10 Best Books Like Goosebumps Update 05/2022

Books Like Goosebumps

If you grew up loving R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps books, now is the perfect time to add some new ones to your reading list. The post-Halloween blues can be brightened by reading books like Goosebumps for adults. Horror stories don’t have to be just for kids anymore! Everyone can enjoy the spooky season and the wide range of spooky literature that goes along with it. What if you’re a horror fan now and always? I’m a big fan of the chills and thrills that come with reading spooky books. Because I have such strong nerves, it takes a lot to frighten me. The first thing I do when I hear the floorboards creaking at 3 a.m. is turn away from the noise and go back to sleep. Yes, I am putting on a brave face to prove my bravery!

It’s just that these books have completely shattered all of my cockiness. This list, even if you’re someone like me, who isn’t afraid of the dark, is bound to put you on edge. With your Halloween costumes packed away, I’m here to cheer you up with a selection of spooky books like Goosebumps for adults that will keep you occupied for hours. It’s impossible to fully appreciate the richness of the horror genre in a single day. And, of course, the fun and feel of Goosebumps don’t have to fade away with the passage of time.

Books Like Goosebumps for Adults

The Turn of the Screw and Other Stories by Henry James

The Turn of the Screw and Other Stories by Henry James

Miles and Flora, two young children, are left in the care of a new governess who lacks both training and experience. The ghosts in the house appear to have a special relationship with the children. As it turns out, the figure the governess sees is none other than the recently deceased Peter Quint, who has returned to avenge his son’s death. It’s possible that she isn’t the only one who has had this experience. Is this collection just a collection of ghost stories, or is there more to it?

Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

Judas Coyne, an aging rock star with a penchant for the macabre, is fascinated by the macabre. When his assistant tells him about a ghost for sale, he buys it right away. Upon opening the black, heart-shaped box, he is met with a vengeful spirit. When Coyne wronged a young woman, the spirit of her stepfather took her life. Now, a ghostly assassination campaign against Coyne begins, led by one who will never forgive or forget!

The Ballad Of Black Tom by Victor LaValle

In order to make ends meet, Charles Thomas Tester must peddle potentially lethal enchantments. Then, of course, the unimaginable occurs. Occult books are delivered and the attention of things that should be left to sleep is drawn to him. Brooklyn is about to be engulfed in a storm. Now the question is, will our protagonist live to see it?

Afterlife: Ghost Stories From Goa by Jessica Faleiro

Afterlife Ghost Stories From Goa by Jessica Faleiro

The plot of this novel revolves around a family vacation to Goa. Savio Fonseca, 75, is being feted by members of his family. If there’s no electricity on the night of his birthday, it’s only fitting that we tell him a ghost story. The Fonseca family’s spooky history soon becomes a topic of conversation among the entire clan. What mysteries will be unearthed now that everyone is in the same place?

Ring By Koji Suzuki (Translated by Robert B. Rohmer And Glynne Walley)

A spooky videotape arrives in a mysterious package. As long as viewers don’t see what they want, they’ll die within a week of watching. Exactly a week after watching this video, four teenagers died. Asakawa, a journalist, takes on this investigation. What will the outcome be, and will he be successful in resolving this case?

White Is For Witching by Helen Oyeyemi

Lila’s twins, Miranda and Eliot, and her husband, Luc, are left to deal with the loss of their mother. Despite the fact that it has been home to many women over the years, there is something terribly wrong with their house as well. If that wasn’t strange enough, Miranda has developed an unusual taste for chalk. She vanishes one night, leaving only the stories of the survivors to tell of her life. Love, magic, and fear are all explored in this gothic and contemporary novel.

Hell House by Richard Matheson

Hell House by Richard Matheson

The Belasco House has been subjected to unspeakable cruelty. Attempts to discover its secrets in the past have failed miserably. As a result, all of the participants ended up dead or insane at the hands of their captors. Four strangers, each with a different motivation for risking their lives, now want to look into what’s going on in the house. Whether or not they succeed, like their predecessors, is a question that needs to be answered.

The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

Doctor Faraday, the son of a maid in rural Warwickshire, has made a life for himself in a dignified manner there. He is summoned to Hundreds Hall to attend to a patient there. As the Ayres family’s residence, this house is no longer as swanky as it once was. Current owners are struggling, but is that all they have to fear from a shifting society? Dr. Faraday’s life will soon become intertwined with theirs as they are haunted by something far more sinister.

Fledgling by Octavia E. Butler

Fledgling by Octavia E. Butler

Young, amnesic girl with unimaginable needs and abilities is the subject of this story. She’s not even a girl! She’s a cyborg vampire in her fifties who’s been altered through genetic engineering. Is she immune to all kinds of dangers because she’s a vampire? Or is someone still stalking her in the shadows? You’ll be sucked into this novel about what it means to be human (or not) from the beginning.

Horowitz Horror: Stories You’ll Wish You Never Read By Anthony Horowitz

What is hidden beneath the surface of normalcy? In order to understand why people are afraid of getting in the bathtub, we need to know its past. A camera that looks like any other is capable of unleashing the unexpected on its subjects, so how does this happen? What are the ramifications of a defeat in a computer game? If you’re looking for a list of books like Goosebumps for adults, this anthology of terrifying short stories is a great place to start.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.