9 Best Books Like Eat Pray Love Update 05/2022

Books Like Eat Pray Love

As a result of its success as a book, Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Through Italy, India and Indonesia starred Julia Roberts in the successful film adaptation. A memoir of Gilbert’s travels through Italy, India, and Indonesia after she becomes disillusioned with life in the United States and decides to leave it all behind. For someone who enjoys reading about people’s travel experiences, I found this book to be a letdown. If you’re looking for a great travel memoir, check out Eat Pray Love instead.

I’ve compiled a list of ten books like Eat, Pray, Love that are sure to inspire you to travel soon.

Books like Eat Pray Love

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Wild From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Following the death of her mother and the aftermath of her divorce, Cheryl Strayed decides to hike the Pacific Crest Trail despite having no previous long-distance hiking experience. Her journey on the trail and her previous life stories are seamlessly intertwined in this book’s narrative.

The story of Wild’s protagonist, Cheryl Strayed, has some parallels to Elizabeth Gilbert’s novel Eat, Pray, Love. However, I found Wild to be a more engrossing read and more informative about hiking and traveling. For her portrayal of Strayed in the movie Wild, Reese Witherspoon was nominated for an Oscar.

Even if you’ve already read Wild, you can find more great reads on our list of books like it!

Love with a Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche

The memoir Love with a Chance of Drowning by Torre DeRoche tells the story of how DeRoche followed her heart after falling in love with an Argentinian man she met while out on a night out in San Francisco. DeRoche, an Australian working in the United States, meets Ivan, who is planning a voyage across the Pacific Ocean.

By joining Ivan on his journey, DeRoche learns about the difficulties of sailing around the world and how it affects personal relationships while confined to a small space!!’

If you’re looking for more books like Eat, Pray, Love, then this one is for you.

The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost by Rachel Friedman

Similarly, Rachel Friedman recounts her year-long journey around the world in her memoir, The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost: A Memoir of Three Continents, Two Friends, and One Unexpected Adventure. Friedman meets an Australian girl in Ireland and decides to fly to Australia on the spur of the moment. The two of them then set out to explore Australia and South America as a group.

As Friedman describes in The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost, she falls in love with travel and is forever changed as a result. It’s a great memoir and an excellent choice if you’re looking for books that are similar to Eat Pray Love but don’t focus as much on travel.

Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes

Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes

Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes was published in 1996 and tells the story of Mayes’s decision to relocate to Tuscany, Italy, from her home in New York.

She falls in love with the countryside and culture of Tuscany while working on the restoration of an abandoned villa. A chef herself, she uses her knowledge of the region’s cuisine to share stories and recipes.

In 2003, a film adaptation of Under the Tuscan Sun starring Diane Lane was released; however, the plot of the film differs significantly from that of the book.

The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell

For a year, Helen Russell, a native Londoner, moves to Denmark in an attempt to discover the secret behind the country’s reputation as the most happy in the world.

In The Year of Living Danishly, Russell’s humorous writing style is paired with a deep knowledge of Danish culture and society, making this a wonderful book. It’s a great choice for those who are looking for more books like Eat, Pray, Love but prefer to focus on just one culture: The Year of Living Danishly.

The Lost Girls by Jennifer Baggart

Three Friends Are Missing in Action. The four continents. Jennifer Baggart’s memoir, One Unconventional Detour Around the World, is another excellent example of a travel memoir in which the author discusses her decision to abandon a normal life in order to travel.

As her 30th birthday approaches, Baggart and two of her friends decide to quit their jobs and embark on a year-long trip around the world. Traveling across the globe, the two friends set off on an adventure that takes them to Australia and NZ, South America and Asia as well as the continent of Africa.

If you’ve ever wanted to go on a year-long road trip like the one portrayed in The Lost Girls, this book is for you. It’s also an incredibly quick read.

Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer

Into The Wild by Jon Krakauer

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer is a great choice if you’re looking for a travel story in which the protagonist truly leaves everything behind to travel.

After graduating from college, Christopher McCandless decides to give away all of his savings, get rid of most of his belongings and embark on a cross-country journey. As McCandless travels across the United States, meeting up with other nomads along the way, the story eventually takes him to Alaska, where he planned to live as close to nature as possible.

There are many great travel memoirs, but Into the Wild is one of the most popular and was made into a hit film by Sean Penn in 2007. As far as I’m concerned, this is a fantastic alternative to Eat Pray Love.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

When a young shepherd named Santiago has a vivid dream about how treasure awaits him and then leaves his life behind to travel and search for the treasure, it’s no wonder that Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist is a perennial favorite among travelers.

It’s a quick read, but if you liked Eat, Pray, Love, or something along those lines, you’ll enjoy this one. Shantaram, by Gregory David Roberts, is another book you’ll enjoy if you’re a fan of philosophical stories.

Check out our list of books like The Alchemist if you’ve already read Coelho’s classic.

Tales of a Female Nomad by Rita Golden Gelman

Rita Golden Gelman’s Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World is a fascinating travel memoir about a woman who quit her job and set out to see the world on her own.

Gelman quits her job in Los Angeles at the age of 48 and embarks on a yearlong world tour as a nomadic nomad. In her quest to learn more about the local culture, she travels across several countries, including Africa, Asia, and the Americas.

As a traveler and a person, she changes dramatically throughout the book. When it comes to books like Eat, Pray, Love, Tales of a Female Nomad is an excellent choice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.