5 Best Books Like The Shadows Between Us Update 05/2022

Books Like The Shadows Between Us

Oasis by Katya de Becerra

Oasis by Katya de Becerra

They were saved by the oasis. It’s not clear who will save them from the oasis.

Alif’s summer plans included working on her father’s archaeological dig in the desert with four of her closest friends and a very cute research assistant. They were all excited. After that, a sandstorm erupted.

When Alif and the others’ camp is wiped out, they are stranded on the sands, seemingly doomed, until they stumble upon the oasis. Food, water, shade, and mysterious ruins conceal a lethal secret, all of which can be found here. As the world around them begins to change, they begin to question what is real and what isn’t.

After learning the truth, Alif and her companions are torn apart and begin to doubt their own salvation. Moreover, while it was simple to enter the oasis, it may be nearly impossible to get out of it…

Uncovering the truth behind Katya de Becerra’s latest supernatural thriller will keep you guessing right up until the horrifying conclusion.

Docile by K.M. Szpara

Capitalism does not allow for informed consent.

When it comes to love and sex, wealth or debt, abuse or power in a sci-fi parable Docile is a challenging tour de force.

To be a Docile is to be confined to the owner of your contract’s will, mind, and body. To be docile means to forget, to disappear, to hide within one’s own body from the horrors of one’s military career. Dociles are people who sell themselves to pay off their parents’ debts and secure the futures of their children.

Throughout the generations, Elisha Wilder’s family has been engulfed in debt. So when Elisha decides to try and pay off the family’s debt on his own, he swears he will never again take the Dociline that killed his mother during her time as a Docile. Unfortunately, Alexander Bishop III, whose wealthy family controls Dociline and the entire Office of Debt Resolution, has acquired his contract. It doesn’t occur to Alex that his family’s crowning achievement could have any negative side effects, so he sets out to make Elisha the perfect Docile without it.

Lifestyles of Gods and Monsters by Emily Roberson

The entire life of sixteen-year-old Ariadne is meticulously documented and made available to the world via social media. Tabloids love it, social media loves it, and television loves it because of the royal family’s entertainment empire. Is it the most lucrative? Television show The Labyrinth Contest, where Ariadne leads fourteen teenagers through a maze in order to kill the monster. If you win, you will live forever in glory; if you lose, you will perish. No one has ever been crowned champion in this game’s ten years of existence.

Ariadne doesn’t expect to fall in love with the handsome, mysterious Theseus when he shows up at the competition and asks her to help him win. He may be feigning interest in her for the sake of boosting his popularity. However, they have an undeniable chemistry, and she can aid in his survival. The contest would be over if he wins. But if she aids him, not only will she jeopardize her family’s empire, but the monster will have to be put down as well. His life may be the only one worth saving for Ariadne.

It is impossible for Ariadne to find a way to forge her own destiny and save her loved ones while the public and the gods watch her every move.

A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

The Outsiders meets The Iliad meets The Iliad in Shannon Price’s A Thousand Fires, a contemporary debut that will appeal to fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

Ten years. Gangs of three. It’s a One-Girl Epic Adventure!

Valerie Simons’ brother was killed by the Boars two years ago, and she knows how dangerous the city’s gang wars are. Her desire to avenge his death is so strong that she will not be deterred from joining the elite and beautiful Herons in order to do so.

Jax, the charismatic and volatile leader of the mysterious Stags, promises to help Valerie avenge her father. With old love and new loyalty at odds, Valerie races through the streets of San Francisco in order to complete the mission that landed her in the clutches of a gang.

“A Thousand Fires is a modern, unflinching and hauntingly lingering update to the story of the Iliad,” says the reviewer. Author of the book The Black Coats, Colleen Oakes

“Tenacity and perseverance are at the heart of A Thousand Fires, which captivates you from start to finish. Shannon Price is one to keep an eye on. “” —Gwenda Bond, Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds author of the New York Times bestseller list

“A THOUSAND FIRES was both brutal and beautiful, and it broke my heart. One of the most heart-wrenching tales ever written.” For a MUSE OF FIRE, author Heidi Heilig says

“Fast-paced… San Francisco comes to life through the author’s vivid descriptions and minute attention to detail. One to keep an eye on!” —Kirkus

The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren

Carey Douglas has been working for Melissa and Rusty Tripp, home remodeling and design experts, for nearly a decade. Melissa and Rusty are married. Carey, a country girl at heart, began working in their first store at the age of sixteen and has been instrumental in the company’s success. The Tripps are on the verge of stardom thanks to the upcoming premieres of a new show and a book. Sadly, the most beloved American couple has a major flaw: they can’t stand one another.

Engineer James McCann was initially hired as a structural engineer but the job is far from what he expected it to be. Is this the final straw? He and Carey must join the Tripps on a book tour in order to keep the wheels on the bus from falling off.

The problem is that neither one of them is in a position to give up the job. The role of a lifetime has been promised to James in exchange for keeping Carey and James’ relationship on track for a few more weeks. To protect both their employers’ and their own jobs, Carey and James make a promise to one another while traveling with the Tripps up the West Coast. You may have the chance to create something beautiful with your friends if they stop playing along and begin to play for keeps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.