19 Best Books Like Crazy Rich Asian Update 05/2022

For those who enjoyed the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy and are looking for a new book to read about the opulent lifestyles of the rich, this list of books similar to Crazy Rich Asians will satisfy your appetite.

1. The Wangs vs the World by Jade Chang

Like Crazy Rich Asians, I found this to be one of the most engrossing books I’ve read in a long time. Humorously depicting the saga of an immigrant family and American capitalism, this novel is sure to make you smile.

2. Sarong Party Girls by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan

For Emma, this vivacious debut represents the best of contemporary Asian culture. Singapore’s glittering financial hub is the setting for this biting satire on the city’s inflated beauty standards and the clash of old traditions with new money.

3. American Royals by Katharine McGee

When it comes to the royals, this book is for you if you are a fan of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William.

You’ll be captivated by the implausible but plausible premise of an American royal family akin to one from a soap opera.

4. The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

This delightfully funny novel about four siblings and how their shared inheritance has led to their current stage in life is soon to be a major motion picture. A fast-paced family saga that’s perfect for a day at the beach.

5. Five Star Billionaire by Tash Aw

If you’re looking for a glimpse into the glitz and glamour of modern Shanghai, this Booker Prize-nominated novel is for you. These five migrant families’ stories are intertwined in this masterfully crafted look at the tension between old traditions and new ideas.

6. The Windfall by Diksha Basu

The story of a Delhi-based family on the rise is told through a hilarious series of mishaps. He called it “the funniest novel to come out of India in years” by Gary Shteyngart. That should be enough to persuade you to pick up this book.

7. Primates of Park Avenue: A Memoir by Wednesday martin

As a student of ultra-wealthy people and their vapid, ostentatious existence this book is ideal. In this entertaining book, Martin uses anthropology to analyze the affluent mothers of New York City’s Upper East Side.

8. Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton

New York City’s rich and famous are depicted in a bleak light here, as they struggle to maintain their opulent lifestyles. This sinuously seductive tale of toxic friendships and female insecurities combines elements of Gossip Girl with The Talented Mr. Ripley.

9. Fatal Inheritance by Rachel Rhys

A mysterious inheritance has been left to Eve by a wealthy stranger, but she must first travel to the glistening French Riviera in order to learn more. The decadence of 1940s France is the setting for this delicious thriller, making it an irresistible beach read.

10. The Pool House by Tasmina Perry

An exclusive Hamptons house-share invites Jen and her husband to spend the summer. This will appeal to anyone who has seen the television series Revenge or Riviera. There is just the right amount of glamour and racy scenes as well as relationship drama in The Pool House.

11. The Party by Elizabeth Day

This is billed as “Brideshead RevisitedmeetsThe Talented Mr. Ripleywith a dash ofThe Riot Club,” and it’s a sophisticated page turner. This is a darkly sinister read about betrayal and privilege that revolves around two men who have known each other for 25 years.

12. Swan Song by Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

Accompanied by the most beautiful and influential women of their time, Truman Capote and his six swans are the subject of this book, which daringly mixes fact and fiction. They trusted Capote with their deepest secrets until he betrayed them as icons of high society.

13. What We Were Promised by Lucy Tan

Taking place in present-day Shanghai, this gripping story follows a newly wealthy American family returning to China after living in the United States for two decades. This novel makes important points about globalization and cultural assimilation by accurately depicting the lives of the wealthy in both countries.

14. Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee

The story of a woman of Korean American descent trying to break into Manhattan’s elite inner circle is told here by the author of National Book Award FinalistPachinko.

15. The Wives by Lauren Weisberger

When Emily Charlton moves to Greenwich, she discovers that the town is built on a foundation of deception.

According to the author of Devil Wears Prada, this novel is a cross between Real Housewives and The Good Wife.

16. The Windfall by Diksha Basu

For the past three decades, the lives of Mr. and Mrs. Jha have been defined by crowded quarters, shoddy construction, snide remarks from their next-door neighbors, and the minor tragedies of lost yoga pants and stale unions. Because of their son’s acceptance into a top business school in the U.S., they thought they had finally arrived at a peaceful retirement. It’s only when Mr. Jha enters the picture and things begin to change.

17. China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan

Known for Crazy Rich Asians, Kevin Kwan has returned with a hilarious new novel about social climbing, secret emails, art-world scandal, and lovesick billionaires, as well as what happens when Rachel Chu, engaged to marry Asia’s most eligible bachelor, finds out about her birth father. Her last night with her fiancé, Nicholas Young, is about to begin.

18. Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan

BESTSELLER IN THE NEW YORK TIMES For Esquire, the year’s best books Best Fictional Families of 2017 according to Kirkus Author Kevin Kwan, best known for Crazy Rich Asians, China Rich Girlfriend, and China Rich Boyfriend, returns with a hilarious new novel about a family driven by fortune, an ex-wife, and…

19. The Bride Test by Helen Hoang

I don’t know how Khai Diep feels. Irritation when people move things or contentment if ledgers balance down to a penny, but not big, important feelings like grief. And, of course, there’s love. He considers himself to be flawed. His parents are well aware that he is autistic and that he simply has a different way of processing emotions. When he avoids relationships like the plague, his moods suffer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.