia Block’s fantastical, magical, and raw and real novels as a child. We learn the truth behind the story of Love in Block’s on-brand classical mythology retelling, Psyche in a Dress. Psyche and Cupid (known as Eros in the novel) are depicted in modern L.A. in this enchanting story. Block’s novel will have you gushing with the feels.

Solstice by P.J. Hoover

In Solstice, P.J. Hoover, like Madeline Miller, reinvents classic stories. Hoover blends mythology with a dystopian setting in this thrilling debut novel for The Dying Earth series. Piper is fighting for her life in the midst of a Global Heating Crisis, which is difficult enough without having to contend with an oppressive mother on top of it. As a young woman, Piper discovers the Underworld as a battleground for gods and monsters, free of her mother’s influence. She has a bright future ahead of her…

Toil & Trouble edited by Jessica Spotswood and Tess Sharpe

Toil and Trouble, the YA anthology edited by Jessica Spotswood and Tess Sharpe if you enjoyed the witchcraft in Circe. Brandy Colbert, Robin Talley and Nova Ren Suma are among the YA authors who have contributed short stories to this collection of 15 tales. Feminist witchcraft, from covens to cat ladies, is a major theme throughout the book. Witchcraft has a long history in many cultures, which is reflected in the wide variety of stories about it.

Adult Books Like Circe

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie is a modern retelling of the Greek myth of Antigone. Isma Pasha, a British Pakistani woman in her twenties who is eager to leave London and begin a graduate program in the United States, is our heroine. Isma has been in charge of raising her younger siblings, who have a habit of getting into mischief.. A politician’s family feud suddenly becomes much worse. For Shamsie, the Women’s Prize for Fiction was a great honor.

Lavinia by Ursula K. Le Guin

An excellent fantasy novel by Ursula K. Le Guin is essential to this list of books similar to Circe. Le Guin’s novel, like Circe, tells a grand old myth. Despite the fact thatCirce concentrates onThe Odyssey, inLavinia we learn the truth behind yet another silent female character in mythic works: Lavinia, the king’s prized daughter who Aeneas fights to claim and marry inThe Aeneid.

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Did you enjoy how Circe portrayed a well-known female character? To begin with, The Palace of Illusions is one of the best books I have ever read. Panchaali, the heroine of the Indian epic Mahabharata, is the subject of this compelling narrative. Divakaruni’s feminist retelling, like Miller’s, gives new life to women whose stories were spun by men. As a female protagonist in The Palace of Illusions, Panchali breaks free of the victim narrative to tell her own story. What we see instead is an independent, often-rebellious woman who made difficult choices.

Oreo by Fran Ross

It’s hard to believe it’s nearly 40 years old. A new edition of Fran Ross’s classic retelling of the Theseus odyssey,Oreo, has just been released, making it accessible to a new audience. Young Philadelphian biracial Black Jewish woman named Oreo sets out to find her biological father in the film “Oreo.” Her journey takes her through the heart of Manhattan’s arts scene and 1970s culture as she tries to discover her own personal mythology..

xo Orpheus edited by Kate Bernheimer

Even one book like Circe is better than nothing. Fifty mythological retellings in one book! Short stories by some of the most imaginative writers are collected in Kate Bernheimer’sxo Orpheus. Your favorite authors like Victor LaValle, Sigrid Nunez, Edward Carey and Joy Williams will be among those contributing stories. I really like this collection for its wide range of characters, from the Kraken to Daphne and from the Trojan Horse to God and Satan; this is a truly global anthology.

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls is one of the best books likeThe Song of Achilles. A well-known epic is also revisited in this stunning work of historical fiction. With events in Virgil’s Aeneid moving towards the fall of Troy, Barker’s novel focuses on Briseis, a Greek queen who was taken as Achilles’ concubine after her city was conquered. Barker asks about the lives of the women affected by the military conflict. As well as focusing on the role of women in the war, Barker’s novel also includes the voices of prostitutes, nurses, and slaves. Virgil isn’t necessary after all, as Barker’s The Silence of the Girls makes clear.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.