6 Best Books Like Percy Jackson For Adults Update 05/2022

Books Like Percy Jackson For Adults

Percy Jackson and the Olympians is a fantastic book, but are you looking for something similar?

It’s been nearly two decades since the Percy Jackson and the Olympians books became best sellers (The Lightning Thief was first published in 2006). Readers of all ages have been enthralled by the adventures of a young boy who discovers that he is the son of the Greek God, Poseidon.

Many readers have become enthralled with Greek mythology and magic after reading books that mix ancient Greek legends with modern sensibilities. There have been two film adaptations of the books, and there are millions of people who love them, and the interest in them shows no signs of waning.

Percy Jackson fans, if you have already devoured Percy’s adventures, we have compiled a list of book series that are similar.

Akata Witch, by Nnedi Okorafor, is one of 18 books that are similar to Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

Books like Percy Jackson & The Olympians

Akata Witch, by Nnedi Okorafor

Akata Witch, by Nnedi Okorafor

New York-born Sunny, now a 12-year-old girl living in Nigeria, is the protagonist of the book. Her albino skin makes it difficult for her to get enough sunlight, which makes her life difficult. As a result of her friendship with Orlu and Chichi, Sunny learns about the Leopard People, a magical race that can turn any flaw into a superpower. As soon as Sunny and her friends have completed their training, they will embark on a mission to capture and imprison Black Hat Otokoto, a serial child snatcher.

I was heartbroken when this book came to an end because it was so full of wonder and magic. As soon as I heard about the “funky train,” I was giddy from head to toe. If you’ve grown tired of reading about magic and sorcery from a Western perspective, check out Akata Witch today.

An Epic Series of Failures, by Chris Rylander

It’s safe to say that The Legend of Greg will be on your list of recommended reads if you enjoyed Percy Jackson. I don’t know what I can do for you if you don’t smile at the end of even one of these laugh-out-loud stories in the An Epic Series of Failures collection.

The beginning of the story is a hoot. As a child, Greg Belmont was a shy and introverted child who preferred to stay out of harm’s way. The problem is that Greg is anything but typical. As a Dwarf, he is forced to go on a quest after his father is kidnapped by a Bro-Troll.

Greg’s antics will bring a smile to the face of many an adult reader as well as a tear to the eye of any preteen. Fans of Percy Jackson will love this series because it is fast-paced, funny, and full of magical beings like elves and dwarves.

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, by Kwame Mbalia

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, by Kwame Mbalia

Readers of books like Percy Jackson’s are accustomed to both tragedy and wonder. We meet seventh-grader Tristan Strong in Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, a story about a boy who feels hopelessly inadequate after failing to save his best friend in a bus accident.

When a rag doll steals a friend’s journal, Tristan is sent to his grandparents’ farm in Alabama to recover. Tristan accidentally rips a hole in the MidPass while punching a tree in an attempt to free the journal from the doll.

Tristan is drawn into a battle that has nearly exhausted the black American Gods, John Henry and Brer Rabbit, in a sea of iron monsters, a blazing sea, and haunted bone ships.

They must convince Anansi (also known as the spider god), who has been hiding in plain sight since Tristan made a hole in the sky, to come out of hiding and repair it. Tristan is a must-read for Percy Jackson fans. As someone who struggles with self-confidence throughout the story, he makes for a more compelling and relatable protagonist than most.

One of the best books on slavery ever written, Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky contains African mythology and is based on the stories of slaves brought to Europe and the United States against their will.

The City of Ember, by Jeanne DuPrau

The City of Ember follows a slightly darker path than other books based on the Percy Jackson series (Book of Ember 1).

Ember was an underground city built hundreds of years ago by ‘the Builders’. It had everything a human being could possibly need to survive. While supplies are running low, corruption has spread and the lights are flickering.

An ancient parchment discovered by Lina and Doon may lead everyone out of Ember. But who’s going to listen?

Readers of all ages will enjoy this well-crafted novel. The story revolves around Lina and Doon, who are both interesting characters. Mistakes are part of life. They lash out. Real children (and adults) go through all the normal stages of development, including laughing, crying, and acting out scenarios. This is an excellent start to a fantastic series.

Is this your first time reading it? Check out our list of books that are similar to The City of Ember! “

Aru Shah and the End of Time (Part 1 of the Pandava Quartet), by Roshani Chokshi

Aru Shah and the End of Time (Part 1 of the Pandava Quartet), by Roshani Chokshi

Everything from the Pandava Quartet should be on your reading list if you’re a fan of Percy Jackson. In Aru Shah and the End of Time, we meet 12-year-old Aru, a girl who likes to tell tall tales in order to fit in with her peers at school.

Even as her friends jet off for exotic vacations, Aru stays home to work at the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture instead. Aru is challenged by three of her classmates to light the supposedly cursed Lamp of Bharata when they show up to catch her in a lie.

“What the heck?” Aru exclaims. The Sleeper, an ancient and powerful demon bent on awakening Kali, the God of Destruction, is unintentionally released. In the absence of her friends and mother, Aru is the only one who can save the world from destruction.

In addition to its depiction of Hindu cosmology and folklore, this series is notable for two other reasons. The second lies within Aru’s personality. As a reader, you can only have as much fun saving the world as the other people you’re spending time with.

Aru Shah and the End of Time is made even more enjoyable by the stellar cast that surrounds him.

The Storm Runner, by J.C. Cervantes

Percy Jackson books, for example, often use a clever combination of magic and strong character development. ‘ Zane, a young boy at school known as “Sir Limps a Lot,” is the subject of The Storm Runner.

Zane spends the majority of his free time investigating the nearby dormant volcano. By telling Zane he is destined to free an evil god from an ancient Mayan artifact, Brooks, the new girl at school, heats things up.

Publishers are requesting an increase in the number of stories featuring members of social groups that are underrepresented. Zane, the book’s disabled Latino protagonist, is a standout performance by Cervantes. After reading it, you’ll understand why Rick Riordan included it in his “Rick Riordan Presents” series.

Strange creatures, an engaging and sympathetic protagonist, and dangerous situations are all part of the package. A book series like Percy Jackson that isn’t afraid to take a few risks is a refreshing change.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.