8 Best Books Like The Lovely Bones Update 05/2022

Books Like The Lovely Bones

“The Lovely Bones” is an evocative novel that tells the story of a family through the eyes of their murdered daughter Susie Salmon, who tells the story from the afterlife in the book. On a personal level, the Salmon family is depicted dealing with the loss of a loved one and trying to find justice. Even though The Lovely Bones is not an easy read, many people are eager to see what else Sebold has in store for them in the future.

The Lovely Bones has inspired a number of sequels, but many of them have failed to live up to Sebold’s high standards in terms of plot, writing, and character development. When it comes to critically important subject matter like this, however, there are a number of books that do not compromise quality in order to be commercially successful. Check out these eight books if you enjoyed The Lovely Bones and want to read more in the same vein.

Books Like The Lovely Bones

Lucky, by Alice Sebold

Lucky, by Alice Sebold

Lucky, Alice Sebold’s 1999 memoir, is a good choice if you’re looking for a book like The Lovely Bones.

Sebold’s life as a first-year university student, during which she was raped and beaten while walking home through a park at night, is vividly recalled in this compelling memoir. Because he had seen women murdered in similar situations before, one of the police officers told her that she was “lucky.”

A brutal rape is only the beginning of a woman’s trauma; she also has to contend with trying to get justice and bringing charges. She wanted to help other women who had been raped, to normalize the subject and make people feel less isolated.

If you’re looking for a book like The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold’s Lucky is a great choice because it doesn’t trivialize or minimize the trauma of sexual assault.

Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson

Speak, the 1999 novel by Laurie Halse Anderson, is a great choice for fans of The Lovely Bones. Melinda Sordino, a social outcast who has gone as far as becoming mute, is the focus of this young adult novel.

During the first few weeks of high school, she finds it difficult to re-connect with her old friends and is shunned by the student body as a whole for calling the police at a summer house party.

It is revealed throughout the novel that Melinda was raped at this party and must remain in school with the boy who committed the crime. Melinda gradually regains her voice and learns to speak out about her trauma when her former best friend begins dating that boy.

In spite of the fact that Speak isn’t an easy book to read, it provides some relief to young women who may be afraid to come out about assault or trauma and provides some context to those who want to learn more.

Is this your first time reading it? We’ve put together a list of books that are similar to Speak!

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

It’s worth reading Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower in 1999 if you want to read a novel like The Lovely Bones.

Charlie, a shy high school freshman who has just lost his best friend to suicide, begins high school in this early 1990s-set epistolary novel. Initially reclusive, Charlie begins to open up and form relationships as he deals with personal issues.

If you’ve ever struggled to connect with people in the real world, you’ll appreciate The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which has received both critical praise and controversy (it frequently appears on the list of most frequently challenged books from the American Library Association). An empathetic narrator tells the story of many of the issues that high school students may face, allowing those who are struggling to feel less alone.

The Fault in our Stars, by John Green

The Fault in our Stars, by John Green

John Green’s 2012 novel, The Fault in Our Stars, is a good choice if you’re looking for a book like The Lovely Bones, despite its divergence from Sebold’s book.

During the course of the novel, Hazel Grace Lancaster, a terminally ill 16-year-old, meets Augustus Waters, a cancer survivor who is now in remission.

Many of the novel’s themes are carried over from The Lovely Bones, including family ties, the search for closure, and the impact of a young death on those closest to us.

In the years since its publication, the novel has received much critical acclaim and is perhaps best known for its 2014 film adaptation. The novel, despite the film’s shortcomings, is an excellent choice if you’re looking for a book like The Lovely Bones to add to your reading list.

Is this book familiar to you? If you enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars, you might enjoy some of these suggestions:

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, by Kim Edwards

For fans of books like The Lovely Bones, Kim Edwards’ 2005 novel The Memory Keeper’s Daughter is a compelling account of identical twins who were torn apart at birth.

To begin with, Paul and Phoebe were born in the mid-1960s. Phoebe was born with Down’s Syndrome, whereas Paul was born healthy. The father tells the mother that Phoebe will die at birth and that he intends to place her in an institution rather than deal with the difficulties of raising a child with special needs. But the nurse who helped deliver Phoebe has decided to raise her as her own. ‘

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter is a heartbreaking tale of a family’s unraveling and the toll that a child’s “death” can take on a couple’s relationship.

The Virgin Suicides, by Jeffery Eugenides

Despite being best known as the basis for the 1999 film adaptation by Sofia Coppola, Jeffery Eugenides’ 1993 novel The Virgin Suicides is an excellent choice for fans of The Lovely Bones.

One of the Lisbon family’s five daughters commits suicide in this novel. Instead of focusing on the possible causes of their daughter’s death, the parents opt to isolate their other four daughters by taking them out of school and relegating them to their parents’ house.

To keep their friendships going and their hearts open, the four sisters make a suicide pact and the boys on either side of them are left to deal with the emotional fallout.

Similar to The Lovely Bones, The Virgin Suicides explores how the death of a young, innocent girl (or girls) can have far-reaching consequences for a community and the people who live in it.

Room, Emma Donaghue

Room, Emma Donaghue

As a result of the critically acclaimed 2015 film adaptation of Emma Donaghue’s 2010 novel Room, it has become one of the most popular books of the year. However, if you’re looking for a book like The Lovely Bones, this is the one for you.

Jack, a young boy who has spent his entire life in a small room with his mother and only occasionally interacted with another man named Old Nick, is the narrator of Room. His mother was kidnapped by Old Nick, who has kept her in this room ever since, and it is later revealed that he is his mother’s captor.

To get out of prison, Jack’s mother conceives of the idea of pretending he’s dead, which leads to their release. It is during this time that the novel follows Jack and his mother as they learn how to adapt to a new way of life.

Room, like The Lovely Bones, tackles heavy subjects like the healing process after a traumatic event and the resulting impact on one’s relationships with one’s family.

Is this your first time reading it? There are many more books like Room on our list!

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate

Before We Were Yours, a 2017 novel by Lisa Wingate, tells the story of a dark chapter in American history through two separate narratives.

Rill, a young girl living on a riverboat in Tennessee with her family, is the subject of the first storyline. Rill and her siblings are kidnapped by agents working for Georgia Tann, a notorious child trafficker who operated a covert market for abducting and selling children from impoverished families for the benefit of the rich and famous.

The Tennesse Children’s Home Society was a hell for the children who lived there, and this book tells the story of the children who were victims of Tann’s child trafficking ring and had to put their lives back together to cope with the trauma of their childhoods.

The themes and plot of Before We Were Yours will likely appeal to readers who enjoyed The Lovely Bones, despite the fact that the two books are quite different.

It can be difficult to find books like The Lovely Bones that are both compelling and well-written, but these eight titles are guaranteed to elicit the same feelings as Alice Sebald’s novel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.