6 Best Books Like The Guest List Update 05/2022

Books Like The Guest List

Are you looking for a good mystery book to read? If you’re looking for books like The Guest List, then check out this list.
Lucy Foley’s fifth novel features a remote location, a high-profile wedding, a storm-stranded group of people, and a dead body that adds to the mystery!
By switching viewpoints, we get a glimpse into the lives and secrets of some of those who have been invited to the “wedding of the year.”
Because of past trauma, the wedding planner is perpetually paranoid. It’s difficult for the bride to focus on her upcoming wedding because of a mysterious note she received. Her soon-to-be husband is reunited with old friends from their boarding school days, which rekindles memories of how only the tough made it out of the school.
Look no further than the books below if you’re looking for more books like The Guest List to inspire your sleuth.

Books like The Guest List

The Hunting Party, by Lucy Foley

Lucy Foley’s debut thriller, The Hunting Party, has established her as a modern-day Agatha Christie in the world of mystery writing.
It’s that strange time right after Christmas when everyone is gearing up to ring in the New Year when the story takes place. A group of thirty-something friends gathers to ring in the New Year, continuing a custom they began as college students ten years ago.
This year, they’re heading to the Scottish Highlands, where they’ll arrive at their remote lodge on the 30th of December, just in time to avoid being cut off from the rest of the world by a terrible blizzard. One of the “friends” kills one of the partygoers two days later, on the first day of the new year.
There are a lot of fond memories being relieved after a decade of friendship. As the weight of the secret resentments grows unbearable, which one will break first?? If you enjoyed Foley’s writing and the suspenseful reveal in The Guest List, you’ll probably enjoy The Hunting Party just as much.

One by One, by Ruth Ware

In our next book similar to The Guest List, Ruth Ware and her novel One by One takes us from a group of friends celebrating a birthday in the Scottish Highlands to a corporate ski trip in a rustic mountain chalet.
You don’t get to pick your coworkers, and it can be difficult to spend time with some of them outside of work even when you have to put up with them during the day.
Even though there is a lot of room to get away from those annoying coworkers in the mountains, survival instincts take over when an avalanche hits and the corporate hierarchy is buried in the snow. As soon as the snow melts, the only thing left to figure out is how many members of the team will be left.
Any fan of The Guest List will enjoy Ware’s books, but One by One is a particularly exciting place to begin.

Blood Orange, by Harriet Type

Blood Orange, Harriet Type’s debut novel, is a perfect fit for those who enjoyed The Guest List for its espionage and deception.
To the uninitiated, Alison appears to have it all: a husband who adores her, a daughter to spoil, a lovely house, and a flourishing legal career. On the surface, things are never what they appear to be. Due to her demanding job and the affair she is having with a coworker, Alison drinks excessively and neglects her family.
Alison’s first murder trial begins as the story progresses. Her client is accused of the murder of her husband, a crime she does not deny and for which she intends to plead guilty, but there are some discrepancies.
Alison must uncover the truth in order to save her client and herself, but she must be careful not to expose her own carefully guarded secrets in the process.
At the same time, Blood Orange is an engrossing story of deceit, jealousy, love, and hate that is both disturbing and tantalizing to read.

Nine Perfect Strangers, by Liane Moriarty

Until now, we’ve dealt with murder and secrecy in the context of relationships between members of one’s immediate family, close friends, and coworkers. In our next book, we’ll see it take place between nine people who appear to be complete strangers. In Liane Moriarty’s Nine Perfect Strangers, Nicole Kidman will play the mysterious resort director.
As a health and wellness retreat, Tranquillum House can promise a peaceful transformation for stressed-out city dwellers who leave their baggage at the door to soak up the soothing atmosphere.
As these nine strangers try to unwind with meditation, yoga, and hot stone massages at the luxurious resort, little do they know that the retreat has a very dark agenda behind its relaxing facade.
In the same vein as Ware and Foley, Moriarty is another author whose books have compelled readers to put their lives on hold in order to finish them.
In love with Liane Moriarty already? Here is a list of books that are similar to Big Little Lies:

Murder on the Orient Express, by Agatha Christie

Murder on the Orient Express, Agatha Christie’s classic murder mystery novel, has to be included on a list of books like The Guest List.
Passengers on the Orient Express from London to the Middle East were a diverse group. American tycoon, a countess, a colonel, a doctor, and Detective Hercule Poirot are among the others.
One night, a snowdrift halted the train, and it wasn’t until the next morning that the snow was cleared that the tycoon was discovered dead. Dozens of stab wounds received while alone in a strangely locked room. In order to stop the killer from striking again, Poirot must find him quickly.
Even though I know the ending to Murder on the Orient Express, or any Christie mystery for that matter, I don’t get bored, which is a testament to her enduring skill as a writer.
Is Agatha Christie your favorite author? Visit our And Then There Were None-like book list for more options!

The Stranger, by Harlan Coben

A number of Harlan Coben’s novels have been adapted for film and television, making him a well-known writer of suspenseful thrillers. The Stranger, based on his novel The Guest List, has just been made into a Netflix serial.
Strangers show up unexpectedly in places like the supermarket or a bar when it’s least expected. Secrets that threaten to shatter your world will be revealed to you even though you won’t know who they are.
Adam Price suffers exactly this fate. When the stranger reveals a devastating secret about his wife to him, his life suddenly takes a turn for the worse. A secret that has the potential to upend not only his own, but also the lives of those around him. In the course of his investigation, Adam uncovers a plot that is far more sinister than he could have ever imagined.
When you start reading The Stranger, you won’t be able to put it down until you’ve discovered the biggest secret of them all!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.