10 Best Books Like Narnia Update 05/2022

Books Like Narnia

Among the most popular fantasy novels ever written, The Chronicles of Narnia are among the best. A new standard for fantasy was set by C.S. Lewis’ stories, which delighted readers young and old. Besides, who wouldn’t want to enter a magical world through the doors of a wardrobe? In addition, being offered the position of monarch would be nice.)

Of course, none of this is to say that Narnia was without danger. The four Pevensie children, the protagonists of The Chronicles of Narnia, are constantly thrown into dangerous situations and forced to engage in bloody battles. I wish there were more than seven books in this series, because they are all excellent.

We are, after all, here to see what we can learn from each other. After reading The Chronicles of Narnia, these are some excellent books that you should read before starting over with The Magician’s Nephew or The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. It’s not the place to get into reading order arguments.)

Is Underground By Joan Aiken

Is Underground By Joan Aiken

In this novel, “Is” is the name of the young girl whose story is at its core. Is sets out to find her cousin, Arun, after her uncle makes a dying request. Traveling to London, she encounters a city devoid of children, and once a month, the Playland Express departs at midnight to remove even more of them. Narnia, on the other hand, isn’t exactly where the Playland Express is taking us.

The Hero and the Crown By Robin McKinley

In terms of McKinley’s The Magician’s Nephew, The Hero and the Crown is a prequel. The protagonist of The Hero and the Crown, like the Pevensie children, finds herself on a throne she never asked for and must grow into the defender her kingdom needs. As the daughter of the king, Aerin, the main character of The Hero and the Crown, comes into her throne in a more traditional manner than wardrobe teleportation, but fans of The Chronicles of Narnia will recognize and enjoy much of this story.

Fur Magic By Andre Norton

A magical fantasy world, like Narnia’s, is accessible — to some, at least — from our own boring, nonmagical world in Andre Norton’s Fur Magic. When Cory Alder goes to stay with his adopted Native American uncle while his father is deployed to Vietnam, he discovers the strange world of Fur Magic. As a result of meeting a Native American medicine man, Cory Alder finds himself thrust into a world where Native American myths and folklore are actualized.

The Dragon’s Boy By Jane Yolen

The Dragon's Boy By Jane Yolen

A King Arthur tale is a sure bet for fans of the genre’s golden age. Even though Yolen calls Arthur “Artos” and Merlin “Old Linn,” this is still unmistakably the story of King Arthur’s maturation and ascension to adulthood. Similarly to the Narnia gang, Artos, the Dragon’s Boy is fascinated by the trials and tribulations of young heroes, just as Narnia is in The Chronicles of Narnia.

Out of the Silent Planet By C.S. Lewis

As a fan of Lewis’ work, who better to turn to for additional information than the author himself? For those who have finished all of Lewis’ Narnia books, he also has a science fiction trilogy that is less well-known but no less revered. Out of the Silent Planet is the first book in what has been dubbed the Space Trilogy. You can get more of what you loved about Narnia if you are willing to make the leap into sci-fi.

The Golden Compass By Philip Pullman

Philip Pullman despises The Chronicles of Narnia, as you may have heard. It’s all making him crazy! As a result of C.S. Lewis’ fervent Christianity, Pullman finds the Narnia books to be filled with religious allegory. “Religious propaganda” was what Pullman called The Chronicles of Narnia. His Dark Materials, a children’s book series written by Philip Pullman, pits the protagonists against an evil organization that resembles a church. Atheism is the religion of choice for Pullman rather than Christianity, which is exactly what Lewis did. It doesn’t matter which series you prefer; both feature endearing young protagonists, vividly imagined worlds, and thrilling plotlines.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone By J.K. Rowling

Don’t feel bad if you haven’t heard of it; it was a bit of a hidden gem. Weird little book about a wizard discovered by an English boy. A lot of the books in the Harry Potter series are fantastic. However, we are reminded most of The Chronicles of Narnia’s first book, when everything is still new to the Pevensie children and Harry (and us as readers), in which the wizarding world is introduced to Harry (and us as readers).

A Wrinkle in Time By Madeleine L’Engle

A Wrinkle in Time By Madeleine L'Engle

If you’re a fan of The Chronicles of Narnia, A Wrinkle in Time is a must-read fantasy classic. There is more than a passing resemblance between L’Engle’s young protagonists and Lewis’ Pevensie clan, and their journey is just as fantastic as anything the Pevensie clan did in front of the wardrobe On a multi-universe rescue mission to save their father, the Murry children and their friend Calvin travel through time and space in A Wrinkle in Time.

Coraline By Neil Gaiman

The fantasy genre is where Neil Gaiman shines the brightest. Coraline is an excellent place to start if you’ve never read any of King’s work before. Many of Neil Gaiman’s books draw inspiration from C.S. Lewis, but that magical door is where it all comes together.

If you’re looking for a way into a magical world, take a cue from Coraline and be cautious about which Doorway you choose to open. If you’re lucky, you’ll find a magical world with talking lions or a button-eyed altered reality.

The Bartimaeus Sequence By Johnathan Stroud

Bartimaeus is a fantasy series unlike any other. If you’re looking for a fantasy story with a darker undertone than the usual fluffy stuff, this one is for you. It’s clear from the start that we’re dealing with a different kind of enchantment than what we’re used to.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.