11 Best Books To Read If You Like Harry Potter Update 05/2022

A book series like Harry Potter is so addictive that it is difficult to let go of it. Despite the fact that Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has been out for more than two decades, it is still a favorite among young and old alike.

If you’re itching to read something other than a Harry Potter book, whether it’s due to current social issues or just a desire to broaden your horizons, here are 10 suggestions that will keep your Potter brain and heart happy.

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass are all part of the series.

His Dark Materials tells the story of two young people who travel through a variety of parallel universes as they come of age. This series is more than just a fantasy world full of witches and armored polar bears. Paradise Lost borrows its title from John Milton’s poem and explores a variety of philosophical, scientific, and theological issues. There’s a good reason these books have garnered so much praise.

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Magicians, Magician King, and Land of the Wizards are the three books that make up the series.

Quentin Coldwater is a young man who stumbles upon a magical school in New York City in the adult fantasy series The Magicians. That’s exactly what I was going to say. It’s like a college version of Harry Potter! The books have been adapted for television, and Grossman has also worked on two comic books based on the stories.

The first book in the series can be purchased here in a special TV tie-in edition.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

The Alchemist, The Magician, The Sorcerer, The Necromancer, The Warlock, and the Enchantress are all books in the series.

If you’re a Harry Potter fan, hearing Hermione Granger’s voice while reading Nicholas Flamel’s name has probably already done the trick. Sorcerer’s Stone, the first book in the Harry Potter series, is said to have been created by Nicholas Flamel. Teenage twins Josh and Sophie Newman tell their stories in The Alchemyst to help you learn more about this historical figure. This past summer, Josh was working at a bookstore when he saw a bookseller perform a magic trick. The bookseller is, in fact, the legendary alchemist!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

As part of the annual NaNoWriMo writing competition, The Night Circus has had a profound effect on many people. Fantasy novel about a magical traveling circus that is only open from dusk until dawn. The circus is full of magical attractions, but you’ll soon discover that it serves a darker purpose than all of the profit and entertainment.

All Souls by Deborah Harkness

A Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night, and The Book of Life are all part of the series.

Check out A Discovery of Witches for some historical flavor in your fantasy reading. This is the story of a professor of science history named Diana Bishop, who discovers a manuscript and must come to terms with the fact that she is cursed. This is also a love story. And there are vampires, too. In other words, if you enjoyed the Twilight saga, you’ll enjoy this book even more than you did. In addition to the books, there is a TV series based on them.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

As with Harry Potter, Neverwhere is set in London and follows the life of businessman Richard Mayhew, who leads a fairly normal but dreary existence. Magic, excitement, and fear all crash into his life at once when he aids a bleeding young girl. Discovering magic as a Muggle comes as a surprise. If you don’t mind, sign us up!

Pennyroyal Academy by MA Larson

Warrior Princess, The Shadow Cadets and Pennyroyal Academy are the books in the series

This book series is a must-read for fans of Grimm’s fairy tales. Magic, adventure, and humor are all present in Pennyroyal Academy, which follows the path of a girl who arrives at a kingdom with no memory of how she got there. It is then that she joins Pennyroyal Academy – an institution where knights and princess are trained in the art of combating evil forces like witchcraft. Similar to Harry Potter, but in a Grimm’s fairy tale setting, with more action and adventure to look forward to than the latter.

The Uncommoners by Jennifer Bell

the crooked sixpence, the smoky hourglass, and the ice-covered telescope

You’ll be whisked away to a magical underworld in The Uncommoners, where you’ll be reminded of all the secret magical nooks and crannies in the Potterverse. If you’re a fan of Tim Burton’s work, you should definitely check out this series!

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

There are two main series titles: “Children of Blood & Bone.”

There are three books in this planned trilogy: “Children of Blood and Bone,” “Children of Blood and Bone,” and “Children of Blood and Bone.” Despite Adeyemi’s claim that the Harry Potter series was an inspiration for the book, the book’s focus on West African mythology and its exploration of slavery, oppression, and racism set it apart from the rest. New York Times bestseller list for Young Adult books ranked it at number one!

Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden

The Borrowed Dark Knights, The Forever Court, and The Endless King are all part of the same series.

The protagonist of this book series, like Harry Potter’s, is an orphan who appears to be leading a normal life… until a man appears at Crosscaper Orphanage promising to introduce him to his long-missing aunt. Though he expects to discover his true identity as an arcane wizard, instead discovers he has ties to an ancient order of knights!

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Discovering an ancient magical manuscript in Oxford Library forces Diana Bishop, a young historian, to confront the witch heritage she has long denied. A supernatural war threatens to consume them both in Deborah Harkness’ bestselling All Souls trilogy, which begins with the riveting first book that introduces readers to brilliant vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.