19 Best Books Like The Night Circus Update 05/2022

Books Like The Night Circus

The Night Circus is one of the books you’re looking for. I’ll get right to the point: The Night Circus is the best thing ever. The Night Circus is not the only book that may have elements in common with, or make you feel the same way as, that of The Night Circus. Start working on it.

Books Set At A Circus (Or Carnival)

Caraval By Stephanie Garber

Caraval By Stephanie Garber

Take One Isle of Dreams into Account” One-time use to gain entry to Caraval. On the thirteenth day of the Growing Season, in the 57th year of the Elantine Dynasty, the main gates close at midnight. In order to participate in the game or win this year’s prize of a one-time wish, you must arrive by this time.

There will be three more books in this series after this one.

Geek Love by Katherine Dunn

Geek Love is the closest thing to The Night Circus there is, and there isn’t. Here we are, however, in the middle of it all. There are a bunch of freaky people in the Binewski family, including a hunchback named Oly who tells the story from the perspective of a hunchback, going back and forth in time until everything makes sense.

Pantomime by Laura Lam

As an intersex man, Micah Grey had previously been known as a girl named Iphigenia before he decided to run away and join the circus. There will be three more books in this series after this one.

The Weight Of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

The Weight Of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

There are two competing traveling shows owned by the Paloma and Corbeau families: one is a mermaid show, the other is an aerial show. After Lace Paloma’s life is saved by Cluck Corbeau, the two fall in love and things get complicated.

Historical Fantasy Books Like The Night Circus

The Diviners by Libba Bray

New York City has exiled Evangeline O’Neill, a small-town girl who lives in Ohio. Even though she adores everything about it, when her occult-obsessed uncle becomes interested in a murder, she realizes that her hidden magical abilities may be useful in solving the case.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

The Napoleonic Wars were at their peak in 1806. Magic is thought to be a thing of the past. In order to take on the most dangerous forms of magic, two magicians join forces: one is a recluse turned celebrity, and the other is a daring young man.

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

It was only a month or so apart when I read The Night Circus and The Ten Thousand Doors of January that I realized how much they stirred up my emotions. In both, the prose is breathtakingly beautiful and heart-wrenchingly beautiful. Interestingly, despite having little in common in terms of plot, both January and The Starless Sea fall into nearly all of the same subcategories.

Unnatural Magic by C.M. Waggoner

While searching for a magical university, Onna is drawn into the investigation of a troll murder. Whoever is killing trolls is after Tsira, a troll who rescues a human. They’re out there fighting crime!

Books About Magical Competitions Like The Night Circus

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

Both a princess and a prince are competing in the Tournament of Wishes, where they hope to win their hearts’ desires and become more than just puppet kings.

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab

In the midst of the Element Games, Red London is gearing up, Kell is imagining doomsday scenarios, Lila is returning to shore, and Black London is reviving.

The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2) by Samantha Shannon

But Paige Mahoney isn’t really free after escaping from prison. An underground clairvoyant community provides a safe haven for her.

Fantasy and Other Books Like The Night Circus

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

The Starless Sea may be a better comparison for this epic tale of a librarian’s quest to save his sister from a cursed family lineage.

The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

The City of Brass is an epic fantasy, whereas The Night Circus is both an epic and a fantasy story. These are petty differences of opinion. Con artist Nahri summons the djinn Dara by accident, and the two of them flee Cairo together for Daevabad, the fabled city made of brass.

Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri

Empire of Sand by Tasha Suri

Mehr’s abilities are inherited from her mother, who was forced to flee. When the Emperor’s attention is drawn to her, she must resist… avoid waking the gods Slow-burning and full of magic, this book is reminiscent of The Night Circus.

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno Garcia

As a servant in her grandfather’s house, Casiopea feels like a burden. Inadvertently freeing a god of death, he takes her to Mérida to reclaim his eye, ear, finger, and jade necklace from the trunk at the foot of his bed. Her life will be transformed if she succeeds or dies if she fails.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

When someone from the Hinterlands abducts Alice’s mother, she heads to her grandmother’s estate in search of answers. Alice is not disappointed. Ellery Finch, a fan of her grandmother’s book about the Hinterlands who Alice mistakenly believed was a real person, offers her assistance. The Hazel Wood Read-Alikes are an excellent resource.

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

Featuring an opera singer, a secret, and more, this book is a work of historical literary fiction. It has a grand scale and is stunning in every way. Who knows Lilliet Berne’s secrets? This soprano’s past is haunting her, and she must find out.

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

You already knew this was on the list, didn’t you? After discovering a strange book containing a story about something that happened to Zachary Ezra Rawlings as a child, Zachary Ezra is now a graduate student.

The Vanishing Act by Mette Jakobsen

I wouldn’t have included this book if Erin Morgenstern hadn’t blurbbed it: “The best stories change you. “I’m not the same person I was before The Vanishing Act.”

My best hope is that one of these books will satisfy your desire for books like The Night Circus. There is a chance that one of them will leave you with your face pressed into its cover, weeping, as The Night Circus left me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.