13 Best Books Like Dork Diaries Update 05/2022

Books Like Dork Diaries

The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #12)

The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series #12)

 

Jeff Kinney

Don’t worry if the last book in your child’s favorite middle-grade series is about to be released. Consider these for your next read if you’re a fan of Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries. There is a wide range of topics covered in these books, including everything from diary-style entries to a fair amount of underwear talk.

The Principal’s Underwear Is Missing

Holly Kowitt

Becca, a sixth-grader, accidentally hits eighth-grader Sloan “Selfie” with a volleyball during a game of volleyball. Becca’s first encounter with a popular, older classmate was a bit of a snub. A shopping bag containing the principal’s underwear is mistaken for a shopping bag by Selfie, who offers her a favor as an apology. Even though the girls are so different, they end up becoming unlikely friends through their hilarious misadventures.

Dead End in Norvelt (Norvelt Series #1) (Newbery Medal Winner)

Jack Gantos

Jack Gantos is looking forward to a summer of fun and adventure, but his feuding parents have him grounded. Furthermore, he has been loaned to an old neighbor for the sole purpose of helping him type up the obituaries of the people who founded his utopian town. There are many twists and turns in the plot, which is set in the 1960s and incorporates historical fiction. It’s been described as a “murder mystery for middle schoolers.” Prepare yourself for a shock.

How to Eat Fried Worms

Thomas Rockwell , Emily Arnold McCully

Parents and middle-schoolers alike will enjoy this classic 1973 book, which is both disgusting and amusing at the same time. Billy will eat 15 deep-fried worms for $50 if he wins a bet. So, why not? He’s done this before, after all. It takes a long time to eat the worms, even with the help of condiments to mask the squirmy creatures’ taste. No one knows for sure whether Billy overestimated his abilities.

The 13-Story Treehouse (Treehouse Books Series #1)

The 13-Story Treehouse (Treehouse Books Series #1)

Andy Griffiths , Terry Denton

As Andy and Terry work on their novel, they live in a treehouse that any child could only dream of. Distractions are the only problem. Distractions aplenty, including a transparent pool, a bowling alley, sharks that eat people, marshmallow guns, mermaids, and an entire room filled with pillows. It’s understandable that these two would miss their deadline in the presence of a gorilla, a giant banana, a cat transformed into a canary, and a stinky bubblegum. With our own work, we’d love to have this excuse!

Frindle

Andrew Clements , Brian Selznick

To make things more interesting, Nick Allen has a long history of doing so. The tropics were his third-grade theme, and blackbird miming was his fourth-grade specialty. What’s in store for him in the fifth grade? It only takes a pen and a new word to set off a frenzy across town. With many readers wondering whether or not Nick will emerge as a hero or a villain, Nick’s innocent classroom prank ends up on national television.

A Tail of Two Kitties (Stick Cat Series #1)

Tom Watson

This series is a hit with animal lovers thanks to its simple stick figure drawings and cliffhanger chapters. Stick Cat is more than just a cat that hunts and snoozes for long periods of time. With a city to explore, this feline and Edith will find new adventures around every corner. He must find his way to the building across the alley so that he can help save the trapped man. Reluctant readers will find this book irresistible.

The Fourth Stall

The Fourth Stall

Chris Rylander

In the boys’ bathroom, the fourth stall is booming thanks to entrepreneur Mac and his manager, Vince (or throne, in this case). There is nothing they can’t get you. Is there something you’re missing? That’s fine. There is no one to act as a fixer when the boys encounter their own problems, however. This three-book series, set in a middle school, is a tale of organized crime filled with mystery and peril.

Roller Girl

Victoria Jamieson

Even though Astrid and Nicole have been best friends for over a decade, they are going their separate ways this summer. A dance camp is on the itinerary for Nicole, while a roller derby camp is on the calendar for Astrid. Astrid is nervous about her first roller derby match because she has trouble keeping up with the more experienced players. She’s also worried about saying goodbye to an old friend, and middle school is just around the corner. Astrid’s ability to persevere, put on her skates, and keep rolling will delight readers.

Letters to Leo

Amy Hest , Julia Denos

Annie finally gets a dog, Leo, after her mother’s death. For the first time in her life, she has someone to tell her daily stories, which she records in a notebook hidden beneath her bed. A poem about her mother and updates on her stern, older father are among the topics covered in her letters to Leo. After the loss of a loved one, Annie shows us how to be a good friend and a great daughter through her charming illustrations and positive outlook on life. Leo is also a great companion for her.

Babymouse: Queen of the World / Jennifer Holm

Babymouse Queen of the World

It’s no surprise that an imaginative mouse dreams of being king of the world, but will settle for an invitation to the most popular girl’s sleepover party. The first book in the series, Babymouse.

The Cupcaked Crusader / Lawrence David

Ten-year-old Horace Splattly becomes a flying, fire-breathing superhero after eating his little sister’s magic cookies, and his adventures include a run-in with a monster on the school playground. Other Horace Splattly books are available.

Regarding the Bathrooms: A Privy to the Past / Kate Klise

A middle school principal’s bathroom renovation leads to the discovery of stolen Roman antiquities in this novel, which is told through letters, newspaper articles, and police reports. Check out the other titles in the Regarding the… series if you like this one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.